We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely 2 bed hamstone cottage with use of the...”
other traveler has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The front of the cottage showing the steps down from the parking area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
The front of the cottage showing the steps down from the parking area
The living area through to the kitchen
Twin room
The private, enclosed garden
Wine o'clock yet?....
The front of the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
East Coker, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Susan B
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
905 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
“A lovely 2 bed hamstone cottage with use of the owner's fantastic indoor heated swimming pool.”
Reviewed September 27, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

In a small hamstone South Somerset village on the outskirts of the market town of Yeovil with the coasts south and north within an hour's journey.
A wide choice of restaurants a few miles away in the town.
Several National Trust properties also nearby, notably the Elizabethan Montacute House.
Secluded, quiet and peaceful with the hosts Fiona and Jason discreetly nearby, friendly and welcoming. Chickens and ducks and a hooting owl are the only noises.
The furnishings and bedding is of a high quality and give a good night's sleep.
The indoor pool in the vaulted annex is the USP and we have returned 3 times

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 28, 2017
Thank you for your lovely comments Sue. Great to see you all again and hope to see you again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antcoetze...
East Coker, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Couples Hideaway”
Reviewed June 3, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

If you are looking for an intimate, beautiful and exceptionally well hosted break from the busy life head here! We stayed in "The Little Stable" which is in fact an elegant and thoughtfully converted horses stable. With chickens laying fresh eggs, and two beautiful Greece on your doorstep, there are lovely views to welcome you. The accommodation is superbly cute and intimate with all the mod cons you would expect, oven and hob, dishwasher, washing machine, microwave, coffee maker, TV and retro radio through to underfloor heating for those cooler months. A mezzanine bedroom with luxurious bedding and a compact modern shower room and lounge downstairs all in gorgeous neutral tones awaits! The patio with table and chairs for al fresco dining and sundowners, watching the chickens is an added bonus. There is a large heated indoor pool for those who love a dip and Fiona and Jason are the perfect hosts, always there to give the best tips on local excursions and best places to eat. We visited Hive beach and West Bay which on the superbly stunning Jurassic Coast is only an half an hour drive away through wonderful scenery. We absolutely loved our stay and will without a shadow of a doubt be back...children in tow next time! Thanks Fiona and Jason!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 4, 2017
Thank you so much for choosing to stay here in East Coker and look forward to seeing you again with the children! Delighted you enjoyed your stay so much. Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan B
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
905 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
“A lovely pre Xmas 3 days with small grand daughters giving ever lasting memories”
Reviewed December 20, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We arrived in the village on the pre Xmas Friday at 3 and found the cute cottage up a narrow lane through automatic gates with far reaching countryside views yet a few miles from the busy Somerset market town of Yeovil.
There had been a lot of attention to detail: waiting bottle of wine, huge lemon cake, luxury cereals, eggs from the resident hens ( also toilet roll, hand wash and swimming towels)
The bedding,furnishings, Nespresso coffee maker, dish washer, huge fridge freezer and fluffy white towels added a touch of luxury and we felt welcomed and comfortable.
Every thing felt modern and very clean.
The highlight for the grand daughters ( 5 and 3 ) was the 14 m long indoor pool in the adjacent vaulted building attached to the main house which we were allowed to use from 9 to 12 am 4 to 8 pm- which we used every day .
An abiding priceless memory will be the 5 year old swimming unaided the entire length.
We were also allowed to visit the hens' barn and discovered newly laid eggs
The girls also enjoyed the swing in the main grounds just outside our lounge window.
We had friendly attention from the owners Fiona and Jason and even viewed their new Stable 1 bedroom Cottage .
You booked the 3 night stays fri pm to mon 10 am .and are considering a week lng stay in the summer we enjoyed it so much and I did not get to use the air hockey machine as the girls were too short to play
( any improvements would be minor : a better night light up the steep stairs to the higher level car parking area as I was packing the car late at night.)
The owners are also considering double glazing as there was condensation.
The swimming pool in the evening was a little dark and could do with extra lighting.
I was concerned that my young grand daughters were too excited and noisy as the owners' accommodation is attached and the indoor pool area is large and has a echo that exaggerates the sound and hopefully we will be allowed to return

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 20, 2016
Of course you're allowed to return! It's lovely to her children enjoying the swimming pool. Thank you for choosing to stay here in East Coker and glad you had a lovely time. It was a pleasure to meet you all.

Thank you for letting me know about the lighting going down the steps - I'm sure we can replace the bulbs with brighter ones. Also, I should have thought while you were here - there are lights in the pool which I should have switched on for you. Unfortunately the switch is in the plant room which we have to keep locked to avoid access to chemicals. New windows hopefully this year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynsey J
Cheshire, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed August 23, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Fantastic, we stayed for two weeks in Aug and loved it so much we are going back next year. The cottage is beautiful with lots of thoughtful touches, the hosts are brilliant, friendly and ready to help with anything. The swimming pool is gorgeous. Lots of places to eat near by, close to major supermarkets but feels like the middle of the country. Ideal location for visiting amazing places like cheddar gorge, Glastonbury and importantly some of the most beautiful beaches I've seen

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2016
So pleased you enjoyed your stay here - beaches are beautiful aren't they! Looking forward to seeing you again next year and thank you for choosing to stay here in East Coker
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveUlle...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage, fantastic warm welcome!”
Reviewed June 5, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Stayed with my wife and two kids (8 & 12) for a week and loved the location for exploring the many attractions that are available locally. The cottage is amazing - outstanding attention to detail, very homely and nice to see high quality throughout for a change (furniture, bedding, appliances and even cutlery!), quite often costs are cut back on the little things that spoil the whole experience - not this time!. Swimming pool is a great feature and only a skip away from the front door. What impressed us most was the very warm and personal welcome we received - little things like fresh flowers and home made products make all the difference. We will definitely look to stay and again and would recommend highly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Personal touches in the welcome process
Liked least: Having to pack up and come home again!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 6, 2016
Thank you for leaving this lovely review! Would be great to see you again and so pleased you had a good time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martyn P
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect little country hideaway :)”
Reviewed May 12, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Stayed with my fiancé, her Mum and aunt. It was the first time we had used air b+b so were a liitle unsure what we had booked! Fiona the owner was so helpful, even messaging us directions the week before. When we arrived we were met with Lemon Drizzle cake, a selection of cereals and even wine (Aunt in law was thrilled). The cottage is delightful, well decorated and extremely comfortable. We had access to the indoor swimming pool which was a lovely start to each day. This place is perfect if you want a central base to explore Dorset and Somerset or if you just want to hideaway for a couple of days!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 14, 2016
Hi Martyn, lovely to have you all stay and thank you for leaving the cottage so beautifully! Hope you all had a safe journey back. Kind regards, Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anon550
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage - would stay again”
Reviewed March 24, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

I don't normally post reviews on Trip Advisor, but know there aren't any already here and thought the Cottage really deserved one.

The Cottage itself is beautiful - great standard of furnishings and decorated beautifully. There is a real attention to detail and lovely welcome pack to greet you (including home-made cake, marmalade and gin, as well as fresh eggs and wine to name but a few). There were fresh flowers too and even a copy of the T S Elliot poem about the village - the owners have taken real care with everything. The pool is only meters away - and is a great size and really clean. It is also in a beautiful building with wooden beams - nice to look at if you're doing back-stroke!

The location is good - less than a minute down a country road but away from any noise. Still close to the town though so very accessible. I had day trips to Clarks Shopping Village in Street and also to Exeter, and they were easy drives.

The owners are lovely and welcoming - thank you so much for a great few days. I'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool, scenery, atmosphere - everything!
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 25, 2016
Thank you or your lovely comments - hopefully see you again one day and so pleased you had a relaxing break!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing