We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (575)
Filter reviews
575 results
Traveler rating
346
122
60
31
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
346
122
60
31
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews le moulin main building michelin star the river relais and chateaux reception staff hotel restaurant romantic hotel junior suite wonderful setting this wonderful hotel spent one night stunning location dining experience nearby town main course amuse bouche
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 575 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2016

We came here 25 years ago for our honeymoon and when we arrived, it was as wonderful as it was then. It's been updated but the charm, the service, the amenities and property was so calming and serene. This place--the hotel, the small town, the grounds and the restaurant--not to mention the room--were all as we remembered, which is why we came back. The staff was so helpful and helped us relive a wonderful time in our lives, 25 years ago. We won't wait 25 years to return next time. This is a very special place that is a wonderful landing place for any occasion.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mickey91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moulin A, Responsable commercial at Le Moulin de l'Abbaye, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2016

Good Morning,

Thank you for your answer, and we are very happy to learn that your stay very well took place.

We shall be happy to welcome you again in our beautiful establishment.

best regards

Service commercial

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2016

We have stayed at this hotel three times, 30 years ago, 10 years ago and just two weeks ago. It continues to be stellar, which is quite a feat! Staff is friendly and multi-lingual, rooms are large by European standards, turn-down service was lovely (we stayed in many 4-5 star hotels in France in the past 3 weeks and this was the only one offering this service.) Dinner was a highlight of our trip, with a dining experience on the terrace that surpassed our previous meals at this hotel. Photo-worthy food that was superlative, with smooth, professional service. Tip: if your room is across the street, don't bring a big bag -- stairs are very steep and narrow, making hauling a bag upstairs a major challenge. Parking in the cave is also very tight, but availability is appreciated given the shortage of other parking in this very picturesque town -- and the cave keeps your vehicle cool! Well worth the price.

Room tip: Rooms in the main house are larger and some have a river view.
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moulin A, Responsable commercial at Le Moulin de l'Abbaye, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2016

Good Morning,

Thank you for your answer, and we are very happy to learn that your stay very well took place, and you have a good experience in our Gourmet restaurant on the terrace closed to the river.

We shall be happy to welcome you again in our beautiful establishment.

best regards

Service commercial

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2016

Brantome is a beatutiful, elegant Renaissance town in the Green Périgord and the Moulin de l'Abbaye (the abbaye's water mill) does it justice. It's simply gorgeous. We were put in a wonderful room, in the abbott's house across the street with excellent facilities, including a bar fridge, bath tub and AC.
The settung for the redtaurant along theriver is beautiful and the food excellent. Top marks for us.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank joelled616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2016 via mobile

do NOT miss it ! It is beautiful, food is fantastic , region is incredibly gorgeous ! Just GO !!!'
They want 200 characters but I think I said it all in just a few words ...
Enjoy Your stay, and let us know of your thoughts about that place !

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank NOUNOU069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2016

Be warned, this hotel has three "houses", and you may not end up in the one in the picture. The other two, which we visited, were also nice, but as they are very old building, had a damp smell and were not that pleasant.

We stayed one night in the house behind (damp and mould) and one night in the main house (the room was great, but SO small). Of course, being France, the aircon did not work that well, and only one of the rooms had a shower (hate the shower in the bath deal).

The restaurant was OK, but it was 100% clear that the staff did not want to be there, either for breakfast or dinner.

Stay in the main house, insist, and all will be OK.

Date of stay: June 2016
2  Thank Puligny888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews