We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very happy”
Review of The Helyar Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Helyar Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Coker
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very happy”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Stayed for one night during the week due to business trip. Very comfortable bed and courteous staff.
The bar staff booked a taxi for me and when it did not turn up, they gave me a lift to a nearby village I was going to. That is good service!
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    47
    26
    30
    31
See reviews for
53
92
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Went for Sunday lunch with son and daughter in law. Was looking forward to it as we had been before and enjoyed the food and atmosphere.
I will get straight to point : 2 young girls running show who didn't care two hoots if you had a good experience. The food was awful - we asked for extra gravy and was given half a small cream jug full for 3 of us. When l asked for more they made no comment and eventually came out with about same amount and just said that's the last !
No one asked if meal was ok and in hind sight l should have complained there and then but didn't want my son to feel any worse for taking me there.
No awards for food or service.
Will not return

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stlynda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these East Coker hotels

Farnsfield notts
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a couple of nights. Staff very pleasant but we never saw the same person twice! Everywhere seems a bit tired and lack lustre. Old mouldy tea bag left in teapot in the room along with a full old coffee pot. Happily replaced by the bar man though and a complimentary drink. Very comfy bed but poor shower and towels that smelt a bit musty. We had a good meal at night but disappointingly the log fire was out because they had no logs!!! It was chilly. Breakfasts were very good but didn't really want to be sitting looking right into the kitchen . Just a little thought and care to attention would have made our visit much better. We were charged an extra night as we had had to cancel the previous week as the weather forecasters had told the country NOT to travel to Somerset. Unfortunately when my husband booked initially he was not told about any booking charges that would be incurred due to cancellation. Just come back from a stay in a fabulous hotel in the Lakes...Lyzzic Hall...suggest the Helyar bosses pay it a visit to see how to do things!!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank JaneFarnsfieldnotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Unaware they closed at 3pm luckily we arrived just in time as told after 3 we wouldn't be able to get in until 6pm.
Not even offered a drink
& very poor unhelpful staff except breakfast staff .
Room was cold most of the time as radiator was on a timer not coming on until 6 or7 pm & when on seemed on a low setting.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nrchuckle12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed for a weekend recently on a voucher deal that included an evening meal as well as two nights b&b. We've always enjoyed eating here and the chance to have a drink or two without worrying about getting home again afterwards was too good to miss.
The room, Pincushion, was clean, warm and comfortable and had everything we needed, including some lovely homemade biscuits and a proper coffee cafetiere with a coffee bag to use in it. The ensuite is small but has a decent-sized shower cubicle, although the shower hose seemed to squirt almost as much out the back as came out of the rose.
Our evening meal was a bit hit and miss, with some lovely sharing bread to start, but with rather stale olive oil and a mediocre balsamic to dip it into. Starters were fine although not quite as exciting as they'd sounded on the menu, with the tempura batter on the prawns only just cooked. The main courses were very good -although my husband's steak came out well done instead of medium rare there was no quibble about changing it, only apologies, and the second one was perfect. Desserts were also delicious and we retired for the night feeling very satisfied.
A good night's sleep later we enjoyed a hearty full english breakfast with the tastiest mushrooms I've had for ages, and were well set up for a hard day's work. That went for both mornings.
The specials board sounded so good that we were enticed to eat in the restaurant again on the second evening, even without a deal this time, and we weren't disappointed -this time it was all good.
The menu is much more than standard pub grub, there are some really inspired flavours here, and I could easily eat here for three or four days in a row without having the same meal twice or getting bored. However, sometimes the dishes don't quite come off, which is a pity, it's possible that the chef is trying to juggle too much at once. The prices are on the higher end of the scale, which isn't a problem so long as you can guarantee a perfect meal.
I haven't mentioned service yet, which was always friendly but with varying degrees of professionalism.
Would I stay here again? Yes, definitely, but please fix the shower hose in Pincushion - and the banister rail on the stairs. Would I eat here again? Yes, definitely, but the quality has to reflect the price or the whole point of value for money is lost. The food at the Helyar was always 110% and the first choice for special meals, so it needs to do a lot to live up to its past glories. The competition is snapping at its heels. I hope the team has what it takes to see it off.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megtheminx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We had a very good relaxing break staying here having taken advantage of a good deal offered on the internet. Historic pub and very interesting area to spend a few days. Welcoming staff, clean comfortable room.A nice touch to have good coffee and cafetiere in the room as well as regular teas etc. We were warm but could have had extra heater if we needed it....it is an old , listed building.
Food was very good, as was the service... even though they were busy with a few Xmas party guests. We were happy to eat there both nights of our stay and really enjoyed our meals.
Everyone was having a good time and the atmosphere was very friendly.
We plan to return for a second visit in the spring.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The helyar used to be a fantastic pub with lovely food. Sadly the service is now terrible & the food really very average and the whole time you're made to feel as if the staff couldn't care less! Such a shame..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank george l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Coker
5.3 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
887 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
354 reviews
1.3 mi away
Yeovil Court Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Manor Arms
The Manor Arms
#1 of 1 in North Perrott
54 reviews
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Yeovil Town Centre Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Preston Hotel
The Preston Hotel
#7 of 13 in Yeovil
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Helyar Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Helyar Arms

Property: The Helyar Arms
Address: Moor Lane, East Coker BA22 9JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > East Coker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Coker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Helyar Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An historic 15th century inn at the heart of an idyllic conservation village only three miles from Yeovil. Award-winning food, real ales and over 40 wines by the glass. Large garden, car park and traditional skittle alley. We also provide dining onsite for up to 85 guests in the pub and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Helyar Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Helyar Arms Hotel East Coker
Helyar Arms Yeovil
Helyar Arms Hotel Yeovil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing