We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Friendly atmosphere and very helpful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montacute
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Slipper Cottage B & B Montacute
Ranked #2 of 5 Montacute B&B and Inns
Bridgend, South Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm Friendly atmosphere and very helpful”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I have used this great all round B&B on a regular basis for business trips. Sue & Pat offer a warm welcome and always do their best to accomodate me * Very clean, comfortable bespoke rooms offering Very reasonable rates. Slipper Cottage in the village of Montacute is only 4 miles from Yeovil and with a couple of pubs less that 5 mins walk away. For those of you that like exercise, Stanchester leasure centre is on about 10 mins walk way and is open from 9 a.m. to 10 p.m. Point to note mobile phone reception fluctuates. A Ridsdale, South Wales

Room Tip: Book early if you need accomodation as there are only 2 rooms vailable,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFlyingScot4472, Owner at Slipper Cottage B & B Montacute, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive response.
Very glad that we seem to be doing things 'right' and you are enjoying your stays with us.

Paterson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
32
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Geat all round B&B.
Sue & Pat have thought of everything:
* Terrific welcome.
* Very clean, comfortable rooms.
* Excellent breakfast.
* Reasonable rates.
Pretty village with a couple of pubs doing good food.
Several nearby NT properties.
Tony & Stella Hunt, Australia.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFlyingScot4472, Owner at Slipper Cottage B & B Montacute, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you Tony it was a pleasure for us to have you as our guests

Pat & Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham on Sea
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

A most comfortable base for our visit to the Military Tatto held on the lawn of nearby Montacute House (NT).
The accommodation was all that we could wish for. Pat and Sue both friendly and helpful. Sue busy making excellent damson jam which we tried on toast with our excellent breakfast!
Slipper Cottages offers the best of Somerset, we should know, we lived nearby for several years!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFlyingScot4472, Owner at Slipper Cottage B & B Montacute, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for your very kind review Phil, it was a pleasure to have you and your wife as guests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2012

delightful and very individual B&B, every attention to detail in cottage, lots of extras and garden
which on a smaller scale rivalled those Nat. Trust ones nearby. Some traffic noise prevents Excellent label, but with a closed window would not bother anyone - Breakfast a huge choice to suit all tastes and beautifully presented.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFlyingScot4472, Owner at Slipper Cottage B & B Montacute, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thanks for your comments Judith, we are sorry you were disturbed by traffic noise - this was very unusual as no one else has commented on it before. Hopefully it was a one off.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Very welcoming and well-appointed B&B, with a beautiful garden too. Very handy for breaking the long journey between Cornwall and London. We visited Montacute House (National Trust property) too, which was also a very rewarding experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFlyingScot4472, Owner at Slipper Cottage B & B Montacute, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thanks for a lovely review, glad you enjoyed your stay
Pat & Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talgarth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Had a wonderful time in Montacute staying with Sue & Pat in Slipper Cottage B&B..A beautiful old house professional renovated to the highest standard,with a lovely garden to relax in.Catering was also of the highest standard with charming hosts as a wonderful bonus. We would certainly recommend this very comfortable and welcoming B&B to everyone who wants a peaceful and relaxing holiday./

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFlyingScot4472, Owner at Slipper Cottage B & B Montacute, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Great, hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Montacute is an amazing old village and Slipper Cottage a quaint but lovely 300 yr old house, immaculately kept. You immediately feel at home here. Pat is a great historian and Sue a real good cook. Delightful place to stay, good value, lovely people. Easy parking, 3 pubs close by. My most enjoyable accommodation in England. Australians will find William Dampier's home village nearby (East Coker) where T S Eliot is buried.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denis h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFlyingScot4472, Owner at Slipper Cottage B & B Montacute, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thanks for writing, enjoyed your company

Paterson & Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montacute
2.5 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
349 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Hollies Hotel
The Hollies Hotel
#1 of 2 in Martock
365 reviews
5.6 mi away
Travelodge Yeovil Podimore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
248 reviews
2.8 mi away
Yeovil Court Hotel & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
The Kings Arms Inn
The Kings Arms Inn
#1 of 5 in Montacute
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slipper Cottage B & B Montacute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slipper Cottage B & B Montacute

Property: Slipper Cottage B & B Montacute
Address: 41 Bishopston | Somerset, Montacute TA15 6UX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Montacute
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Montacute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Slipper Cottage bed and breakfast Montacute was built in the 17th Century from golden Hamstone. It has been substantially renovated and the garden totally re-designed. It is a lovely old Montacute cottage with low beamed ceilings, stone fireplaces, oak and pine floorboards and has great character. Slipper Cottage is situated in one of Somerset's most picturesque villages - Montacute, that has been designated a conservation village. There are many National Trust and Historic houses/gardens within easy distance e.G. One in village, 3 within 9 miles. Our double room rates per night are from- Premier £70 with breakfast, £60 without - and Standard Room £60 with breakfast , £50 without. Double used as single room, usually have much reduced prices. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Slipper Cottage B & B Montacute Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing