We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel with excellent dining and breakfast all in a lovely location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Walnut Tree Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 3 West Camel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel with excellent dining and breakfast all in a lovely location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Took a room for a single night, but will definitely return. Located close to Yeovil but far enough off the beaten track to engender a peaceful feel. There is a lovely courtyard in which to enjoy a drink on a pleasant evening under the shade of 'the' Old Walnut Tree. We dined in and the menu and quality of food were of a very high standard. Our room was comfortable and well appointed, the only minor criticism was the lack of space to store a toiletries bag in the bathroom. Our visit was rounded of by an excellent breakfast in the morning. A real Gem and a great find

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RhinoSteve13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    40
    6
    8
    2
See reviews for
18
60
5
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Booked here as a decent spot to break a business trip between Plymouth and Portsmouth. Mostly pin in map approach, but checked the reviews first.

It turns out to be a little bit of the beaten track, but is definitely all the better for it. Absolutely lovely setting, in a very quaint village with stone walls, thatch and all the English countryside stereotypes.

The place was all but deserted when I arrived, which might explain the fantastic service I got from the owners (but I suspect it would be as good if it was full). My booking through an agent hadn't got through, but it was no trouble and they found me a room straight away. Up one flight of slightly creaky stairs, along a slightly more creaky corridor and found my room. Barring a few more creaks, it was more than acceptable, and with hindsight, the creaks added to the "ambience".

The food served in the restaurant was of a very high standard. I had a Steak Rossini, and it was full of flavour and melted in the mouth. Breakfast the following day was of equally high standard.

I could be tempted to come back for a weekend break, and I live a long way away!

Just great.

Room Tip: Not sure what choice there is, but mine was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
208 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Booked "The Walnut Tree" for three nights to tour Somerset. Handy for the Jurrasic Coast, the seven market towns of Somerset, City of Wells and even the Chedder caves. The village is small and the hotel is the only commercial business, originally a cottage it has modern purpose built extensions that are ideal for the traveller to come and go as you please. The owner is the chef and does an exceptional menu for a small hotel. The other guests while we were there are mostly commercial travellers and that suggests returning satisfied guests. Just off the A303 or a few Kms out of Yeovil it is easily accessed. If you are to stay in Somerset "The Walnut Tree" is a must.

Room Tip: Ask for an outside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theredman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Visiting friends, our usual B&B was not available so booked here and was not disappointed. Great location, close to main road but far enough from it to feel tucked away. Lovely cottage feel even in the rooms in the extension. Quiet and quaint. And a very scrummy breakfast. Definately recommend for a short stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinksA13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Lovely, welcoming & helpful owners and staff! Clean, with excellent food, Ideally located off the A303, it proved an excellent base for us to go off and explore the local areas, one for the future, we highly recommend a visit. P.s. (they provide a flask of fresh milk in your room, excellent idea!)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynn t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Had an overnight stay as I was down from Oxford for work. The room was fantastic, staff very friendly and food was superb. I do not normally write reviews but had to on this occasion. If you are in the area The Walnut Tree is a must!

Room Tip: I had room 12 but you wont go wrong whichever room you have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

It was my first occasion at the Walnut Tree at West Camel on the weekend just gone. Ideally located just off the A303, yet when we arrived, it felt like we were in the middle of a rural retreat, so relaxing and quiet! We were on our way to Cornwall from London so it was the ideal stop off point for an over night stay and we were not disappointed.

Lovely welcome from the very friendly owners, escorted to a fantastically furnished double bedroom that opened out on to a small balcony area that was heaven in this good weather. The private garden allowed us to have a nice glass of wine in the early evening sun.

We did eat in the evening, was extremely busy in both rooms of the restaurant, yet the service and delivery of food was prompt. My husband had a fillet and I had a sirloin, both medium-rare. They were cooked to perfection and we could not get enough of the pepper sauce that came with the fillet steak, make sure that if you eat here, asked for the fillet steak and pepper sauce, to die for!

For us, what topped off the meal was a heavenly Lemon & Ginger Crunch and Chocolate Brownie that were all home-made! Could not fault any of the food and fantastic value for money!

We were extremely comfortable in the bedroom, it was that quiet, we kept the balcony doors open all evening and it was the most incredible feeling waking up to the birds singing in the Walnut Tree right outside!

A fantastic stay! Will be returning every time we now head our way too and from London, what is greatest about this place is that is all family run and you can feel how passionate they are in wanting to ensure that you have a perfect stay!

Fantastic and keep up the good work!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Camel
3.6 mi away
Northover Manor Hotel
Northover Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ilchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ilchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
6.9 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hawk House
Hawk House
#3 of 3 in West Camel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.2 mi away
River Garden B&B
River Garden B&B
#2 of 3 in West Camel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mildmay Arms
Mildmay Arms
#1 of 2 in Queen Camel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Walnut Tree Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Walnut Tree Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Walnut Tree Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Fore Street | West Camel, West Camel, Yeovil BA22 7QW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil > West Camel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in West Camel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Walnut Tree Hotel & Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Walnut Tree Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing