We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful find”
Review of The Kings Arms Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Kings Arms Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Montacute B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We walked from Ham Hill to Montacute and were so pleased to find this pub. They made us very welcome and the food was wonderful and very good value. The landlord really knows his meat so the roast was delicious and my companion's vegetarian alternative was just as good. Décor attractive, cosy fire. Also passed the crucial tests of attractive ladies loo and great vegetables cooked a point with flying colours. Just so relaxing. We'll be back soon.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dee365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 359 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2013

Wonderful bar, hotel and restaurant. Just had a super lunch with a great kept pint and lovely chilled chardonnay! Looked after by the new owners who have only been open for 2 weeks!
Well worth a visit as it's very hard to find a traditional country hotel with REAL LOG FIRES THAT ARE ACTUALLY LIT!!! Place is spotless cosy and a real credit to the owners.
We will be back!! - next week actually!

Room Tip: The Green Room is to die for!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RogerBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We live locally and have been looking for a good value place to eat good food, in a pleasant environment ....
Tonight we found it...
We three had battered whitting, rabbit and pheasant with plum stew and a chicken breast with white tarragon sauce
I have to say on every count each meal was utterly fantastic and very good value for money.
The food was prompt and hot, well presented as well as filling. 100% score on all counts
They don't officially open till Saturday when they are providing a free Hog Roast ( nice touch )
They are obviously finding ther feet but with food this good a successful future is assured.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I was on business recently and heard on the grapevine The Kings Arms had changed management, I had stayed here a long time ago and thought then that looking beyond the dated decor this place could be a real homely, Inn. I paid a visit and WOW! what a fantastic transformation... after reading some of the reviews from previous visitors, as well as a well known tabloid!...unfortunately for you guys that was done before your take over.

The menu was varied and the food was lovely, if you keep it up and pay attention to the fine details, which matter, you are onto a real winner!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank seejay62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Our favourite hostelry has now reopened under new ownership – and what a difference. After a short period closed for refurbishment the whole ambience is so much cosier and the restaurant now looks truly charming (gone is the awful green carpet).

Carl, behind the bar, made us very welcome and talked us through the new beers now on offer. Three draft lagers, including one English brand we’d never heard of - a sample of which was quickly forthcoming, three real ales, plus local cider, etc.

We’ve yet to eat at the Kings since the change of ownership, but the restaurant menu offer is now varied, interesting and reasonably priced – featuring such dishes as rabbit, venison and plum stew (to be sampled very shortly!), smoked haddock on cheddar mash with poached egg and hollandaise sauce and pheasant, chicken, steak and fish dishes. There is also a lunchtime snack menu and a very enticing looking pork pie with chilli pickle is available at the bar.

It is early days yet, and we wish Carl, Catherine and the rest of the team every success in continuing with the excellent start they have made, in making the Kings what it should be, a lovely country hotel with a welcoming atmosphere - and a building a reputation for excellent food and service.
Edward & Jacky Miller

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Jacky888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kt_beats, Owner at The Kings Arms Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. I'm glad you have noticed the changes. Everything you have written is what we are aiming to do with The Kings Arms. We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We have been to the Kings Arms before for dinner last year and had a pleasent evening and meal, so I was looking forward to dinner last night. We arrived on time at 7.30 went to the bar and waited;the barman was serving another couple,we looked around and noticed two other members of staff close by but sill no one acknowledged us,then a group of six young people arrived and were immediatley seated and drinks orders were taken. We must have been waiting at the bar for 3 or 4 minutes and was stating to feel we were invisible, rather than make a scene we both decided to walk out . As we were walking down the street back to the car we heard a voice shout "dont go " my partner replied they had been rude the reply was "suit yourself". I dont mind waiting but there were only three customers in the place when we walked in, had the barman said I'll be with you in a minute we would have been happy to wait. On arriving home my partner decided to email them, we are still awaiting a reply .

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Lyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Had one night in this place, the room was dated and not that clean. The food was not that good and breakfast......I left it and had something in Taunton. Hotel looks nice from the outside, but once in.....what a shock. Such a shame, as it used to be so good.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bestboy1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montacute
2.5 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
371 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
254 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Phelips Arms
The Phelips Arms
#3 of 5 in Montacute
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Masons Arms
The Masons Arms
#1 of 1 in Odcombe
339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Montacute Country Tearooms B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms Inn

Address: 49 Bishopston | near Yeovil, Montacute TA15 6UU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Montacute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Montacute
Price Range: $100 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Kings Arms Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Kings Arms, Montacute. Nestling in the shadows of the village church and literally just a stone’s throw away from the National Trust’s Montacute House, the 17th century Kings Arms Inn has an idyllic setting with a bar, lots of comfy sofas, a restaurant and 15 letting rooms. Now under new ownership from February 2013, we are ready to put our stamp on this beautiful building. We look forward to welcoming customers old and new. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms and Booking.com so you can book your The Kings Arms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Arms Hotel Montacute
The Kings Arms Inn Montacute, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing