We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location”
other traveler has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Peyzac-le-Moustier, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Brigstock
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed June 18, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Just returned from a week in the Walnut Store. Lovely property in great location far enough away from the busy tourist spots, but very easy to get to all the places you need to see when visiting the Dordogne. Beautiful area - great for birdwatchers. The property is very attractive with nice furnishings and very comfortable large bed (which can be twin beds). The swimming pool looked very inviting - although the weather wasn't quite warm enough for us to try it. Hosts Paul and Philippa were extremely helpful and went out of their way to ensure we enjoyed our stay. I would thoroughly recommend this property - I have already recommended it to friends and, hopefully, we shall return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, grounds, views, hosts and area
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa K
1 review
“Quaint, roomy cottage in convenient location.”
Reviewed May 30, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The pictures on website do not do this cottage justice. Tastefully decorated and a well equipped kitchen. Paul and Phillipa were excellent hosts. Very gracious and helpful. Knowledgable about the area with tips for visiting attractions. We felt at home and would highly recommend the property to friends and family. Its situated in a rural area but 5min drive to town or 25min to Sarlat de Caneda. Convenient without being in a major centre. It was immaculate and the bottle of wine and walnuts were a nice touch.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The roominess.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinkersjd
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and convenient accommodation to use as a base to explore the Dordogne”
Reviewed November 9, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Philippa and Paul were wonderful hosts and the Walnut Store was like a home away from home and such a central and convenient location from which we able to explore the beautiful villages of the Dordogne.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendly and helpful hosts
Liked least: All good no down side
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 11, 2015
Thank you for the lovely review. We are always happy to know that our guests have enjoyed their stay and enjoyed the area too. We hope you will be able to return at some point in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjwebster...
Sidcup, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thoroughly Enjoyable”
Reviewed October 5, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

During our stay in August 2015, we had glorious weather and during the day we spent a great amount of time in the beautiful and well maintained pool.

In the mornings, after buying our fresh croissants from the local boulangerie, we used to enjoy eating them over looking the scenic views outside our bedroom.

Our days were filled with the numerous places and sites to visit. Our 22km canoeing trip down the River Vezere was definitely the best.

In the evenings we liked to try a different recommended restaurant. Each one we went to was lovely.

The Walnuts is a lovely accommodation with everything we needed. It is beautifully decorated in a French and rustic style.

Philippa and Paul are excellent owners and were constantly on hand. They are very approachable and full of wonderful advice on where to go and what to see.

We will definitely be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryuji S
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful and Restful Stay”
Reviewed August 12, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We love to stay in a vacation rental hosted by persons who care about their place and who take pride in giving maximum pleasure to their guests. Paul and Philippa welcomed us warmly and made sure that each of our vacation day was pleasurable. The room, the Walnut House, was spacious and comfortable.
The location was perfect to reach many beautiful sights in the Dordogne area.
We had a wonderful time.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane3...
Grenoble, France
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Marvellous stay”
Reviewed July 27, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

It was a wonderful time ; Dordogne is a magnificent place, the gite is very comfortable and the owners very nice. The swimming-pool was specially pleasant with the hot weather.

A french couple.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeP88...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful spot to focus on this beautiful part of the World!”
Reviewed June 26, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Our stay was assisted by perfect weather and a wonderful group of fellow travellers. This was complemented by hosts who willingly shared their knowledge of the area and did everything possible to make sure our stay was one to remember! We took in the main attractions (loved the market at Sarlat!) and enjoyed a wonderful evening where our hosts enabled a gathering of all guests where we had the opportunity of swapping stories and enjoying the local wines. Do yourself a favour and make use of Paul and Philippa's place if you intend visiting the Dordogne!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly hosts
Liked least: Our stay was too short!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing