We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 Star luxury in the countryside”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lanes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lanes Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Coker
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“5 Star luxury in the countryside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2010

I found this hotel on Tripadvisor and it looked good. Staying there exceeded all expectations. This is a fantastic hotel 10 minutes outside Yeovil. The minute you arrive, you feel totally relaxed. It has a family run feel to it but it is extremely professionally run. My room was in the beautiful original building but was more modern, clean and comfortable than many large 5 star hotels I have stayed in. Service was quick and charming, the restaurant food was fantastic, the lounge and gardens lovely. A hotel & restaurant like this was not what I was expecting in a small Somerset village. If you go, you will be very glad you did, especially if you can get the B&B rate of £90 that I got.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PBond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    85
    14
    7
    1
See reviews for
51
146
17
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South West
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2010

We have just returned from a three night break in this Hotel. Due to the Snow and Ice the hotel was much quieter than usual, but this was perfect for us as we had gone away for a relaxing break. The service and ambience of the hotel was not affected by the fact they were quiet and the staff were all very friendly. They have a games room with a pool table and board games and a lovely bar area. The Spa area is very small but most welcome after a long walk in the snow, they also have a small gym area to use. Dinner was excellent, the standard of food and presentation was a very high standard and if you are on a DBB package you can choose anything at all from the menu. Alison and Pat were extremely attentive (even though they were the only ones who made it into work on one of our nights - apart from the chefs of course). Thanks for a great stay

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lordandladyearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2010

My wife and I had a last minute New Year party cancellation in the area and promptly telephoned the Lanes Hotel and spoke to Allison who although the event was fully subscribed, kindly squeezed us in plus a room for the night.

On approachng the hotel through the gates the first impression you get is is how clean and beautifully manicured the grounds are, with ample parking. Entering the foyer we were warmly greeted by John who kindly took our luggage and offered us refreshments from the bar, having travelled for a couples of hours this was most welcome. On being introduced to Allison, John's wife and other freindly members of the staff it soon became evident that this was going to be one very special evening.

We eventually made the move to our room, witnessing en route, an extremely clean high standard of taste and styling to the decor and then to our room, again, created to a very high standard and immaculately clean.

On our arrival to the pre party drinks, Allison worked tirelessly with her team to create the right atmosphere for the evening, making sure guest were introduced to each other prior to entering the restaurant, as per their seating plan,whilst John and he's team manned the bar very efficently until the early hours.

Needless to say the evening was magnificent success, beautiful food, beautiful wines, beautiful people 'What more can you ask"

We cannot heap enough praise on John, Allison and the entire staff at the Lanes for an evening to be remembered- Thank you

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AS2081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2009

I'm writing this during my visit to Lanes, I'm currently on my gorgeous bed in my fabulous room. My fiancee and I are leaving today after our Christmas break, and we're so sad to be leaving. Our stay has been everything we wanted and more. The room is out of the world, modern but cosy, and spotlessly clean. The food is really very good, everything we've eaten so far has been exceptional. Such a wonderful way to spend Christmas! We are already planning our next Christmas here with friends and family. In fact, a few nights in the summer need to be done, too. Why not? I must also add, the service we've received has been professional and perfectly polite. All the staff seem to be happy to be here - even though they're working Christmas. We're about to check out now, and as I mentioned, we really don't want to leave. Hope to be back at The Lanes soon.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bodrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2009

What a fantastic venue to kiss and make up!!! We stayed in the annex and after a quick cuppa we headed straight for the Spa pool. You felt as if you had the room to yourself despite this being made available to other guests and a small porthole in the door. We reluctantly left the Spa to give other guests a chance and as soon as it was free again, returned! The Sauna was immaculate as was the gorgeous smelling water from the shower in the Spa room. Our room was also immaculate with a beatiful view of the main house and garden made even more beautiful in the morning with the overnight frost. Due to the restaurant having a christmas party we opted to eat out and reception booked this and the taxi for us, however, during the course of the afternoon we decided to remain in our room and the hotel staff were very happy to provide us with a 3 course meal in our room. The food was lovely. We had breakfast in the restaurant where the staff were friendly and the food was fresh and tasty. Really wanted to stay another night.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delightful2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2009

We stayed at the Lanes for the weekend as a group of friend to celebrate a special birthday and had a wonderful time. The Rooms were lovely, clean and well equipped and the ensuite bathroom had a lovely deep bath and power shower was great. We all ate in the restaurant on the Saturday night and the standard of food was very good as was the presentation. The restaurant had a really nice atmosphere and the staff were very friendly and provided good service. The bar and lounge areas were very relaxing and there was generally a good vibe about the whole place. It was also the little touches that made a difference like the free complimentary mini bar in the room and the bowls of sweets all over the hotel that you could help yourself too. We didn't use the spa or gym as didn't have the time but it looked lovely as did the hotel grounds. We all felt this was really a 4* hotel and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone. As we did the autumn deal of Dinner bed and breakfast we also thought it was excellent value for money. We will definately be planning a return visit.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenC67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2009

We stayed at Lanes for a Weekend Break on their dinner inclusive terms in early October.

The website gives the impression of a country house hotel in a small village but, apart from the facade, this is actually a modern, black and white, glass and steel hotel which is almost urban in feel. Don't be put off by this though, as it is far from minimalist. The bedrooms - ours with balcony - are typical of this style but are very comfortable. We stayed in a new building next door to the main hotel (just a few metres away) which houses the spa and some apartments.

The Spa has limited facilities having no swimming pool but we tried the Jacuzzi, sauna and a massage (which was very good and reasonably priced).

On the inclusive rate, you can choose anything you like from the restaurant menu and we found the locally sourced lamb and beef extremely good. The general standard of the food is very high for a hotel at this price level and they were very obliging in respect of my partner's special dietary needs. Service is quite informal but, unusually these days, is provided by English waiting staff.

Overall, we were very happy with the value for money provided. Lanes is very convenient for visiting the various National Trust properties in the area.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sybarite3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Coker
1.1 mi away
Yeovil Court Hotel & Restaurant
5.0 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Hollies Hotel
The Hollies Hotel
#1 of 2 in Martock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Yeovil Town Centre Hotel
2.7 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#10 of 13 in Yeovil
3.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
6.7 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanes Hotel

Property: Lanes Hotel
Address: High Street, West Coker, Yeovil BA22 9AJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil > West Coker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Coker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lanes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary boutique hotel in a traditional hamstone building. Beautiful grounds with friendly goats on their own island. Modern Brasserie restaurant. A Somerset cider list complements a well chosen wine list. Spa & gym. Perfect location for the Royal Navy Fleet Air Arm Museum as well as stopovers to and from Devon & Cornwall. Book direct at our website. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotel.de, HRS and LateRooms so you can book your Lanes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanes Hotel West Coker, Somerset, UK
Lanes Hotel Yeovil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing