We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay with excellent Restaurant”

Half Moon Inn & Country Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Half Moon Inn & Country Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Mudford B&B and Inns
Stonehouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay with excellent Restaurant”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Stayed over night at the Half Moon and had an evening meal in the Restaurant .The owner and staff were very friendly from the time we arrived to the time we checked out .Very pleasant rooms at a reasonable price .Plenty to choose from on the Menu ,including vegetarian options. Great food ,generous portions .Would recommend

Room Tip: No swimming pool or room service
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliusgeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    53
    31
    22
    11
See reviews for
68
59
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I went here a couple of years back and even though it was busy with a lot of noise, every time my children laughed or cried as they do the looks from the bar staff were disgusting.
I decided to give it another shot a week ago as the food was great, yet again the looks we were getting and the shaking of heads was rude and unfriendly.

Looking at some of your past review the customer service is terrible. I believe this business is being held up by the chef alone as I have previously stated the food was excellent. My idea of a nice meal is to have friendly staff as well. I left no tip as you would probably moan about that as well!

Room Tip: Get someone else to pick up the key and don't talk to any one
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Have not been here for about 7 years, and it was still as good as ever. It was fairly crowded when we got there at about 6.30 but found a table without any problems. The menu on the wall was right by the table which made selecting a meal easy..
The bar stff were friendly and efficient, the waiting staff were just as good. The food took longer than normal to come out but was worth the wait. Large portions, well cooked and very tasty.
Only down side I would say is that the drinks are a bit on the steep side

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonPSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

I have lived around the Sherborne area for my whole life and the Half Moon is one of my favourites! Good service, great food (generous portion sizes) and a great atmosphere. We have never been disappointed. Would recommend for tradition pub grub!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomGuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

My friend & I visited for lunch this week. I've heard some wonderful things about this place, so I've been pretty intrigued to see for myself.
Lovely building, wonderful atmosphere & great menu... Though standing and reading from the wall I could have done without!
The staff were a bit off putting with their grumpiness, but the lovely food does kind of make you over look that!
I will be back, but I do think I'll leave the kids at home.... From what I've read/heard, they're definitely not welcome!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MellyPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

Been here a few times with my friend and have never had a bad meal here. Good value for money and a great tasting mixed grill for only £17.99. Service is always quick however it's always advised you get there on opening as a very popular place, but if you can get in it's definitely worth it

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank apriliadaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We frequently use this pub as our local. You can eat if you want to or just sit and read to relax. The staff are very busy and don't be offended if not over friendly. The food is amazing. As for the sign about children? What is it about parents who think everyone else is enthralled with your noisy offspring. Nobody minds well behaved children and the sign reinforces that. If you want smiley staff go to MacDonalds who will be happy to wish you to have a nice day. If you want to book-go to a place who take bookings and let the Half Moon be the lovely peaceful venue it is where you are not rushed to finish your meal before the next sitting.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mudford
2.7 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#10 of 13 in Yeovil
3.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Yeovil Town Centre Hotel
2.2 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ilchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Preston Hotel
The Preston Hotel
#8 of 13 in Yeovil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon Inn & Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon Inn & Country Lodge

Property: Half Moon Inn & Country Lodge
Address: Main Street, Mudford BA21 5TF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Mudford
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mudford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Half Moon Inn & Country Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Half Moon Inn & Country Lodge is located just 2 miles from Yeovil and Penmill train station, in rural surroundings on the Somerset and Dorset borders.Our home made faye is available ALL Day EVERY day from 12 noon, and we are famous for miles around , for quality and quantity! The ensuite rooms have been awarded three stars by the AA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Half Moon Inn & Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon Inn & Country Hotel Mudford
Half Moon Inn And Country Lodge
Half Moon Hotel Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing