We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Little Barwick House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Helyar Arms(East Coker)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Manor(Yeovil)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lanes Hotel(West Coker)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveler rating
75
15
4
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
75
15
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsscallopsrestaurant with roomsroelog firewine listguinea fowlcountry housebig birthdaydelicious meallovely housebirthday dinnera pre dinner drinkwonderful eveningfamily homecouple of nightssuperb foodsmall hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 94 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We especially wanted to come to Little Barwick for a family 90th birthday will three generations present having come from far and wide. The location is peaceful, the welcome friendly, efficient but not intrusive, the food delicious and beautifully presented, and the house wines first class. We had high expectations and were not disappointed - an outstanding success, and would unreservedly recommend this gem to anyone. Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

The guest rooms were very good and the staff could not be more helpful, which made our four night stay pure joy. The location is in a quiet village with no road noise so is very peaceful. The quality of the food was excellent and good value for money. The portions were if anything too big for us, but mine host did her best to give us smaller. The ingredients are of a very high quality and cooked to perfection, the wine list comprehensive. What more could you want, except a super breakfast, which we had four days running which set us up for sight seeing in the area.

Room Tip: We were in two different rooms as we changed our booking at the last minute, arriving two days early, having been let down by a hotel in Bath. Both were very comfortable and quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

A friend of ours whilst staying at the above Hotel, invited us as Guests to join her for Dinner. The Hotel is situated just outside of Yeovil, Somerset. It certainly needed to be signposted, and thankfully it was. Do use the route suggested, you might easily get lost otherwise. A welcoming host showed us into a charming drawing room, where drinks and your order is taken from a very good menu. Locally fresh produce is used, and expertly cooked and presented. The staff are always there, but not intrusive in any way. A most relaxing Evening, and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank bevilj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We chose to celebrate our anniversary again at LBH and for the third time decided on the dinner with B&B - admittedly not cheap but for this quality it is very good value.

Contrary to some reports a warm welcome, the offer of tea and biscuits and room 3 that is quiet, well appointed and has a wonderful outlook over the garden. Pre dinner drinks and an amuse bouche in front of the log fire is a good start. The John Dory and scallops were superb, melt-down roe deer and fillet steak cooked to perfection and deserts presented like works of art. A good nights sleep in a very comfortable bed followed by a fine full English breakfast, decent strong coffee to start the day with a sight of a nuthatch and tree creeper as we left.

West Country hospitality at its best, remember though it is a restaurant with rooms and not a hotel. We love and would recommend it.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

A warm, cosy welcome with log fire in lounge, afternoon tea with cake and shortbread. Extremely comfortable bedroom with Californian King size bed, very restful sleeping and country house situation and style - highly recommended. Food at dinner quite excellent and exceptional - we enjoyed scallops, roe deer and crumble - wide ranging wine list, wonderfully styled fluted champagne glasses, contents of which was much enjoyed. Very adequate house wines at keen prices. Warm bedroom with sofa, cooler bathroom with shower over bath lovely quiet rural outlook. Excellent hostess who provides most of the service. Close enough to Yeovil if you need a town. Restaurant probably better value than the bedroom deals. Well worth a return visit in our opinion.

Room Tip: Ours at the top of the house (two floors up) overlooked the front garden entrance and valley below.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidFBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews