We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacularily unspectacular”

Buller Gorge Swingbridge Ltd
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Walk NZ’s longest swingbridge before taking part in a range of activities from high speed flying-fox rides and jet boating to more leisurely strolls along the Faultline loop walk to view some of the site’s fascinating geological and historical features. The loop walk, for instance, encompasses the famous White’s Creek Faultine, - epicentre of the 1929 Murchison earthquake, where the ground rose 4.5m (15ft), historical goldworkings and the chance to look for gold on the river banks.The flying fox is suitable for all ages whilst the jetboating is one of the best runs in NZ.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
181 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Spectacularily unspectacular”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I needed to breakup the drive and it was an okay place to stop but I guess they were aware that they weren't offering too much - the high fences ensure that you can't see the bridge without paying the admission. That said, I did get a couple of good pictures so, for that alone it was worth the stop I guess.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    73
    39
    19
    19
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“You have to pay to see the bridge”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

They don't even let you take a picture of the bridge without paying $5 per person. Extra high fence around the whole area. Beware of the tourist trap. There are plenty of amazing swingbridges in nz, all for free.

Helpful?
2 Thank KiwiSchnitzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Look before you leap!”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We paid NZ$70 to cross the swingbridge ($5 each) and zip-wire $30 each) back again. The swingbridge is pleasant and the gorge is pretty (but there are other, free, swingbridges in NZ).

We chose to tandem on the zipwire as we were told this would make it faster. Health and safety aspects appeared very good, but white-knuckle freaks beware, you wouldn't even thrill your granny on this one: it's about 15 pleasant but very tame seconds-worth. We thought it was a rip-off. Try to have a look at it before parting with your cash so you can judge it for yourself.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
241 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Jet Boat Thriller”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We also stopped to break up the trip and happened to notice the jet boat ride. That was the best part. Far more affordable and way better than Shotover Jet. Mark was a terrific pilot! Went for the best part of an hour, can't recommend it more highly.
The bridge was great, the walk needs a bit more to make it interesting and the flying fox back was a bit of fun.
Break up the drive and put money aside for the boat ride.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank caseyj1937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Doesn't excite me too Much”
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Nice swingbridge. Nicer swingbridges for free on Mt cook walks and blue lake walks and many many more in south island. There's a flying fox thinghy here but it didn't seem too thrilling for the price. The walks across the bridge was boring to me and wet when I was there so maybe the reason why I m not moved. There are some historical miner settlement stuff there which might be interesting. The Buller gorge is a pretty nice river and a powerful one too. Just thought the staff should guide visitors crossing the bridge but instead one of the lady staff stood on the bridge and blocked a few of us without explaining why so we just stood there waiting. We found out after 5 to 10 mins that she was helping take a pic for someone on flying fox. Would suggest she was a bit verbal and told us dimwits why she needed to block our only passage to n fro instead of having us wait for her royal s to move.

Helpful?
Thank Docjoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buller Gorge Swingbridge Ltd also viewed

Murchison, Nelson-Tasman Region
Murchison, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Murchison, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Buller Gorge Swingbridge Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing