We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bland”

Half Moon Inn & Country Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Half Moon Inn & Country Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Mudford B&B and Inns
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
243 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Bland”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Went to the Half Moon for dinner weds night, haven't been there for a while, used to be my favourite place to eat, but was a bit disappointed last night, we arrived at 7:30 which i know is the busiest time period & managed to get the last remaining table that didn't have sign on saying for 5 or more people, fair enough they don't want 2 people sitting at a large table, but they seem to have added a few more tables since I was last there & I can't help but feel its a shame that you are now packed in like sardines, touching the elbow of someone on a different table as you eat, the poor waitresses have to struggle to squeeze inbetween the tables, i had home made faggots & mash my partner had chilli, there was a half an hour wait which wasn't bad considering how busy it was, our food arrived, the rice on my partners chilli was dry & hard where the plate had been put under the grill to melt the cheese they put on top & my 'home made' faggots & mash tasted so bland, I was quite disappointed tbh, it also came with mushy peas & if I hadn't seen them I wouldn't have noticed they were there because they were tasteless too, i think my partner enjoyed his chilli other than the rice being hard, for what you pay in that pub I just expected better quality, we both agreed the meals were worthy of paying £7-£8 for but not £10-£12, I've had fantastic meals in there in the past & their douphinoise potatoes are amazing but last night I tried something different & thought it was a bit bland / average.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonic_05_xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    52
    31
    22
    11
See reviews for
68
57
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We went for dinner here earlier, lovely decorated pub, had a lovely meal (compliments to chef) but lacking in customer service. The man who took our order was miserable, couldn't be bothered and even got the order wrong as wasn't listening.

The reason why it got a very good rating was due to the food, it would score poor in customer service but its a restaurant, no I'm judging the food.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gazpara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

The food here is excellent, however the only down side is that the staff are not overly friendly or helpful and I dont agree with putting my credit card behind the bar. So make sure you take cash if you feel the same.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babychops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2013

OK, so we turned up on a Friday night on the off chance that there was a table available. The restaurant seemed pretty packed, so when I asked about the waiting time for tables (we were hungry after all) they said "you just have to wait for someone to leave". We looked around to make a guess at who was leaving 1st but had no idea, so ended up leaving. Its in a village location, so alternatives arent close by. Definitely put off going back because what’s the point in going somewhere if you have to linger around for a table? It looks like a nice pub, so wont give it a 1 but really could do better for customer experience.

Room Tip: No bookings in the restaurant allowed, so dont go on a weekend night if you're not prepared to w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisybabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Me and my Wife have eaten here lots and live local it never fails to produce a top class meal that is great in taste and very filling, the local beers and ciders are fantastic too. See you again soon.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nostris1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We have been here a few times now as the food portions are huge and the quality always great. The menu choice is massive and the food is always of high standard, however the staff mostly lack any sense of humour and can be quite grumpy. We have a young baby and found the high chairs are not great for a newly sitting up child, no tray to make a mess on and so would not be able to take him back for some time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Midwifemolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is a great place to stay for a few days for business or leisure. The pub has an extensive menu with good food, reasonable prices and quick service (even when busy). The portions are large, so you may sturggle if you try a starter and still expect to have room for desert!

The rooms are all functional with TV's, showers and tea/coffee facilities. I find the purpose built rooms in the courtyard area are more modern. There's also free Wi-Fi throughout.

Room Tip: The rooms in the courtyard are more modern than the internal ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mudford
2.7 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#10 of 13 in Yeovil
3.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Yeovil Town Centre Hotel
2.2 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ilchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Preston Hotel
The Preston Hotel
#7 of 13 in Yeovil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon Inn & Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon Inn & Country Lodge

Property: Half Moon Inn & Country Lodge
Address: Main Street, Mudford BA21 5TF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Mudford
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mudford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Half Moon Inn & Country Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Half Moon Inn & Country Lodge is located just 2 miles from Yeovil and Penmill train station, in rural surroundings on the Somerset and Dorset borders.Our home made faye is available ALL Day EVERY day from 12 noon, and we are famous for miles around , for quality and quantity! The ensuite rooms have been awarded three stars by the AA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Half Moon Inn & Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon Inn & Country Hotel Mudford
Half Moon Inn And Country Lodge
Half Moon Hotel Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing