We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely homely place. Will be returning”
Review of Catash Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Catash Inn
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Even though the new people are finding thier feet, they are doing realy well. The food was simple but very tasty. Lovely soft beds and bedding. Yes, it's a bit dated,but it is clean and i am sure they will decorate.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sparkyness1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 44 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We visited the catash on a whim. What a find. The carvery was excellent. The staff were very friendly. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place. Don't understand the negatives here .But try it and decide for yourself.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Unfortunately I live in this village and have seen this pub go from bad to worse over the years. The management is terrible, largely due to the fact that Marston's get people who couldn't give a damn, and Marston's themselves really couldn't care less about this pub anymore. It's been left with dated and dirty decor, rubbish food (if any is being served, it is sporadic at best), bad choice of alcohol, dirty pipes, poor management and an admittance of any people who only want to come and cause trouble. All in all it's a horrible place and doesn't do justice to the lovely village it's situated in. We deserve better!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LilsSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Called here in November, 2013 for lunch with a friend. Bar maid very friendly and pleasant, but the top of the bar was sticky with marks from glasses as was the floor. When we sat down, we noticed how dusty all the furniture was and slug trails on the carpet (not uncommon in rural areas!!), but not pleasant to be around in a pub.

Food was uninspired but edible and reasonably priced.

When we paid there were 4 members of staff behind the bar doing nothing. No other customers in there and I'm not surprised. If the staff started cleaning the whole place it would be a plus.

In short, will never go again because of the dirty surrounding. I dread to think what the kitchen is like. Didn't visit the loos - thank goodness. Don't go.

Room Tip: We didn't stay at the hotel as we live locally.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pauline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

was visiting familly in the south cadbury and there local was not able to accomadate us so we managed to get a room at the catash inn after looking at the reviews we were some what not hopeful we would enjoy our stay,we were wrong after we arrived we were shown to our room and which were very clean and tidy,we went about about our plans and returned in the evening to a lovely bbq chicken meal,followed by bailys and strawberry cheesecake.
i have never seen or met such a young couple with 100% dedication to the the bub after learning that jason and melissa had only taken on the pub two weeks prior to our arrivel i was shocked,watching the couple interact with the locals and dancing behind the bar was great,i wish you both all the best in life,as your beutiful child we were sad to say good bye such a cheeky little chap

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melanie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Its a shame to see some of the negative reviews on here, all of which seem justified under the circumstances but perhaps we were just plain lucky or maybe the pub has listened to those reviews and bucked their ideas up but we can only comment on our experience at 7.30pm on Friday 21st June.

We were travelling back from Devon on the A303 and followed the Brown sign (mentioned in one of the other reviews) to the village of North Cadbury. We have a small well behaved Sheltie who we didn't want to leave in the car and was very pleasantly surprised to be told we could take him in which was a breath of fresh air these days with so many so called "hard up, struggling to survive pubs" turning away vital customers with "No Dogs" signs - after all around 1 in 10 people own dogs so why turn that valued 10% away?

We were met with a friendly lady behind the Bar (we presumed to be the Landlady) and were befriended by one the locals sitting at the Bar - to sum up we felt welcomed

Had we been short on time and eager to grab a quick bite before rushing back to our journey we might have been a bit disapointed with the wait for food as it was around 30 - 40 minutes BUT we intentionally had time to wait as we wanted to get to the M25 much later in the evening to avoid the usual Friday night traffic jams and when it arrived it was clear why we had had to wait as it was clearly "home cooked" and had been prepared fresh and was some of THE BEST pub food we've had in a long time - clearly, if you want Fast Food go to a McDonalds or a Little Chef etc and eat crap, if you want superb food then you have to wait whilst it is cooked properly as this was - I recommend the Hunters Chicken, it came in a delicious sauce with slices of Broad Bean on a bed of mash and was delicious - well worth the £10. My wife had BBQ Chicken and as nice as it was couldn't eat all of it as there was quite a lot - not good as I ended up finishing it to add to my waist line! All in all a great meal

Whilst not doubting the other reviewers on here who clearly have had a bad experience we can only say that when we visited we had a good experience with no negative comments at all and we would definitely use this pub again - I hope the pub takes note of these reviews, good and bad, and acts to ensure the experience they gave us is always repeated as due to the fact that I love pubs I hate to see them going out of business - they are a great asset to the UK and should be treasured and not lost

We wish the staff etc at the Catsah Inn the best for future business

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Floydhead1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We were on a long journey and needed somewhere to stop off half way. We saw the signs from the main road. The car park was empty, the pub was empty on a Saturday lunchtime. The chap behind the counter was nice enough, bit scruffy. The loos are disgusting, the eating area has seen better days. I had ham, it was green on the outside, and tasted rancid. Really disgusting.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Catash Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catash Inn

Address: Cary Road, North Cadbury, North Cadbury BA22 7DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > North Cadbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in North Cadbury
Price Range: $80 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Catash Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Catash Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing