We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hard to imagine anything better”
La Roque Terrace wonderful gite for two
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
La Roque Terrace wonderful gite for two
Sunny living room and kitchen Dining for two in La Roque Terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
La Roque Terrace wonderful gite for two
Sunny living room and kitchen
Dining for two in La Roque Terrace
La Roque Terrasse - light and airy gite for two
Gite swimming for cooling off after a day's sight seeing
You can see Roque St Christophe from the kitchen - what a view when you are cooking.
View of Roque Saint Christophe from your gite
Wet-room accessible for everyone
Swimming pool with view of Roque St Christophe
Open field at the side of the gites with view to Roque Saint Christophe
Walnut harvest at Le Manoir des Granges - one of the main selling points of the area
Saturday market in Sarlat
Walking in the Valley of the Vezere
St Leon sur Vezere
Goose farm in Tursac - Foie Gras is the staple ingredient on most menus
Canoeing in St Leon sur Vezere
Canoeing on the River Vezere
Cycling on the Voie Verte
Pony trekking in the Vezere Valley
Roque Saint Christophe - a World Heritage Site - so important in the history of pre-history
Montignac - a beautiful, traditional, French market town
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Peyzac-le-Moustier, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
KimolosMi...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hard to imagine anything better”
Reviewed June 12, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Le Manoir des Granges is in the ideal location for exploring the Dordogne. We stayed in this gite for a week and used it as a base. It has everything you might want, is comfortable and very clean, and is run by the most pleasant and helpful hosts you will find. Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 13, 2017
Thank you for your lovely comments, you are very kind. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and that you were comfortable.
We hope you will be able to return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perthgirl...
kelmscott
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely restored stone cottage”
Reviewed May 18, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We had a lovely stay in Roque cottage. Paul and Philipa were great hosts very friendly and knowledgable about the local area. From booking the cottage to our arrival they were always in touch. It is very clean and comfortable with all the amenities you need. The cottage is well equipped. The view to Roque St Christophe was lovely especially at night when the lights are on. The surrounding area is great with some very lovely villages. We walked along the river and around the village. There is a small shop a bakery and a nice restaurant which we ate at one night. Lovely food and owners. There are a couple of big supermarkets about 10 minutes drive away for all your supplies. Didn't get to use the swimming pool as the weather wasn't warm enough but it looked lovely and clean. Good caravan park just down the road with a pub that has Happy Hour with half price drinks every night (we made use of that) You really need a car or bike to get the most out of this area. We loved it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sada60
Corsham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay!”
Reviewed August 10, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stay at Roque Terrace in July'15 and had a very comfortable, relaxed holiday. The gite has wonderful views from the living-room and terrace and we spent a lot of time sitting on the decked terrace and simply gazing at the view of the St. Christophe caves in the cliffs the other side of the river Vezere. The river itself is only a two minute walk away through a field opposite the gite, and it was lovely to take a stroll along its' banks in the evening when the heat of the day cooled down.
The gite is comfortable and very well equipped, nothing lacking that we can think of, perfect for two people. We were also very grateful for the ceiling fans in the living area and bedroom which kept us comfortable during our stay when temperatures were in the high 30's at times! The shared pool was a godsend given the temperatures, we didn't initially think we would use it, but there were always times during the day or evening when it was quiet and we could have it to ourselves!
Most of all, Paul and Philippa are excellent hosts; welcoming and friendly, but not at all intrusive, and are always ready to help with suggestions, advice etc. if needed.
All in all we would highly recommend this holiday gite, have done so already, and when we next find ourselves back in the Dordogne this is the place where we would choose to stay again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The position of the gite with the views
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynno63
Danbury, Wisconsin
1 review
“A vacation from our vacation”
Reviewed November 5, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This was a perfect accessible Gite for us. With a well equipped kitchen complete with oven, we were able to eat in and use local ingredients; meats, vegetables, fruits and of course, the local wine. Being history buffs, we relished all of the prehistory locations but realized we only scratched the surface. Paul and Phillipa were superb hosts and soo helpful and knowledgable of the area. We look forward to returning in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View from our windows and deck.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally173
Stresa, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“French experience with British charm”
Reviewed August 8, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

So think of Devon think of Wales banish the clouds and imagine a pool you can use because its warm enough-this is the perfect place. Sometimes you want both familiarity and different it's here in equal measures with a foreground of a UNESCO world heritage centre opposite- beats twitching caravan curtains. Phillipa and Paul are knowledgeable but non intrusive so if you have a question they will offer an opinion otherwise you are able to sample the very best of rural France and oh is it old with the luxury of their hospitality with tremendous attention to detail. We always say we never go back but oh we would its a haven. Wonderful because its so relaxing. If you stay awake beyond dark ( mid summer) listen to the toads chorus from the river there are two types we thought.......

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonderful setting
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian G
Busselton, Australia
1 review
“An outstanding holiday in excellent accomodation”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We really enjoyed our time in Le Roque Terrace. Paul and Phillipa were the perfect hosts and nothing was too much trouble for them. They went out of their way to help us and it was a home away from home.The location was everything we wanted from a holiday in the south of France. We enjoy walking and the French countryside was ideal. Restaurants were close by as were canoes and access to bikes and some of the most beautiful and ancient ruins in the world.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The relaxed and friendly atmosphere
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 31, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location, friendly owners, ideal for two.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing