We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“One Great Gite!”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Haybarn - light and spacious interior, perfect space for two people
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Haybarn - light and spacious interior, perfect space for two people
View from the haybarn Terrace A spacious living/dining room in the Haybarn
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
19 reviews
The Haybarn - light and spacious interior, perfect space for two people
View from the haybarn Terrace
A spacious living/dining room in the Haybarn
The Haybarn - Light and spacious with the original wooden beams
Living room and kitchen
Dining a deux
Cosy wood burner for cooler nights in by the fire
The king sized bed that's been described as 'like being hugged to sleep by a giant marshmallow'!
The Haybarn bedroom with en-suite bathroom
Bedroom to living room
View from the Bedroom window
Glass of red anyone?!
Saturday market in Sarlat
St Leon sur Vezere
Canoeing from Saint Leon sur Vezere
Canoeing on the River Vezere
Cycling on the Voie Verte from Sarlat
View of Le roque St Christophe from Les Granges
Nearby Chateau de Losse
Roque Gageac and the river Dordogne
Wine festival St Emilion
Jardin d'Eyringnac
Pony trekking in 'la vallée des hommes'
La Roque Saint Christophe - pre-history at it's very best is just across the river
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Peyzac-le-Moustier, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
raymond b
Brechin, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“One Great Gite!”
Reviewed January 5, 2014 for a stay in September 2013

Paul and Philippa were welcoming, knowledgable, accommodating and helpful. They helped us to be well set to start before we even arrived in several ways, including booking a reservation at the closest restaurant for our first delicious meal. (Then they also assisted us by booking a hotel and suggesting more good restaurants for our next destination.) Their suggestions for meals in nearby restaurants were appreciated as they were all accurate and well enjoyed. The gite was spacious, comfortable and nicely decorated. Everything we needed was provided. The location was close to all of the medieaval castles, rivers and other sites we were interested in. Within 800 metres of our gite was a series of caves dating back 55 thousand years. These caves could be seen from the gite. We feel our stay was even better than anticipated in every way!!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dimark09
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Delightful cottage in a great location”
Reviewed November 11, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We spent 5 nights at the Haybarn and thoroughly enjoyed our time. The cottage is spacious and well equipped for a self catering holiday. The website pictures accurately depict the property and its facilities. Paul and Philippa are warm and generous hosts who gave us some very good advice about local attractions and restaurants, and Philippa's walnut cake was delicious! The location is great as it is near enough to the small town of Montignac with supermarkets and other shops but is in a tranquil setting near the Vezere river with a view to La-Roque-Saint-Christophe. It is a perfect base for exploring the villages of the Dordogne. We highly recommend this property.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy G
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Relaxing holiday in a wonderful setting.”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

An excellent location for visiting the Dordogne, particularly if you enjoy walking as there are numerous lovely walks within easy reach of the property. A very comfortable gite, well appointed. with a beautiful view of Roc Christophe . A private terrace for eating and sunbathing, but easy access to the pool. The owners were very friendly and helpful and made our stay most enjoyable. Would definitely go back there.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: excellent location walking and sightseeing in the area.
Liked least: There wasn't anything that bothered us.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trick62
Hants
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect Honeymoon”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We stayed at The Haybarn for the last two weeks of June and it was everything we were hoping for (except maybe the weather for the first week).
From the moment we arrived we were made to feel at home and very welcome by our hosts, Paul and Philippa, who were very generous with their time and answered many of our questions on things to do.
As this was our Honeymoon, Paul and Philippa had thoughtfully and very kindly left us a bottle of bubbly and a vase of beautiful flowers from their garden. Philippa also gave us a piece of her homemade Walnut cake, which was delicious (we were given the recipe).
The Gite is one of four converted barns, the Haybarn benefits from having its own secluded sun terrace with easy access to the swimming pool and the interior is very comfortable with all amenities we required for our stay.
The Gite is situated in an area of outstanding beauty and historical significance e.g. Le Roc St. Christophe can be viewed from the bedroom window and is a 15-minute leisurely walk away.
It is an ideal base to explore the Dordogne Region, from doing many of the beautiful walks from the Gite to exploring further afield.
Highlights:
St.Leon-Sur-Vezere, pretty village with 2 good restaurants and canoeing.
Domme, on the River Dordogne, beautiful old town
Rocamadour, amazing
Lascaux Caves, Montgnac
River Cruise from La Roque-Gageac on the Dordogne lasts about 50 mins and is very informative, beautiful scenery.
Visiting the Grand Mayne vineyard in he Douras region, very interesting tour and good wine, ask Paul & Philippa, they will book it for you.
Canoeing, we canoed down the Vezere from Montignac to St Leon-Sur-Vezere which took about 3 hours but we did go very slowly and pulled over to the bank. It was very peaceful and relaxing, we were given a GPS, which informed us of the history of the Vezere and sites of interest, the company we used was based in St Leon-Sur-Vezere, we loved this.
The village of Peyzac Le Moustier has a Boulangerie which we walked to every morning (5 mins) to get our pastries and a very good Auberge, we ate there a few of times and it was very good every time.
We thoroughly recommend this and so does our dog, who was made to feel welcome were ever we went.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The Location
Liked least: Weather(first week)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David T
Bromley, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Haybarn is a superb holiday home. Paul and Philippa are perfect hosts”
Reviewed May 20, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We had a thoroughly enjoyable and energetic holiday, based in this beautiful and very comfortable gite. Only the weather left something to be desired, and there were more steep hills than we'd really like to cycle up...
Paul and Philippa were perfect hosts, providing whatever we needed: information; fresh eggs; and home-baked walnut cake (that was delicious!).
So many interesting places were within easy reach, not forgetting the amazing Roque right opposite.
Great cycles, great walks, pre-history, beautiful towns and villages, two magnificent rivers, good local wine... What could be better?
Thoroughly relaxing. The Haybarn is a superb holiday home. The classical music with my coffee and cross-stitching was a daily ritual. My legs struggled with some of the hills, but we followed the old railway line from Sarlat to Souillac which was flat and more enjoyable cycling.
A marvelous holiday: Philippa and Paul, you have a wonderful place here in the Dordogne.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Comfort
Liked least: A bit cold, without the fire lit
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine...
California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Jewel of the Dordogne”
Reviewed January 11, 2013 for a stay in November 2012

We first stayed in this charming gite in 2009 and loved everything about it. The new owners have made a delightful rental even better. They made subtle improvements in things like the appliances which made our stay perfect. The rooms are beautifully decorated in blues and reds with interesting antique pieces that work wonderfully with the limestone walls and the high beamed ceilings. The view from the living room and bedroom windows of the amazing La Roque Saint Christophe is fascinating at any time of the day. The kitchen is very well-equipped with every pot, pan and tool one needs for preparing meals. The bed and linens were of very good quality. There is ample storage for clothes and such. Wi-fi is a nice bonus as is the cable TV.
The location is superb. It is close to a village with a boulangerie and very good restaurant. Not too many kilometres away is the major market center of Montignac. It is a very quick trip to Les Ezies and the prehistoric caves and world class museum of Paleolithic art and artifacts. There are numerous very good restaurants within a short drive.
The very best reason to stay here is that the new owners are two of the nicest, most hospitable people one could ever meet. If ever people were born to be innkeepers it is the Wards. They made us feel so welcome the moment we arrived. Everything we needed was supplied with a smile. They know the area very well. We turned to them almost daily for recommendations on restaurants, shopping and things to see. We were sad to wave good-bye on our last day and we look forward to returning this year for another week or longer stay.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: the owners are the best innkeepers one could wish for
Liked least: nothing...we love this place and plan to stay there again and again!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarineEri...
Clermont-Ferrand, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
Google Translation
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$58
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an inquiry to the owner using the above make inquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Payment Protection
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing