We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Top Evening Out!”

playhouse cafe and theatre restaurant
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Aotearoa New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Top Evening Out!”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Thanks to the team at Playhouse for putting on a lovely meal and fantastic evenings entertainment. The host Nic was very welcoming and the staff efficient and helpful. We had a great view of the stage and The Johnny's were super :-)
The food was lovely and the Tohu wine superb.
Just a great night out. Thanks Playhouse for a super night out.! We will be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank exnavy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    8
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great venue, fabulous atmosphere.”
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Went predominantly to see Tommy and the Fallen Horses and had one of the best eating experiences. Had a table reserved for dinner outside and this automatically gave us a reserved table inside for later in the evening when the band was on. This made us feel very special, what a great idea.

The waitress was perfectly attentive and offered the best service I have ever had. The standard of the food was excellent surpassed only by it's good value.

The atmosphere was superb, needless to say that the music was excellent.

A selection of local beers an ciders rather than the run of the mill standard selections could offer some improvement to the experience.

Can't wait to go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caveman1801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Surprising Find”
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Food- Out of this world!!! Finally someone in NZ knows how to make perfect ribs with an awesome sauce. Five stars for the chef. Service- Perfect!! Great suggestions, not pushy and friendly. A must go if in the Nelson Area. We didn't stay for the band that night but something different and new can be found most nights there.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location, even better food!”
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We had dinner at the Playhouse based on a recommendation we had from Cat's Pajamas B&B (another great place to visit). We had a fantastic time - the food is great - do try the apple, beetroot and blue cheese salad. Everything is freshly prepared and you will not be disappointed - the price are also very reasonable. One of our most memorable restaurants in NZ.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AETL2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“A great find and highly recommended”
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We stopped at the Playhouse Cafe on a road trip from Golden Bay to Picton. It was just chance that we happened to be passing the locality at around lunchtime, and saw the sign. The Cafe itself is down a side street and not visible from the main road.
We were fortunate that it was a nice day as the cafe has a lot of outside seating, making for a very pleasant dining location. There are even 2 tables by the pond, slightly separate from the others.
The food was served by friendly and attentive staff, promptly and with a minimum of fuss. I had the corn fritters which I can highly recommend!

This establishment is well worth the detour off the main road and I would certainly eat there again!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mekydro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed playhouse cafe and theatre restaurant also viewed

Richmond, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Mapua, Nelson-Tasman Region
Motueka, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Murchison, Nelson-Tasman Region
Mapua, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to playhouse cafe and theatre restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing