We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second visit not as good”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Forester's Cafe

Forester's Cafe
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Rai Valley
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
420 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 354 helpful votes
“Second visit not as good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

After having such a wonderful first stop to this cafe we planned our trip for another visit. The cafe is in such a stunning location and off the main road. However, we arrived and werent made to feel very welcome, except by the dogs! I think we may have interrupted the owners lunch. It was a stunning sunny day and the options on offer for lunch were limited to heavy meals such as roast lamb, steak etc. A nice light lunch menu would have been nice. Or maybe they are still offering a winter menu and havent changed to spring or summer yet. We intended having lunch, but just had coffee and cake in the end.
Service wasnt great and we left feeling we had intruded on their afternoon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nzp0ppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    8
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
420 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 354 helpful votes
“Beautiful food in a beautiful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

The homemade mushroom soup was just lovely. We sat outside enjoying the lovely grounds on a lovely sunny day. Very nice looking sweet selection as well. Enjoyed hearing the native birds in the forest. Recommended stop.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nzp0ppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
152 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A wonderful relaxing spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

I love to stop off at Forester's. The owner is very welcoming and accommodating. The food is fresh, wholesome and tasty.
It is a great meeting place, half way between Blenheim and Nelson.
Best thing is no cell phone cover so socialising is very intimate and not interrupted by intrusive phone use.
The owner's parents also live and work there and are such lovely people. I have checked out the motel units several times - they are beautiful in a gorgeous setting.
I am working on managing a stay long enough to not only enjoy their food but to stop over a night or two ;-)

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Raewyn7150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fresh, tasty, generous and helpful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

The food was a delightful surprise, and our host was both gracious and helpful. If you on this highway and ready for a meal, do stop at Foresters' Cafe.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CameraBluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Suprise on the road”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

We were meeting friends from Nelson so an hours drive from Blenheim seemed like a good place to have lunch and chat. The bonus was we could take our dogs so we stayed outside and ate under the trees. The meals were lovely and the price was reasonable so we will probably be back.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forester's Cafe also viewed

Rai Valley, Marlborough Region
Rai Valley, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Forester's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing