We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great house”
Review of Montacute House

Montacute House
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Montacute
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built at the end of the 16th century, this is considered one of the most beautiful Elizabethan houses in England, which was a symbol of Sir Edward Phelips' wealth and high social standing.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
370 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Great house”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We left it rather late in the day to visit the house and gardens. We really only had time to whizz round the house, but the grounds did look good.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank peebee43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    425
    244
    36
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redding, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A visitors look at an English tradition!”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

As visitors from California, we most enjoyed the ambience of a true English inn. Our room was a bit of a climb for one who is disabled but worth the climb. p.s. we did not request a handicapped room.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Audrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Stunning House and Grounds”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Well worth a visit, beautiful house and gardens, Montacute House has it all. Definitely going back soon.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank Drewphilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Lovely House to Visit.”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

This is one of the treasures of the South West. The gardens are attarctive, and form part of the whole experience. The house is lovely, and the Long Gallery in particular with its collection of paintings well worth a visit. For a quiet afternoon out this must be high on your list of places to visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank francis b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Surprise Find!”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We liked the food and service very much...nothing to dislike about it at all! The location and scenery very beautiful - the mediaeval architecture and surroundings wonderful.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Traveldelite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montacute House also viewed

 

Been to Montacute House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing