We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool old-fashioned theme park”

Buller Gorge Swingbridge Ltd
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Walk NZ’s longest swingbridge before taking part in a range of activities from high speed flying-fox rides and jet boating to more leisurely strolls along the Faultline loop walk to view some of the site’s fascinating geological and historical features. The loop walk, for instance, encompasses the famous White’s Creek Faultine, - epicentre of the 1929 Murchison earthquake, where the ground rose 4.5m (15ft), historical goldworkings and the chance to look for gold on the river banks.The flying fox is suitable for all ages whilst the jetboating is one of the best runs in NZ.
California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Cool old-fashioned theme park”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Buller Gorge is the kind of place that used to exist in California when I was a child 50 years ago. It's a small theme park with a distinctly non-corporate feel. For $5 you can walk across the country's longest suspension bridge. The bridge was fun, the property on the other side had some nice walks and some odd old equipment, a labeled fault scarp, and the option to zipline back (we walked.) I found it totally charming and well worth the $5.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank louxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    73
    39
    19
    19
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“We just walked the bridge”
Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

We just walked the bridge $5 each. Great photos, some rafters came along and fell in. Wouldn't pay for zip line much too expensive at $30. Also loop is a bit "worn" and boards need tlc but there are a couple of other walks there which may or may not be any good. All in all bit of quick fun and some good photos.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank stevesmith10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
345 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Walk the bridge - it's worth the $5!”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We too stopped here, breaking up a long drive, tempted by the guide book tag of the 'longest swing bridge in New Zealand'.

As during much of our trip, it was pouring down with rain and blooming cold. The river below was a raging white-water torrent. My idea of 'adventure' is a walk to a warm pub on a snowy day and as I sized up the swaying bridge, the horizontal rain and the raging torrent, the warm pub seemed higher on my bucket list.

It was however an exhilarating experience - a don't look down moment - there and back and we did the short loop walk. Luckily, because of the rain, the sandflies weren't biting nor was there any competition from two way traffic on the bridge.

I'm glad we did it, I'm glad we didn't purchase the zip wire return or anything else. For us they wouldn't have been value for money. Five NZD is relative beer money - I think you would pay double or quadruple that in the UK to do the same thing and I think we need to remember that these 'attractions' need to make money if they are to remain available to the public. So no complaints from me.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank CurtisG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fun”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Fun walk over the bridge. Good info boards on the short loop walk re the earthquake in that location in 1929. Worth the stop.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank YumYum-ontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Nice Bridge”
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here thinking it was free. It is not. The price to just cross the bridge and walk a track on the other side was NZ$5. There were other things you could do that were basically zip lining or panning for gold at additional cost. We decided to just cross the bridge and walk the track. The bridge was long and impressive. The walk took about 15 minutes along a raised walkway in places. There was descriptive information along the way. I thought for the price it was not a bad deal.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank rrobbinsCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buller Gorge Swingbridge Ltd also viewed

Murchison, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Murchison, Nelson-Tasman Region
Murchison, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Buller Gorge Swingbridge Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing