We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Staff and first class meals and great location make up for travel lodge type rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Cristallo
GreenLeadersSilver level
clwyd
Level Contributor
125 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Excellent Staff and first class meals and great location make up for travel lodge type rooms”
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Set just two miles south of historic Mantova, the hotel is set on a roundabout near to the main regional autostrada. Fantastic staff, helpful in all ways this hotel has excellent evening meals and great breakfasts. Free parking, good lifts and a range of nearby and walkable eating places in the village add to its pull. The rooms are big and clean but the bathrooms have no shelving, poor mirrors and the toilets are set almost in the very poor showers. Good news for those concerned on reviews about the swimming pool - is that it is being renovated but the low quality a/c is still in need of am upgrade
In all a very good value hotel and worth a visit . Staff bendigedig a brecwast/cinio da mewn gwesty pedwar seren. Parcio di dal ac agos ir dinas hanesyddol. Safle bws agos ir gwesty. Prisiau rhrsymol Iawn trwy compari web sites.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardClwyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    197
    65
    10
    6
See reviews for
67
163
11
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Honesty four star hotels with an interessant restaurant. Clean rooms. 3 kilometers by center of Mantua and bus service stops at 8 pm. Good service. Attention for the pool, generally closed. In the restraurant ask for typical dishes, are better than the ther one

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

My wife and I booked one night in the Best Western Hotel Cristallo for a visit to Mantova. Although the hotel was about 10 minutes drive from Mantova, we chose it because it advertised a pool among its amenities and we enjoy swimming. However, on arrival we were informed by the receptionist that the pool was closed because the water was cold and because of debris in the pool. We stated that cold water (surely on 1 September in Italy not THAT cold!!) would not deter us, but the receptionist stated that the manager had decided that the pool was closed. We highlighted that if the pool could not be guaranteed in 'adverse' weather that the 4* hotel should state this fact on its website as we would certainly have booked elsewhere had we known beforehand. Eventually we persuaded the staff to allow us to swim, but there was a lot of tree debris in the pool. I asked reception whether a pool cleaner could clean the pool before our next swim the following morning and was advised that this would not occur before at least 08H00 (8am) at the weekend. I stated that if it was cleaned before 09H00 to enable us to swim in a clean pool we would not highlight the issue. However, the attached photograph shows the state of the pool when we checked out at about 10H45!! Obviously no pool attendant could be found by the hotel. Consequently, it would appear that you cannot guarantee being able to have a swim (at least at the weekend) at this hotel.
That said the rest of the hotel was fine and we enjoyed our stay. Large room with huge comfortable bed (two large single beds joined together); quiet and efficient air conditioning; excellent hot shower; nice (continental European) buffet breakfast and reasonably friendly staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool (away from the busy road)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobWhit13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livorno, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I have been in this hotel in August using a night+dinner smartbox. While the big room and bathroom, looking almost new and very clean fulfilled our expectations, we are very dissapointed by the dinner. It consisted in a fixed menu with no choices, 2 courses included, drinks and dessert excluded. First course: gnocchi with butter and salvia, in one word tasteless; second course: cold chicken breast with pinenuts, raisins balsamic vinegar and tons of olive oli, this was not cold, it was almost frozen.

I will recommend the quality and comfort of the hotel, but do not choose it for a smartbox destination.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank v_sancho_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barga, Italy
Level Contributor
397 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

we stayed one night. it was very hot in Mantova; the airco of the hotel room was a delight; 4 stars for a very reasonable price: 75 EUR; their Restaurant was closed on the day we were there, so we drove to the Centre of Town instead; very clean, swimming pool outdoors;

Room Tip: get a room on the back, looking down on the swimming pool, away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pietro b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2010

We ended up here after getting last minute tickets for the Opera in Verona, and this was the closest we could find a room for the night. We called ahead to say we would be really late, and when we got there the reception was still open, and had our check-in waiting. Clean room, with all the necessaries, and then a very good breakfast buffet the next morning. Parking out front, and there is even a nice little swimming pool. Located on a ring road without too much immediately on hand, I can only imagine Brits needing to stay a night here while being on the road. But, for that purpose, the hotel does a perfectly professional job, with very friendly staff as a bonus.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golsonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2010

This was the nicest hotel we stayed in in Italy. We booked in by accident thinking it was in Venice. However, it was only a 5 minute walk from the train station- and then an hour by train to Venice. The clerk apologized that we had such a small room when we checked in. It was about the same as all the other rooms we had in Italy. I guess most of their rooms are larger. Breakfast was a beautiful spread of breads, cheeses, hams, pastries, croissants, fresh fruit, eggs, fresh made orange juice, cereal, and yogurt.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geofun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugeniogallina, Proprietario at Best Western Hotel Cristallo, responded to this review, June 14, 2010
Thanks for your fantastic review . We look forward to see you again.

Regards

Eugenio Gallina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cerese di Virgilio
3.5 mi away
Hotel La Favorita
Hotel La Favorita
#3 of 27 in Mantua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
4.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Mantova
B&B Hotel Mantova
#1 of 3 in San Giorgio di Mantova
3.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Casa Poli
Hotel Casa Poli
#2 of 27 in Mantua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Residenza La Villa
Residenza La Villa
#1 of 27 in Mantua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
22.0 mi away
Dunant Hotel
Dunant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castiglione Delle Stiviere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
2.3 mi away
Albergo Bianchi Stazione
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Cristallo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Cristallo

Property: Best Western Hotel Cristallo
Address: Via Cisa 1/E, 46034 Cerese di Virgilio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Mantua > Cerese di Virgilio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cerese di Virgilio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Cristallo 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Hotel Cristallo is situated just 5 km from the exit A22 Mantova SUD and 5 km from the city centre. Renewed in 2009, outdoor parking place, free wi-fi connection, restaurant and bar. Ideal for business travel with fast check out, business point and meeting rooms. Also tourist and families are welcome, easy access to the city centre by public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western Hotel Cristallo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing