We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great find 😃” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Little Barwick House

Little Barwick House
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Barwick
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A great find 😃”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on their 'last minute offer' & would definitely recommend. The food was lovely, the room was beautiful & sitting outside enjoying the garden & afternoon tea really topped off our visit. The food is delicious both evening & breakfast menu. Can't wait to come back!

Helpful?
Thank emj_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    13
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A real find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Although my family live in Somerset, I had never been to Little Barwick House, even though I had heard of it. But on Saturday I finally made it when 5 of us enjoyed the most wonderful evening for a family birthday. WOW, what a find. This is one of those rare places that once experienced is never forgotten and we spent the last 10 minutes discussing when we will be returning. Everything was faultless, including the stunning gardens and internal decor, the unbelievable food, the impressive wine list, the relaxed, unintrusive yet competent and respectful well-paced service and of course the calm, friendly (front-of-house) owner, Emma. Prices are top end / London, but for a 3 Michelin star offer, were expected and still represent good value. I can't recommend this restaurant enough and hope anyone reading this and other reviews who decides to go on the back of them will be as WOW'd as we were.... enjoy!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank diddi2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“stunning food in a very friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

We have dined at Little Barwick House on a number of occasions and have never been disappointed. It is the ideal venue for a special celebration. The welcome is warm, the ambiance very friendly, the food absolutely superb (why do they not have at least 2 Michelin rosettes?) and the wine list absorbing and so well chosen. We cannot recommend it too highly

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fine dining in a country house surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

This is the best restaurant in the Yeovil to Dorchester area beating Sienna in Dorchester certainly in terms of atmosphere and surroundings and on its day in terms of the food as well.
Very accomplished French inspired cooking great service the only drawback is the fairly expensive wine list. Very good value set lunch

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Finesse !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

We were 4 for lunch.
The house style is one of effortless elegance matched by the quality of the food and wine.
Once again,I could find no fault in any aspect of our time there.Although it was quite quiet on the day,the service was not rushed and in fact,we were invited to stay in the sitting room as long as we wanted after our meal.
We are already planning an overnight stay some 9 months ahead!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Flamebrother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Barwick House also viewed

 
Ilchester, Yeovil
 

Been to Little Barwick House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing