We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel and restaurant in the West Country”
Review of Hawk House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hawk House
Ranked #3 of 3 West Camel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Best hotel and restaurant in the West Country”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Wayne's bistro beats anything else. Anyone travelling down to the West Country must stop here beats any services on price, quality of food and service you will never go to a chain restaurant gain.

The staff are very welcoming, food is out of this world, very reasonably priced and cooked to order.

Wayne and Di are just the best hosts

Would recommend to stay here rooms are exceptionally clean and views over the Somerset hills to die for

This little hotel and Bisto is the West Country best kept secret and not to mention the Sunday carvery

Fantastic

Room Tip: Book room 6 has a separate lounge area with balcony offering stunning views over the beautiful Somer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    17
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
50
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South East England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stopped here on our way to Devon/Cornwall and on our way home as there is very little choice on the A303/A30 these days. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was good and plenty of it. Stopped for a break on our way home for sandwiches, which were huge, actually a little too big for me but my husband finished all his! Staff again very friendly and helpful. Only negative comment is trying to get out of the car park to continue our journey London bound! Very tricky due to lots of traffic going South for the bank holiday weekend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen5551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 24, 2013

what a joy,the find somewhere on the A303 with proper food and good service at a fair price. My wife and I only wanted a snack and a drink after being stuck in traffic jams.we both ordered a baguette each and a bowl of chips, which neither of us c ould finish because of the quantity of food( which was first class) and proper coffee for me as I was driving and a good selection of wine for my wife. excellent service.
You have got me for life whilst on the a303.
well done I can now complete my journey to exmouth.Devon

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank butch2197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stop here on our way down to Devon, got our drinks very quickly but had to wait well over half
a hour for our meals.and it was not all that busy.egg sandwich was £4-95 bread could be cut a
little less thick. I had the George bush burger £6-95 no chips as these are extra.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sirlordlongford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed for a night at Hawk House on a Friday. We were lucky and unlucky in that sense. Lucky because we had the whole place to ourselves - unlucky as our room was close to the A303. I am a light sleeper and I couldn't get a proper wink of sleep as you can just hear vehicle zooming by all night/morning.

Saying that, the guest house was clean and spotless. Nice little common room. As we had the place to ourselves (no other guests checked in for that night), my little 'un had the freedom to roam around.

For £65 per night, the price was reasonable and the morning breakfast was brilliant. I couldn't have asked for a better full english. The staff (if not mistaken, its Kim) was very friendly, accomodating and helpful to our needs. Our table was even ready with a high chair before we even came into the bistro!

All in all, its a good place to stay - I cannot judge what the noise will be had we got the room deep down the house (i guess could be little), but if you are light sleepers, then be aware of the vehicle passing by throughout the night may not give the sleep you desire.

Room Tip: Wouldn't recommend for light sleepers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OneSt0p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Could find no entry for 'Wayne's Bar and Bistro' at Yeovilton, only another one, but the one at Yeolvilton is truly fabulous; we have never stayed at Hawk House, but the associated 'bistro' restaurant is the best on the A303.
Wonderful food very polite, friendly and helpful service.

If you are going to be using the A303, between the West Country and Hampshire, don't even think of eating anywhere else.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We have not stayed at the B and B but have enjoyed the restaurant for both coffee and lunch. This has to be the best place to stop for food and drink on the A303 - on a single carriageway section so can be entered from either direction. We have found the service to be excellent , friendly and knowledgeable. Prices are reasonable, we judged the Christmas meals to be good value and the drinks (including wines and spirits) very fair. The decor is modern bistro style, very clean and imaginatively done.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naishcombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Camel
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Yeovil Podimore
3.1 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ilchester
222 reviews
5.6 mi away
Premier Inn Yeovil Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Devonshire Arms
Devonshire Arms
#1 of 2 in Langport
186 reviews
0.6 mi away
River Garden B&B
River Garden B&B
#2 of 3 in West Camel
71 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Walnut Tree Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawk House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawk House

Property: Hawk House
Address: Camel Cross, West Camel, Yeovil BA22 7RA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil > West Camel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in West Camel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawk House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawk House is a family run quality bed and breakfast located in the picturesque Somerset countryside near to Yeovil and RNAS Yeovilton. With superb access to the A303 and many of Somerset’s visitor attractions, including the Fleet Air Arm Museum and Haynes Motor Museum, it offers the perfect location for business and pleasure trips alike. At Hawk House we strive to deliver the highest standard of personal service and facilities whilst maintaining traditional values and a homely feel. Supporting our local community through the use of local produce and services is important to us, as is ensuring every guest has an enjoyable stay. Our six en-suite bedrooms are equipped with all the facilities expected of a modern bed and breakfast, including free WIFI, flatscreen televisions with freeview and integrated DVD players, high quality toiletries, bed linen and towels. We very much look forward to welcoming you at Hawk House and Wayne's Bar & Bistro soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hawk House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing