We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent & enjoyable as ever.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Little Barwick House
Ranked #1 of 2 Barwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We chose to celebrate our anniversary again at LBH and for the third time decided on the dinner with B&B - admittedly not cheap but for this quality it is very good value.

Contrary to some reports a warm welcome, the offer of tea and biscuits and room 3 that is quiet, well appointed and has a wonderful outlook over the garden. Pre dinner drinks and an amuse bouche in front of the log fire is a good start. The John Dory and scallops were superb, melt-down roe deer and fillet steak cooked to perfection and deserts presented like works of art. A good nights sleep in a very comfortable bed followed by a fine full English breakfast, decent strong coffee to start the day with a sight of a nuthatch and tree creeper as we left.

West Country hospitality at its best, remember though it is a restaurant with rooms and not a hotel. We love and would recommend it.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 93 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2013

A warm, cosy welcome with log fire in lounge, afternoon tea with cake and shortbread. Extremely comfortable bedroom with Californian King size bed, very restful sleeping and country house situation and style - highly recommended. Food at dinner quite excellent and exceptional - we enjoyed scallops, roe deer and crumble - wide ranging wine list, wonderfully styled fluted champagne glasses, contents of which was much enjoyed. Very adequate house wines at keen prices. Warm bedroom with sofa, cooler bathroom with shower over bath lovely quiet rural outlook. Excellent hostess who provides most of the service. Close enough to Yeovil if you need a town. Restaurant probably better value than the bedroom deals. Well worth a return visit in our opinion.

Room Tip: Ours at the top of the house (two floors up) overlooked the front garden entrance and valley below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidFBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed here for a special birthday and had a splendid time.
Rooms cosy and warm, food delicious. Rich dishes so probably best for a short stay as wouldn't fit into any clothes after otherwise!
Like the way that the milk is is a thermos so don't have to have that awful UHT milk.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidayqueenSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This is quite a nice place but when you consider that a double room is £180 per night it is not good value, the service was patchy, from very good to very poor, one night the beds were turned down and water and fresh milk placed in the room, the following night they didn't bother. Getting a drink downstairs can take up to 20 minutes. Dinner is excellent, breakfast less so, the juices are not fresh and the muesli is the cheapest possible. Nice touches with tea and cake served when you arrive. The welcome was cold and no one ever asked if we had a nice stay or hoped that we would come back. I wouldn't.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sebastian75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We booked for my husbands big birthday,just the two of us B/B & Dinner. The rooms quite an understatement, bathroom o.k. but loo took about five mins to refill and the waste pipe for the hand basin run uphill!!
All the meals took a very long time to arrive and when you consider there were only four for breakfast(which was supposed to be cooked to order and was definitely not) took about half an hour to arrive!
All in all a total disappointment

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Stayed here on business for one night. This little gem of a property is just a stones throw away from yeovil and the room rates are quite competitive for B&B. The rooms are what you would expect from a high class B&B country house. Very homely atmosphere although I was only in the building for less than 12 hours. Food is quite expensive but it is good. Service was very efficient and attentive. Probably a great place for a special meal when not on business. The property seems to run with a very accommodating approach. I do however feel that the management must have decided not to try to capture business travellers as breakfast is only served from 8am, however I must say that I did manage to get some tea and toast at 7.40 when the breakfast team arrived. In fairness also this place is a restaurant (first) with rooms. I would definitely stay here again for the location, the setting, the homeliness and the room rate.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Billed as a restaurant with rooms, this small country house hotel offers comfortable accommodation together with excellent food. Sadly, we were the only guests staying here just prior to Easter on our way from Kent to the West Country but the peace and quiet and the sole focus of attention from the friendly hostess, Emma Ford, and her staff did not disappoint us one jot. For dinner I had a great starter of pan fried scallops with crispy bacon on a butternut squash puree followed by Cornish Turbot and ending with an excellent interpretation of bread and butter pudding. Only the breakfast was a slight disappointment to me with slightly 'gloopy' scrambled eggs and dried out sausage. So often, hotels with excellent restaurants disappoint at breakfast when the chef is having a well earned rest. In terms of pricing, dinner at around £40 for 3 courses is reasonable for this quality but the b&b element of a dinner, bed and breakfast stay seems relatively expensive.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Le_Dap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barwick
0 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
990 reviews
0 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
842 reviews
0 mi away
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Barwick Farm House
Barwick Farm House
#2 of 2 in Barwick
29 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Little Barwick House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Barwick House

Address: Barwick, Yeovil BA22 9TD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil > Barwick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Barwick
Price Range: $387 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Little Barwick House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Little Barwick House Hotel Barwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing