We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage in a lovely little village.”
other travelers have booked this property
Raven Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Raven Cottage
Raven Cottage back garden Raven Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Raven Cottage
Raven Cottage back garden
Raven Cottage
Swift- two twin beds
Goldcrest- two twin beds
Jay- one twin bed
Dining Room with view of front garden
Dining Room leading to sitting room and kitchen
Kitchen with view of back garden
Sitting Room- with pullout sofa bed for two
Sitting Room- with pullout sofa bed for two
Downstairs shower and toilet
Upstairs shower and toilet
Raven Cottage back garden
Pool onsite & available for booking
The Cottage is run by a Charity whose Gardens are available to enjoy.
Centre's Main Garden
Centre's Main Garden
Centre's Main Garden
Centre's Main Garden
Centre's Main Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Queen Camel, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Resort250...
1 review
“Beautiful cottage in a lovely little village.”
Reviewed November 19, 2016 for a stay in August 2014

We really enjoyed our stay in Raven Cottage the property provided a peaceful stay for our family. With there being six of we had thought space may be tight but there was no problem. Queen Camel is a quaint little village we enjoyed walking to the children's playground where our four children let off some steam! We will return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 21, 2016
We look forward to welcoming our guests back to Raven Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fadno T
Devon, England
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Peaceful, healing, perfect respite”
Reviewed October 24, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We stayed at Raven Cottage as a group of mixed generations - from 73 years to 15 months. The cottage is very simple, but has everything you would need (no wifi - but good to be disconnected for a while). The gardens both to the cottage and the grounda per se are absolutely wonderful, and there are many friendly creatures - both real and four-legged, and fantastical statues - to keep you company as you explore.
The pool feels cool but is beautiful and therapeutic, unfortunately we didn't realise that under 5s are not allowed - so parents take note. There is a kitchen adjoining the pool where you can play with under 5s and have a cup of tea.
The cottage has lots of heating options and thoughtful nightlights and torches. It is very cosy and the welcoming cake and jug of milk was much appreciated.
Hananda was wonderful to deal with, so kind and warm, she immediately put us at ease.
We would love to visit again - it is a special place that rejuvenates the soul.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gardens, Hananda, the pool.
Liked least: Our toddler not being able to access the pool.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 26, 2016
We look forward to welcoming our guests back to Raven Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfm2130
Dequincy, Louisiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Wonderful experience!!”
Reviewed October 9, 2016 for a stay in June 2014

Clean, comfortable and wonderful!! This is a quaint cottage located in a quaint little peaceful village in England. We enjoyed an easy walk along the street lined with thatch covered homes businesses.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Visiting with the local people and of course family!!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 18, 2016
We are glad to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay and hope to welcome them back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
573jennif...
Canberra, Australia
1 review
“Charming Cottage in Excellent Location”
Reviewed September 10, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Raven Cottage, while modestly furnished and quaint (maybe some new bed linen and towels needed) is great for a family stay sleeping 5 in 3 bedrooms comfortably with the addition of a pull-out sofa bed if required sleeping a total of 7. With its great location for day trips around Somerset and Dorset it is the perfect spot for a quiet holiday (note: no WiFi or TV). The owners are accommodating and friendly and Queen Camel is a delightful village with a lovely pub (with excellent restaurant) and a small village store close by. Sherborne, the nearest town, has all the necessary facilities and two large supermarkets. We stayed for several weeks and enjoyed it very much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Self catering was not easy - had to purchase some kitchen utensils and crockery for everyday cooking. Bed linen and towels, while plentiful could do with being replaced.
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 13, 2016
We are pleased to hear our guests enjoyed their stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuthSMurp...
1 review
“Beautiful cottage in lovely peaceful surroundings”
Reviewed September 8, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Raven Cottage was lovely. Situated on a quiet country lane in the lovely village of Queen Camel. The cottage is right next to a Self Realization Centre and private swimming pool which we used regularly. The staff are all very accommodating. I would highly recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 9, 2016
Thank you. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing