We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“National Trust Gem”
Review of Montacute House

Montacute House
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Montacute
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built at the end of the 16th century, this is considered one of the most beautiful Elizabethan houses in England, which was a symbol of Sir Edward Phelips' wealth and high social standing.
Newton Abbot
Level Contributor
105 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“National Trust Gem”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Montacute House & Gardens are a true gem in the National Trust Crown. On arrival car parking was plentiful & well ordered. The Reception team were friendly and efficient. We are NT members but this was our first visit to Montacute so we were informed about the layout, given a map & told about the guided walks. We joined the 11 am 'Elizabethan' guided walk around the gardens & grounds. Our guide was brilliant and kept our group of about 20 totally enthralled with stories of Elizabethan life at Montacute. She explained the architecture, culture & lifestyle with humour, really bringing history to life. Normally we slide off early from guided tours, but on this occasion chose to stay & hear some of the more modern history of the house.
We then visited the interior of the house, which is beautifully furnished & full of history as well as a wonderful art collection on loan from The National Portrait Gallery. Written information sheets were available in each room & knowledgeable stewards were on hand to answer all my questions. We only spent an hour in the house, as the weather was gorgeous and we preferred to be outside in the wonderful gardens, which are a real joy to explore. We ate in the restaurant, which has an attractive outdoor seating

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    425
    244
    36
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Brilliant house with loads to look at including the amazingly long gallery with it's art collections. The gardens are wonderful too with lots of hidden places to discover. We loved the garden swing hanging from a tree and the totem pole!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LillyRose29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
747 reviews
540 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 576 helpful votes
“Tudor Splendour”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Montacute is a large manor house with origins in Tudor times. There are a number of rooms to visit, but few have any furnishings, other than a few paintings. However on the top floor there are a number of portraits from both the Tudor and Elizabethan era on loan from the National Portrait Gallery, and show many of the people connected with the Courts of King Henry VIII and his daughter Queen Elizabeth I. The grounds themselves are formal in design and fairly large and well maintained. The tea room was quite busy with people tucking into cream teas. All in all a pleasant place to visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Molesey19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A nice place to visit with a sense of History”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Having been disappointed by the gardens at East Lambrook Manor and Tintinhull nearby I found myself at Montacute House by virtue of getting lost! I joined a knowledgeable guide giving a group tour and was entranced by the history of the place. The house has been maintained beautifully and now houses part of the National Portrait Gallery. The furnishings are superb and visitor information in every room very helpful. The gardens were lovely as well and my visit saved my day from being a complete waste of time!
Worth a visit

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fiona E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Enjoyable visit”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

A lovely place to visit. The formal gardens are large enough to wander around without it feeling crowded on busy days. The house has plenty of rooms to look at and although there isn't much in the way of furnishings, there are lots of paintings, and on the upper floor there is the National Portrait gallery display with many more showing Tudor, Elizabethan and Jacobean characters. There is also a tea-room which can get very busy at times, but also has seating outside. And with a final visit to the gift shop to complete your visit, all in all, very enjoyable. The entry price could do with being a little lower, but if you are a NT member, it isn't a problem.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carol N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montacute House also viewed

 

Been to Montacute House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing