We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming country hotel”
Review of Lanes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lanes Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Coker
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Charming country hotel”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I stayed for 1 night with my husband at the Lanes Hotel in West Coker in May 2013. The public areas of the hotel are clean and well maintained and full of modern art. Our room was in the annex and very quiet. The bed was very comfortable, and the room clean and modern, but it's all the extras that make this hotel so special. Things like the hospitality tray and complimentary mini bar in our room, the complimentary hot drinks machine in the corridor, a computer for guests to use plus free wifi that really make this hotel so charming. There is so much attention to detail throughout the hotel and the service from the staff is excellent. The owners are very accommodating - we actually arrived earlier than we had anticipated but this was not a problem and we were shown straight to our room. We used the jacuzzi and the sauna but not the gym. Bath robes are provided in the room and clean towels available in the spa. There is also a charming, well manicured garden with outdoor seating and a croquet set.
The hotel bar is always buzzing on a Saturday evening. Generally the food at dinner was good, although there was room for improvement (but only slightly) with some of the dishes. Breakfast is cooked to order and there is also a buffet of cereals, home made fruit compote and yogurts plus breads and pastries to choose from. Breakfast is served from 8.30am to 10am at the weekend, although I do feel it would be nice if it was until 10.30am on a Saturday and Sunday.
This was our fourth stay at the hotel and it's just perfect for a romantic getaway in the country.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loulou070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    86
    17
    8
    2
See reviews for
52
152
18
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I stayed here with my husband for 2 nights in March 2013. We had a room in the Building Next Door to the main building which was really nice. There was a small pool and sauna and a spa in our building and the bar and restaurant in the main building. Worked well as meant our rooms were very quiet.

Rooms were spacious and comfortable and clean.

The food was ok but not amazing but the bar was nice and staff friendly.

We had booked a manicure and pedicure in advance but the lady in the spa had got the booking wrong so we only got a manicure. We were ok with this but the lady in the spa could have been more appologetic but was instead a bit rude.

I recommend to stay here for a night away or a special occation perhaps even weddings.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karolin1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This hotel is a blend of old and new. The rooms are modern and functional with a hint of chic - very clean and well maintained, as is the whole hotel. The owners are very hands on and super friendly and efficient. Restaurant was pretty good too and breakfast had a good selection with hot options as well as continental. Would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We had a very comfortable stay for one night in April 2013. We were offered a large suite in the modern annexe which was perfect for a couple with one or two children. The staff were generally very welcoming, and made a big fuss of our 18 month old. I was especially impressed by the restaurant - hotel food too often relies on the 'captive audience' but our meals were delicious.
The only disappointment was that although we arrived for breakfast at 8.30, the hotel was hosting a car rally and the participants had been through the buffet like a plague of locusts.
All in all a great place to stay - we hope to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alpha67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed here on stopover , lovely modern hotel, lovely bar area , deep sofas , light and airy. Fantastic restaurant food and great choice for breakfast. Booked last minute and paid £140 including dinner and breakfast, really good value and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Did not use the spa , swimming pool but looked very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaun R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east coast
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My family and I met up at The Lanes for a get together one afternoon. The staff were really helpful, and let us use a private sitting room for our meeting. Nothing was too much trouble, including copious supplies of coffee and photocopying documents for us. I stayed the night and had a very pleasant room in the new annex. The room was large, airy and nicely decorated with a comfortable double bed, good usable furnishings, mini bar with complimentary drinks (soft!) and coffe making facilities. There was free wi-fi throughout the hotel but it only worked intermittently. Still, it was enough for one night but had I been there longer, I would have mentioned it. Good large modern bathroom with about the most powerful shower I have had. It was great but did spray quite a bit of water on the floor. It was very quiet. I ate in the restaurant - the service was a little slow but I think they had a large private party to look after. Nice tappas and a good range of wines by the glass. The management and staff were great and though I probably shouldn't say so, it was a pleasant change to find they were all Brits rather than the usual eastern Europeans! All in all, a good find There was a good looking spa but I didn't have time to use it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bubblesEastCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed here for one night with my husband. From the moment we arrived we knew it was going to be special. The staff are always smiling and obviously enjoy their jobs.
The rooms have been well thought out. The food is excellent.
If you are visiting South Somerset you have to stay at this hotel and ensure you eat at Lanes too. You will not be disappointed.

The large bowl of jelly babies in the foyer was a lovely touch.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AntiqKazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Coker
1.0 mi away
Yeovil Court Hotel & Restaurant
5.1 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
253 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Hollies Hotel
The Hollies Hotel
#1 of 2 in Martock
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
902 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#10 of 13 in Yeovil
562 reviews
5.9 mi away
Northover Manor Hotel
Northover Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ilchester
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanes Hotel

Property: Lanes Hotel
Address: High Street, West Coker, Yeovil BA22 9AJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil > West Coker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Coker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lanes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BOOK DIRECT for best rate available. A contemporary boutique hotel in a traditional hamstone building. Beautiful grounds with friendly goats on their own island. Modern Brasserie restaurant. A Somerset cider list complements a well chosen wine list. Spa & gym. Perfect location for the Royal Navy Fleet Air Arm Museum as well as stopovers to and from Devon & Cornwall. For best available rate: book direct at our website. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lanes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanes Hotel West Coker, Somerset, UK
Lanes Hotel Yeovil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing