We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place to stay”
Review of The Phelips Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Phelips Arms
Ranked #3 of 5 Montacute B&B and Inns
Sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A perfect place to stay”
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We have just got back from a stay at the Phelips Arms and we just cannot understand how anybody can have anything negative to say about this place .
It is in the perfect location in the beautiful village of Montacute,do visit the TV and Toy Museum and the stately home just yards away from this pub .
All the staff made us feel so welcome,the room was spotlessly clean and we had our evening meal here,which was very good value for money,we stayed a friday night and there was a local band,The Tin Box Boys playing which made for a really good night.
The breakfast was excellent and filled us up for the rest of the day,we were not hungry until much later in the day .
A special thank you to the Landlord for the very kind offer to run us to where we were going,we would recommend anybody to stay here,its a fantastic place and full value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garyblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    26
    7
    6
    5
See reviews for
19
32
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Nice old property, great but simple menu, reasonable rooms , clean and tidy and well worth the £55 B and B,
Kev the landlord is very friendly and a really nice bloke#=
I would return

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davegirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

i stayed here with my mum and sister for 8 nights due to a bereavement in the family we had stayed there before when visiting my aunt and again it was our first choice when looking for somewhere to stay. the hosts carolyn and kevin offer hospitality beyond compare and nothing was too much trouble sometimes we didnt even have to ask for something and it would appear ie. my mums love of yorkshire tea !!! one day yorkshire teabags suddenly appeared in our room. which made mums day !!all the staff were polite friendly and extremely efficient in their jobs,such a joy and even guinness was a good boy (hes the dog by the way ) the locals who visited the pub were very friendly and welcoming they even included us in a game of darts one evening .the food was delicious carolyn where did you find kevin !! his cooking is superb and what a choice we ate a different meal every night spoilt for choice in fact.although we had gone down for a sad occasion we did enjoy ourselves in a beautiful pub in a beautiful location with beautiful hosts. look no further just stay here and enjoy ,you wont be disappointed i can assure you, we will certainly be back !!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Whoever wrote that review of 3rd Jan 2011,had to be very cranky always upset People.
My wife and I have recently returned from a Wonderful Friendly Place where Staff and Hosts could not have been more Helpful.
The Food is always Cooked Well,Plates Huge and Filled with excelent Locacal Produce. This is good old Fashoned Home Cooked Food...For £10.95..You get a Large Plate,with a Well cooked Steak that fills the Plate,and all Trimmings..and they call this expensive?? Drinks cost no more than average..both I and My good lady are healthy eaters..but I defy anyone to complain about the size of the 'Full English' served at Breakfast, Huge, as all Meals are there !!
The Rooms are Comfortable,Clean and Well Maintained..If you want a Friendly Place this is it....we loved it so much We booked a Week next April to enjoy another stay there.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ogmov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

This place really sucks. Whilst we weren't expecting the earth, just a basic meal for four adults and three kids, the service, quality of food and drink (and the charges) make it memorable for all the wrong reasons.

Have subsequently seen lots of other negative reviews on other sites - including a riposte from someone who must be the owner about a historically bad sounding valentines night - AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gnzls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 24, 2010

As I was visiting the nearby National Trust property, Montacute House, the Phelips Arms was an ideal stop-over and only 200 yards away.

The service at the Phelips Arms was very good, the room neat and clean, and the food excellent. What more could one want from an overnight stay in beautiful Somerset.!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ukexplorer17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montacute
2.7 mi away
Yeovil Court Hotel & Restaurant
2.4 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
354 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Hollies Hotel
The Hollies Hotel
#1 of 2 in Martock
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#10 of 13 in Yeovil
562 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Preston Hotel
The Preston Hotel
#8 of 13 in Yeovil
190 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kings Arms Inn
The Kings Arms Inn
#1 of 5 in Montacute
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phelips Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phelips Arms

Property: The Phelips Arms
Address: The Borough, Montacute TA15 6XB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Montacute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Montacute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Phelips Arms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phelips Arms is the traditional pub that your looking for Run by Adrian and Nicola Paul its set in a beautiful Elizabethan village surrounded by stunning countryside and architecture. We offer a warm welcome and beautiful home-made pub meals such as our famous "Steak and Ale pie" with a ever changing specials board which hosts dishes from fresh fish caught in Devon to locally sourced Game dishes. You will love our pub so much you will want to stay in one of our en suite B&B rooms equipped with everything you need complete with a personal breakfast basket delivered to your room. We have a fantastic skittle alley, function room and beautiful walled garden to the rear of the pub ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Phelips Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Phelips Arms Montacute, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing