We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“O dear, o dear”

Plough & Harrow Llansamlet
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Llansamlet
Price range: $5 - $13
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Plough and Harrow in Llansamlet - under new management in August 2016. This pub is well known within the local area. The Plough and Harrow has a large bar and seating area which can accommodate approximately 80 people. There is an upstairs dining area which comfortably seats 40 diners and this area can also be used for private functions. There is also a decked outdoor area at the front of the pub and Beer Garden to the rear.
Reviewed February 2, 2019 via mobile

Popped in when passing today, it was baltic (early February)
Unfortunately wasn't any warmer inside (put the heating on)
I would say the young man that served us (sorry didn't get his name, dread locks and ear stretchers) was very plesent.
Friends and I used to drink/eat at this pub when it was privately owned (now it's Marston's)
I remember it's as a great local pub, good food nice atmosphere. Now it's lost it's was, fallen into the chain pub abyss. Our food was edible (only just) a limp side salad, would have loved a nice buttery mash potato, sadly had very dry lumpy potato. The chicken pie, was very firm (stale?) presentation wasn't top of the chefs agenda either, very sad how this once great pub has come to this.

Date of visit: February 2019
1  Thank Topbanana0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 163 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2018 via mobile

poor food poor service, staff not interested full of drunks falling into tables with staff just letting it carry on . Very poor tried this pub a few times as the Miller's seems to be going down hill but won't be going back .

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank johnbulpin_swansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2018

We ordered 7 meals and on arrival not one was as described in the menu with basics such as Bacon, eggs, sausage, salad garnish, tartare sauce & mango chutney not being available.
In one case Battered Fish & Chips arrived as Breaded Plaice & Chips.
I suggest the restaurant is given a very wide berth.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Keithandannf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2018 via mobile

Visited with friends a few days ago and we were welcomed by lovely staff who couldn’t do more for us. We all had two courses and 2 rounds of drinks and it was such good value for money! We will be returning to one of the band nights soon.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank RosieA340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2018 via mobile

Ahhh so where to start i did read trip advisor first but have always been taught give people the benefit of the doubt... Wish i didn't...
Food was shockingly awful tasteless and was funny tasting.. The 2 girls working today were more than helpful but out of 23 of us not 1 of us ate anything... What a disappointment

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank Curious742975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OsianL3, Owner at Plough & Harrow Llansamlet, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2018

Hi Curious742975

I am so sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your visit with us yesterday. As you can see we strive to offer the highest standard of food at all times and at this time you felt as if we didn't deliver them. We did have families downstairs who thoroughly enjoyed their meals at the same time as you, however I thank you for your honest feedback. Should you wish to give us another chance, I'm sure you will be pleased with what you find.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plough & Harrow Llansamlet also viewed

Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 
Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 
Morriston, Swansea
Swansea, Swansea County
 

Been to Plough & Harrow Llansamlet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing