We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxed,comfortable and interesting”
Sunny living room and kitchen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunny living room and kitchen
La Roque Terrace wonderful gite for two Dining for two in La Roque Terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Sunny living room and kitchen
La Roque Terrace wonderful gite for two
Dining for two in La Roque Terrace
La Roque Terrasse - light and airy gite for two
Gite swimming for cooling off after a day's sight seeing
You can see Roque St Christophe from the kitchen - what a view when you are cooking.
View of Roque Saint Christophe from your gite
Ornate French double bed
Lovely bedroom in La Roque Terrace
Wet-room accessible for everyone
Swimming pool with view of Roque St Christophe
Walnut harvest at Le Manoir des Granges - one of the main selling points of the area
Saturday market in Sarlat
Walking in the Valley of the Vezere
St Leon sur Vezere
Goose farm in Tursac - Foie Gras is the staple ingredient on most menus
Canoeing in St Leon sur Vezere
Canoeing on the River Vezere
Cycling on the Voie Verte
Pony trekking in the Vezere Valley
Roque Saint Christophe - a World Heritage Site - so important in the history of pre-history
Montignac - a beautiful, traditional, French market town
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Peyzac-le-Moustier, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 31, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location, friendly owners, ideal for two.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
gregbelfa...
belfast
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing and peaceful”
Reviewed July 30, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Le Roque Terrace is an ideal base for the Dordogne. The gite is very comfortable and clean, with the added attraction of a shared pool. Paul and Phillippa were excellent hosts. They provided maps for our walking trips, and good advice for the local attractions (gardens and caves). We had not been to the Dordogne before but enjoyed it very much. St Leon is a lovely village with nice restaurants. We also enjoyed Les Eyzies (riverside walk) and Sarlat (Saturday market). The local restaurant and boulangerie in Le Moustier were both excellent. Beynac and the surrounding area are well worth visiting. Next time we will get to Rocamadour.
If you are travelling to this area I would highly recommend Le Roque Terrace - you will not be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Evenings on the terrace - barbecue with wine.
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossandKi...
Canberra, Australia
1 review
“A great, friendly and comfortable place from which to explore the Dordogne”
Reviewed June 29, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Almost on arrival at Le Roque Terrace we felt in a "home away from home". The gite was everything we needed. It has excellent facilities for travellers ( good kitchen, bathroom and laundry facilities , wifi internet, good television choices and easy parking and road access.) It was a pleasure to return to the Terrace at the end of each day. The property is an ideal base for exploring the Dordogne and Vezere valleys and has good access to larger towns such as Sarlat, is close to excellent villages such as St-Leon-su-Vezere, and good access to Lascaux caves and the Valle de L'Homme. The property has direct views to La Roque Saint Christophe and easy access to riverside walks. Nearby towns and villages offer broader services and excellent eating choices. It was a genuine pleasure to spend our week in this part of France at Le Roque Terrace.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Philippa and Paul Ward are excellent hosts, were interested in our travel and gave us excellent service throughout the stay, doing so with efficiency, good humour and tailored advice for our specific needs.
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BathHelen...
Bath
1 review
“The Vezere - not the Dordogne!”
Reviewed April 27, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

Staying in Le Roque Terrace was lovely. I've never stayed in a gite before and was a little disheartened by reviews that I had read about many of them. I was on my own, having lost my husband two months previously and needed somewhere quiet but accessible. This fitted the bill brilliantly.

Five minutes walk from the little village of Peyzac le Moustier, with its boulangerie and great little bar, Le Roque faces a main but relatively quiet road running parallel to the lovely River Vezere. On waking, I could stand at the French windows and view the stunning Roque St Christophe, just over the river, and wait for the sun to beat down on the wooden terrace.

I explored the region, visiting well known spots along the Dordogne, but it was always good to come back to Peyzac. It is a great place to be based - lovely Saint Leon a couple of miles down the river, the beautiful little town of Montargnac.

The owners, Paul and Philippa Ward, could not have been more welcoming and helpful, and the gite itself was extremely clean, well laid out, equipped and comfortable. It was more than enough for one person - two people would find it spacious.

I will return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The accommodation
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 11, 2012
Thank you very much for the lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Just one small correction for future visitors - we are based in the village of Le Moustier although our postal address is indeed Peyzac le Moustier. This is a very common mistake!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A
Wetherby, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a superb location”
Reviewed April 27, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

We have just returned from a week's stay in the gite - La Roque Terasse. Clean, spacious and with a fantastic view of La Roque Saint-Christophe, it was just right for the two of us. Paul and Philippa were charming hosts and couldn't be more helpful. We shall certainly be going back - probably for a longer stay next time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hosts' knowledge of the area and places to visit
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 11, 2012
Thank you for the lovely comments. We hope the weather will be better for any future visits!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lilou3414...
Lieuran-les-Beziers, France
2 reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2012 for a stay in December 2012
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 12, 2012
Vous êtes très gentil - merci
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$58
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an inquiry to the owner using the above make inquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Payment Protection
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing