We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lived up to all expectations”
other traveler has booked this property
6 bedroom house for 12 people in the Dordogne. Le Manoir des Granges
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
6 bedroom house for 12 people in the Dordogne. Le Manoir des Granges
Outside eating at Le Manoir des Granges. Large patio with seating for up to 18 people
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
6 bedroom house for 12 people in the Dordogne. Le Manoir des Granges
Outside eating at Le Manoir des Granges.
Large patio with seating for up to 18 people
Swimming pool and garden Main House
Table tennis
Dining area with seating for 12
Kitchen in the Main House
Living room in Main House
Living room in Main House
Living room, Main House
Library - pick a book and relax
Beautiful original stone staircase
Ornate French double bed
King size bed on first floor
View of Roque Saint Christophe
Friends can share the yellow room
Ariel view of Le Manoir des Granges in the Vezere Valley
Spring at Le Manoir des Granges
Canoeing on the River Vezere
Cycling on the Voie Verte - Sarlat to Grolejac
Le Roque St Christophe opposite Le Manoir des Granges
Horse riding in the Vezere Valley (with Roque Saint Christophe in the background!)
Museum of prehistory at Les Eyzies
Nearby Chateau de Losse
A different view from Forte Reignac
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Peyzac-le-Moustier, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Lucy64201...
Zug, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lived up to all expectations”
Reviewed September 7, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We took the whole property (less Paul and Philippa's gite) for 3 weeks, and had 19 guests aged 12 to 79, friends and family. The setting was perfect -- so relaxing. The house is well equipped; I had taken a few things from the kitchen at home, but there was enough without. Wifi ensures the teens are never too far from their friends at home! There was lots to see and do for those who wanted to be active, but space to find somewhere quiet to relax for those who needed to. The village shop is less than 5 minutes' walk away and does lovely fresh bread, croissants and pain-au-chocolat! The village restaurant is a little further on; great when no-one feels like cooking or driving. Paul and Philippa were great hosts -- there to answer questions and sort problems when needed, but it felt like 'our home' for the 3 weeks. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House + gites allowed people space
Liked least: most activities required a car to access
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley C
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ideal location”
Reviewed August 6, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

In June 2014 a group of eight of us enjoyed a week in the main house at Le Manoir des Granges. It suited us perfectly and we used all six bedrooms, which are very comfortable and well equipped, as is the rest of this lovely house. It is situated in the most beautiful spot, right opposite Roque St. Christophe, and we had daily flying displays from the peregrine falcons which were nesting there, as well as being serenaded every night by the nightingales in the woods nearby. The weather was just about perfect and the pool so inviting that we didn’t see nearly as many of the local attractions, of which there are a plethora, as we had intended. We did manage to visit a couple of the wonderful local markets, Rocamadour – not to be missed, and various caves and gardens in the vicinity. We also enjoyed an idyllic and delicious lunch at Le Dejeuner sur l’Herbe on the banks of the river at St. Leon sur Vezere. There was so much to see and do in fact, the house was so comfortable, and Paul and Philippa so welcoming and helpful, that we have just booked in again for another week next June, and we can’t wait!
David & Shirley Cuthbertson, Tim & Celia Edwards, David & Jean Roberts, Penny Pearce and Helena Wright, Shilton, Oxfordshire, UK

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: We didn't dislik anything
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayleycha...
Chicago
1 review
“Wonderful French country charm in beautiful tucked away Dordogne”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We first booked one of the smaller gite guesthouses at Le Manoir des Granges, but shortly after Philippa contacted us and offered to upgrade us to the main house for the same price (they had a large group that wanted multiple smaller gites.) So that was a pleasant way to start our interaction!

My wife and I were traveling with our two toddler daughters and my parents. We were extremely pleased with the house from the moment we arrived. The exterior of the house is gorgeously maintained. There is a large old cast iron gate enclosing a garden/patio/yard that seems meticulously manicured with flowers and shrubs. The yard is fully enclosed which allowed the kids to play freely without us worrying about them wandering off. There is a second fully enclosed area with a lovely pool. While it was still too cool to swim while we were there, the kids still enjoyed wading in the pools steps. In warm weather the pool area would be an amazing place to relax. The patio has a large table where we ate every lunch and dinner. It looks out onto troglodyte dwelling on the opposite side of a large field and river, and was a wonderfully calm and picturesque place to eat or have a glass of wine.

The interior of the house is charming, comfortable and very well maintained. There's an enormous kitchen/dining room, we cooked there a few times and were very happy with it. The living room is comfortable and well decorated, and was decked out with a stereo, TV, dvd player and nice book collection. We made use of all of these at one time or another whether it was my mom perusing books about the area or the kids watching a movie before bed.

The upstairs bedroom and bathrooms were very comfortable and clean, nothing over the top yet totally sufficient.

We had one or two minor maintenance issues when we were there (it's an old farmhouse, so these things are expected), and Paul was basically at the house instantly and the issues were resolved within 24 hours. We were very pleased with how attentive both Philippa and Paul were. We'd ask for a recommendation on a restaurant, and within 5 minutes Philippa would have a reservation made for us (good suggestions, too!).

So, all in all, out stay here exceeded our expectations and I am sure if we visit Dordogne again this is the only place we will think to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting, the garden/patio, the first floor of the house
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afua1
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely, traditional house in semi-rural location, perfect for chillaxing in the beautiful dordorgne .”
Reviewed October 7, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Would highly recommend . Owners fabulous very hospitable and helpful. House beautiful, very traditional full of character. Pool facilities great , perfect for family fun . If I was to say something not 100% positive, our bed was not the most comfortable but I got used to it!! Minor point and didn't spoil what was a fantastic week. Would definitely return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 20, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review and for bringing the bed to our attention. We are sorry that you found it uncomfortable. We always encourage people to tell us of any problems whilst they are here, that way we can try to rectify the issue. We will check the bed to see if it is a problem with the mattress. We hope it will not put you off visiting us again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky L
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great house in a lovely location”
Reviewed October 3, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Our group was made up of two families, which included 7 teenagers. We found the house very comfortable and well equipped, and made good use of the pool. We also enjoyed the great view out of the front of the house of Le Roq St. Christoph. Philippa and Paul were very welcoming, and readily on hand for any advice about the house or surrounding area. We thouroughly enjoyed our week - thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
designerp...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent property in an excellent location with very helpful owners.”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

This was the third time we have visited Le Manoir des Granges and this time our visit was even more enjoyable. Philippa and Paul have updated and improved the house and are excellent on site hosts. The house is perfectly situated by the River Vezere where one can enjoy walking, kayaking, exploring the many historic sites in the area or just lazing by the pool. Philippa and Paul are helpful, friendly and always on hand to offer advice and suggestions to further improve the holiday experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Excellent location and helpful owners.
Liked least: Lack of air conditioning
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xprof
Santa Barbara CA
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“The best Gîte ever!”
Reviewed May 17, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We had a lovely stay in the Haybarn, the most comfortable gîte we have ever rented,in the finest location, and with the nicest owners. We have stayed in many gîtes, and this is the one to which we will return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the charming location
Liked least: not a darn thing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing