We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mussel Inn

Mussel Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Onekaka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, Pub, Soups, New Zealand, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Brewery/bar/cafe/music venue Closed late July til early September
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Great selection of beers and ciders, Food is excellent and a wide choice, including its famous mussles. service is friendly and efficient. Clean and tidy, well worth a visit, either for lunch or spend the evening.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank inikamozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    152
    53
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Is this Icon relying on it's reputation?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We visited for dinner on a weekday at the very beginning of the 'summer' season having been told by literally EVERYONE "you MUST visit Mussel Inn on your holiday". The service was fine and we were impressed that the drinks were all made on site - even the kids had 3 to choose from! The atmosphere is unique, lot's of bench style seating so not overly relaxing but the kids loved the board game selection so after choosing from the simple/uncluttered/short menu we waited for our meal with great anticipation. What arrived, while fine and not needing complaint was pretty much just that, fine. The salad was lovely but it appeared in the exact same format in each meal that had salad. The nachos was assembled from prebought components. The fish meal felt short on fish for the price. In essence it was good food same as you get at any good cafe nationwide. I guess given its reputation I was expecting something more memorable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hoae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musselinn, Manager at Mussel Inn, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
We are a brewery and cafe offering simple fresh food.
We make up our own nacho beans and salsa from scratch.
Our salads are made fresh to order on each plate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mmmmm Beer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Always a good thing to try a local brew pub and you can't go wrong with these guys. A must a the mussels. Served steamed with lemon and garlic bread they are just awesome and simple plus the price is not bad.
My recommendation is the Manuka beer. Try a handle of that but drink it slow to enjoy the flavour!
Overall - awesome!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Verkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
123 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“FAB place for beer and vege food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

This has to be one of the most 'eclectic' places I have been too in my home country.

Fab home brew beer and food was great! One visit I had the ''vegan pie', which was good.

The beer is really awesome!! If you are a real ale aficionado, then you will not want to pass this place. Also remember the compostable toilets and...'no chips or wedges' on the menu...great stuff!

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED if you are in the Golden Bay area and/or near Takaka.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CatGLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
252 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Good but resting on its laurels”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

The Mussel Inn is a Golden Bay institution. It has a great, rustic atmosphere and is insanely busy during the season so time your visit carefully. The food is usually excellent but sometimes, it is just too busy for staff to make every dish the masterpiece it can be. Staff can be a tad laid back, which may be OK for laid back locals but visitors expect a bit more. In spite of all that, the Mussel Inn is well worth a visit for a meal.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank whosemother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mussel Inn also viewed

 
Takaka, Golden Bay
 
Collingwood, Golden Bay
 

Been to Mussel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing