We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot, could be so much better”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Golden Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wharariki Beach Holiday Park
Reviewed March 24, 2013

A fantastic part of the country. Wharariki beach is second to none so far as a rugged spectacle. The camp unfortunately has a lot to be desired. Very cramped sites is such an open space - why? I can understand the eco site 'tag' (long drops and water conservation etc) however it seems to me this was just and excuse for not wanting to dispose of customers rubbish, as you are requested to take all rubbish with you when you vacate. We had loud music playing from the owners house until 3-4am - kept us and the kids awake. Would have stayed another night if it wasn’t for the music. The peacocks roaming about were very nice. Quite expensive as mentioned by others - $5 to use the washing machine and $2 a shower, hmmm.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 60 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

15 minute walk to maybe the best beach in NZ and the night sky couldn't be beat! During seal pup season get to beach at low tide to watch pups play in tidal pools! Amazing!

We reserved a cabin for 3 adults. What we got was one double bed and a pull out couch that was so uncomfortable she chose to sleep on the bare floor instead. Cabins barely ok but make sure you know what your getting into. Kitchen not clean and poorly stocked, several burner rings didn't work and freezer barely at room temperature. BBQ area not equipped for cooking. Ablution block beyond stinky and showers stingy. Common room lack lustre and dirty. Staff seemed unorganized, and uninformed and English was hit and miss.
Overall the location is awesome enough to make up for dissapointing accomodations.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

the setting is fantastic, some of the greatest nature right around you. but thats about it with the good - the amenities are dirty and old, everything is limited (knobs on taps and such stuff) and the pricing is no less than greedy - we paid 42$ for a powered site for 2, plus its 2$ for a warm shower and laundry&dryer cost $5 each, with horribly old and uneffective machines. someone just wants to make money here!
and we didnt like the guy running the place, he was quite unfriendly and threatened some other people while we were standing next to him.
i would sleep somewhere else and drive here to the parking lot next door for the nature experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Lukas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Advertised as an Eco camp it was more hippy than Eco! The setting is lovely, but for me that was about it. The host was very helpful in sorting us out a site, but his demeanour was so gloomy I couldn't wait to get away from him. The "amenities" amounted to very smelly long drop toilets, and we have used them on DOC sites where they are considerably more fragrant! Pay showers, $2 and a very messy kitchen. Oh and we had to take our rubbish out with us. So what did we pay $36 for? Think we should've opted for the other site in puponga

Stayed: January 2013
Thank Moira A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed here for 2 night in winter 2012 and hate to spill out the secret but it's the most beautiful place in NZ I've been in my 3 month travel and also after almost circling the s.island almost twice. You would probably think hard if it's worth the distance to and fro tp deviate from the main highway into the northwest corner of the south island. Well, I can assure you, this is certainly a destination worth two times the abel tasman national park. In winter, there is hardly anyone in sight and you get the most beautiful beach - huge expanse of the softest sand, geological wonders made up of caves, arches and other rocks, the most romantic sunsets and the cutest seals. The holiday park itself is a cosy, natural looking premise which blends in with the surroundings. There's good access from the park to beach and walks. However, there's no dumpstation so dump first if on campervan. Owner is expanding with new cabin units. Should be completed by now. Amenities clean and kitchen/lounge is very nice n warm with rugs and all that. Owner is a cowboy nice style guy with a sense of humour and candid character. he will show u the best ways to get to where u want that perfect view n experience. The walks along pleasant undulating mountains, crossing beaituful lakes and rivers to the beaches of wharariki and green hill beach is all part of the reason this place is to me a gem i wish would stay like this forever so please do visit and keep it as it is for the future generation. i hereby award this holiday park with having the best scenic location in the south island.

Room Tip: In winter, should be no problem finding a site/room but in summer, book in advance. Check weather fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Docjoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LESVIPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Bernd K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Golden Bay hotels
38.0 mi away
Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
38.1 mi away
Mohua Motels
Mohua Motels
#1 of 4 in Takaka
162 reviews
52.5 mi away
Zatori Retreat
Zatori Retreat
#1 of 6 in Collingwood
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.7 mi away
The Rocks Chalets
The Rocks Chalets
#3 of 4 in Takaka
140 reviews
38.0 mi away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
266 reviews
38.1 mi away
Pohara Beachfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wharariki Beach Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wharariki Beach Holiday Park

Address: Wharariki Beach, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Golden Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Golden Bay
Number of rooms: 42

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing