We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight stop over”
Review of The Phelips Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Phelips Arms
Ranked #3 of 5 Montacute B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Overnight stop over”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Really great traditional pub and quality rooms, we only stayed 1 night on our way to St Ives, however we will definitely be returning.
Superb breakfast and a very warm welcome from the hosts as well as the locals and of course Spencer!
Would like to thank Ady & Nicola for a lovely stay and for accommodating us at such short notice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kostie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    26
    7
    6
    5
See reviews for
18
32
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Warm welcome, excellent room, nice pub, great location, very good breakfast. Just perfect, can't do any better. It's not dear either - why would anyone choose a dreadful Travelodge?

Would definitely use again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andyboy390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds, england
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Visited quite by accident but glad we did. Stopped for food as it looked very quaint and it was. Food was excellent, very tasty and lots of options to choose from. Service very good and staff were very welcoming, would certainly go out of my way to visit this pub again, apparently good facilities if wanting to stay aswell..... I was earwigging staying guests.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank supaflysi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Made very welcome by Nicky, Ade and Spencer. Very comfortable with great dinner and breakfasts. Steaks in particular very good as was the special cider. Would struggle to eat 3 courses dinner was so filling. Obviously very popular with the locals. Would readily recommend.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank lesharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil
Level Contributor
82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

As above. We were met by a lovely barmaid, very warm welcome. We ordered 1) ham, egg and chips and 2), scampi and chips. My scampi was perfectly cooked, the chips were perfectley cooked, salad was fresh........ 2 lovely eggs and ham & chips...perfect!

Great atmosphere in the pub, friendly chat, can't praise the barmaid highly enough, also the waitress, very attentive and really nice. Forgot to leave a tip, so will be going back!

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TSalisbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne End
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a very good experience from our one-night stay at the Phelips Arms in a comfy family room. The landlords are very welcoming and warm and made our stay pleasant and nice. The room was clean, comfortable and big enough despite the extra fold-out bed that was kindly added for one of our children. Nice to be able to go down to the pub for a drink after the kids were in bed :). Breakfast was cooked on demand, guests are assigned quite a precise time slot for their breakfast, which could be uncomfortable for some guests. On the upside, the landlady cooks a full English breakfast for you according to your choice and we didn't have to wait for very long until it was served. We'd be happy to go back there any time.

Room Tip: I don't know how many rooms there are or where they are located. On this particular trip our ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martinikitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

i paid a visit to Somerset to attend a wedding of an old school friend who was getting married in Yeovil, he recomended the Phelips Arms as we did at first intend taking our dog with us and had a dog friendly room.

We didnt take the dog in the end but we still stayed at the pub, on arrival we couldn't of got a better welcome, it was friendly and made us feel comfortable after a long 6hr journey from Middlesbrough.

We had a table booked for 7pm, no waiting a long time to be served no waiting a long time for food it was really excellent service by all very friendly staff and owners, i can't say nothing about the owners they were marvellous.

Breakfast was amazing for this freindly wlecome and freindly staff and owners i give the Phelips Arms a massive thumbs up and thank you for our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anthony c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montacute
2.6 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Preston Hotel
The Preston Hotel
#7 of 13 in Yeovil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Yeovil Airfield Hotel
3.8 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ilchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Hollies Hotel
The Hollies Hotel
#1 of 2 in Martock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phelips Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phelips Arms

Property: The Phelips Arms
Address: The Borough, Montacute TA15 6XB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Montacute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Montacute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Phelips Arms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phelips Arms is the traditional pub that your looking for Run by Adrian and Nicola Paul its set in a beautiful Elizabethan village surrounded by stunning countryside and architecture. We offer a warm welcome and beautiful home-made pub meals such as our famous "Steak and Ale pie" with a ever changing specials board which hosts dishes from fresh fish caught in Devon to locally sourced Game dishes. You will love our pub so much you will want to stay in one of our en suite B&B rooms equipped with everything you need complete with a personal breakfast basket delivered to your room. We have a fantastic skittle alley, function room and beautiful walled garden to the rear of the pub ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your The Phelips Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Phelips Arms Montacute, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing