We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inspiring Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Golden Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golden Bay Hideaway
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We cycled out to stay at Little Greenie for two nights. After slogging up Takaka hill and beyond for hours and hours we were exhausted when we arrived--only to find out that we had confused the dates and were not scheduled to stay until the following day. Whoops!

This could have been a real disaster for us weary folk, but the owner Lawrence was all "no worries mates" and set us up in his camper van with use of a great outdoor kitchen and shower. We were immensely grateful and super impressed with Lawrence's accommodating "can-do" attitude.

Then there is the space. Just go. You won't believe the luxuriousness of this off-grid wonder. Huge outdoor hot water tub, unbelievable view, super nice space, well-appointed kitchen, great bed, composting toilet with ZERO smell, great shower. Its all good. Every bit of it.

Don't miss it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OregonKittycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 31 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

From November 2010 until today we stayed 5 times in the little Greenie at different seasons of the year. It was each time a unique, wonderful experience and we enjoyed the peaceful atmosphere of wainui bay. Being used to insulated houses in our homecountry Germany it was impressive to see that Lawrence McIntyre was inspired by what he saw in Europe and built this lovely bach. We recommended the Greenie to friends and family and all were blown away !!
Lawrence and his team are not only great hosts but almost friends.
Silke&Gerald from Wellington

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerald z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed for just a couple of days there and were very sorry to leave so early. Beside the fantastic Idea of running a House so ecologic it was the extraordinary place, the view, the heavenly silencce of the place. For us it was Paradis. We love hiking so it was just perfekt because Abel Tasman Trail starts just one km away from the house.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dirk N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Ive stayed at Little Greenie three times now, once on my own, and twice with my girlfriend and her two kids - they loved it so much we went back for more ! They were crashed on a mattress on the floor, and with the underfloor heating and thermal mass heat storage they were toasty!
Ive got definite plans to build a house using Lawrence's design input and skills, who would want to live in a draughty, poorly insulated and expensive to heat house once you've expereinced Little Greenie ! Highly recommend a visit - you'll love it !

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeMackiggan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We visited and stayed in Little Greenie specifically to investigate the key aspects of the build in terms of sustainability and we were delighted with what we saw and experienced-definitely a model for building now and into the future in terms of energy saving and building super warm and comfortable housing into the future.The panoramic view of the bay from the house is stunning-definitely worth a visit

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariu W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I was impressed by the isolation that unfolded on the drive to the Little Greeny. Winding roads through green meadows that wrapped around majestic clifftop . It ended in a very private little property nestled among pines and forest on the North Western Tip of the South Island of NZ. The house itself was immaculately clean. The setup is simple and was well explained by the manager. We were provided with the accoutrements you might need for a few days and left to ourselves. The Privacy was complete, the view exceptional and changeable. Watching the tide Ebb and flow and the storms roll in off the Tasman sea was special. The house was superb, warm, cosy, well equipped... a true Green house ( not that you'd know!) Very romantic, great bed, comfy lounge chairs too.... Best stay anywhere in quite a while.

Room Tip: The little Greenie is the one for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jk0125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

One of the best weekend getaways I have ever had! Tranquil, stunning scenery, beautiful walks, romantic ...need I say more? We will definately be coming back and have already recommended to several of our friends.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BecRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Golden Bay hotels
4 mi away
Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
17.6 mi away
Zatori Retreat
Zatori Retreat
#1 of 6 in Collingwood
125 reviews
8.5 mi away
Mohua Motels
Mohua Motels
#1 of 4 in Takaka
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Pohara Beachfront Motel
14.4 mi away
Adrift in Golden Bay
Adrift in Golden Bay
#2 of 4 in Takaka
184 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Bay Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Bay Hideaway

Address: 220 McShane Road | Wainui Bay, 7183, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Golden Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Golden Bay
Price Range: $120 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the holiday maker interested in what Golden Bay Hideaway has to offer, Little Greenie may appear to be just another modern, professionally finished house with stunning views in a beautiful location. Of course everyone will notice some differences sooner or later, but those interested in environmental technology and smart building will find the differences go right down to the foundations.Little Greenie is designed with four major principles in mind: Energy efficiency, low maintenance/longevity, ease of construction and value for money. It may be modern, but it’s not about frills or fashion; and while it is unashamedly utilitarian, it’s definitely not drab or boring.Brand new, passive solar, off-grid, low energy eco home with an unbeatable view and total privacy. 9star HERS rating out of 10 (Home Energy Rating System). No other home in New Zealand has been awarded a nine before!Little Greenie is the show home of Eco-action Design and Build. If you want to enjoy the still winter days in Golden Bay, this house catches all the afternoon sun, stores it, and is HOT!!** Perfect couples retreat ** Mountain/estuary and sea views ** Modern conveniences ** Bath under the stars ** Craftsman's attention to detail ** Extremely energy efficient ** Warm all year round ** Comfortably sleeps twoThere's no TV but you'll be entertained all the same:-Beautiful Sunsets - Over the water in winter and the mountains in summer.Walk to Wainui Falls - Through lush original forest and over a swing bridge.Go Swimming- The clear waters around Wainui Bay are idealFacilities:- * Sleeps up to two people * Electricity * Hot and cold running water * Radio and CD player * Fridge and cooker/oven * King-size bed or two single beds * Linen and bedding provided * Covered parking * Underfloor heating ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing