We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely meal, great beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mussel Inn

Mussel Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Onekaka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, Pub, Soups, New Zealand, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Brewery/bar/cafe/music venue Closed late July til early September
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely meal, great beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Not much in the way of good places to eat in Colingwood in the evening as the excellent Courthouse Cafe is closed but the Mussel Inn is just down the road and will reward you with a well prepared plate of tasty local produce (seafood a speciality) and locally brewed beer.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank oldgeeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    152
    53
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga NZ & Sitka AK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Golden Bay Icon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Outstanding beers (until recently brewed on premises, but now available in a few supermarkets), fabulous mussels (other mains available & very good), but the mussels are THE BEST you'll find anywhere; great 'snacks'. Live music some nights. You'll always find locals there enjoying what is close to a tradition. A must visit spot in Golden Bay, if only to soak up the atmosphere over a cuppa. Lots of outdoor seating w/ some communal tables for larger groups or making new friends.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Local-knowledge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llangollen, North Wales
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Quirky”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

A very popular place with lots of character and atmosphere. The food and service was very good. would definitely recommend to others

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank SueD58_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A huge disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

After hearing rave reviews about this place my other half and I were looking forward to checking it out for ourselves. Oh how I wished we hadn't bothered. I opted for a plate of inedible slop aka an overcooked rib eye steak with reheated packet mushroom sauce served on a plate so small the food was falling off it, whilst my boyf had the salmon - this time half decent but again served on a small plate. If you must visit this so called eatery then please opt for the bar menu: main meals at $30 a pop are very poor value for money and left a bad taste in the mouth. In fact it's possibly one of the worst meals I have ever eaten in my life (almost 34 years)! Service was fine but no comments as to why both plates were practically untouched.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LilChicken1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musselinn, Manager at Mussel Inn, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your experience of The Mussel Inn.
I'm sorry that your steak was overcooked and that you did not tell us at he time, so we could have offered you a replacement meal or a refund.
Our mushroom sauce is made on site from fresh mushrooms and no packet ingredients.
All of our meals are less than $30.
We have used the same size plates for the 20 years that we have been serving meals.
Over large plates are acknowledged as one of the contributing factors to obesity.
Thanks for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
175 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“What a great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Off the beaten track in a way, but well worth the effort, especially if you appreciate craft beer.
The beers, brewed on-site are excellent, with a particular highlight being their Captain Cooker, stuffed with Manuka Leaves for added flavour.
Surprisingly enough, because these are really hard to come by outside of Belgium, they even had a sour Lambic Geuze style beer.
A homely menu, log fires and a really friendly welcome adds to the quality beers and makes The Mussel Inn a 'must Visit'.
Recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PleasantSurpriseDJE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mussel Inn also viewed

 
Takaka, Golden Bay
 
Collingwood, Golden Bay
 

Been to Mussel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing