We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and surreality”
Review of Castel des Anges

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castel des Anges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2013

When we arrived, Sandrine offered us a choice of rooms because we were the only guests staying. How amazing to have this beautiful if slightly surreal chateau to ourselves. It is exactly as it appears in the pictures, and surprisingly warm for a big old house on a cold damp November evening. Sandrine was very welcoming and patient with our poor schoolboy French.

We ate at the Auberge a ma Campagne that evening, a short walk from the Castel, where the proprietor was very friendly, and the food were very agreeable.

Be warned that the Castel does not accept credit cards. This caught us out but we found a cash machine in Montreuil. Don't come expecting big hotel services, this is a guest house, but what a house! Come for a taste of history, elegance, la France, and the entente cordial.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Athealstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 242 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2013

Fabulous place. So much character we loved everything about it. The owner was lovely - very welcoming and breakfast was very good with delicious homemade yoghurt and a variety of different breads. They don't serve dinner but there were a couple of good restaurants within walking distance.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank chrissiehodgson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

What a find a great place to stay all the rooms were just lovely and the welcome from the owners was genuinely friendly.The comfort was first rate and the breakfast was served with real love and care.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank gilesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

If chubby cherubs are your thing, you won't be disappointed. Castel des Anges lives up to its name with assorted cherubim and seraphim adorning every available surface and object. The castel itself is a very elegant building, beautifully restored, and offers magnificent, well proportioned rooms and breakfast at a very reasonable rate. Sandrine, our hostess was charming and incredibly friendly and we communicated very well despite being limited to my schoolgirl French and her considerable acting skills. My parents took the suite - 2 adjoining bedrooms sharing a bathroom, which was perfect for their needs and excellent value at 240 euros for 2 nights B&B. We had the "Blue Room" double just opposite which was very well appointed and had a wonderfully deep bath in the ensuite. Breakfast was ample and typically French - croissants, breads, jams, cheese, yoghurt and fruit, orange juice, with the choice of tea or coffee (plenty of both). The dining room is amazingly elegant, as is the lounge, which offers a few English magazines and a huge array of French books. A French/English dictionary would be a good addition though. Wailly Beaucamp is about 10 minutes drive from Montreuil sur Mer , 25 minutes from Le Touquet, and about an hour from Calais, making the Castel a very convenient and interesting place to spend a long weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We have just spent an amazingly peaceful and romantic evening at Castel des Anges. It is has been lovingly restored with tremendous attention to detail by Sandrine and her husband Dominic. Our room was just beautiful and filled with "little touches" which made it such a joy to use. They have thought of every convenience and comfort and we will certainly return when en route to or from Calais.Sandrine's hosting skills are excellent and we were made to feel completely welcome.She is warm, friendly and the service given is first class. The dining room is beautiful as is the main lounge. There is a large garden with lots of private areas to be enjoyed. We ate a really lovely meal at A Ma Campagne 5mins walk from the hotel. All in all a marvellous find...we look forward to coming back again.

Room Tip: Sandrine showed us round the whole hotel later next day and all the rooms are beautiful.If unable to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KathleenHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed here en route to Normandy. Wow! This is a 200 year old mansion restored by Sandrine and her husband Dominic. Our room was large, comfortable, light and airy, and decorated in a very personal way with great attention to detail. There were even candles around the bath for guests to light! The breakfast room is just lovely with plenty for us to eat including Dominic's own yoghurt. No restaurant but some fabulous places to eat a short drive away. Just wonderful!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

absolutely fantastic bed & breakfast! Beautiful period decor, warm and friendly people! A very reasonable price. Very romantic setting, will certainly be going back. The breakfast was ample and beautifully presented. A magical experience!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenray12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailly-Beaucamp
4.1 mi away
Les Hauts de Montreuil
Les Hauts de Montreuil
#1 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
333 reviews
4.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Hermitage
Best Western Hotel Hermitage
#3 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
704 reviews
4.3 mi away
Chateau de Montreuil
Chateau de Montreuil
#5 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Coq Hotel
Coq Hotel
#2 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
322 reviews
4.5 mi away
Auberge de la Grenouillere
Auberge de la Grenouillere
#4 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
260 reviews
4.2 mi away
Maison 76
Maison 76
#1 of 20 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castel des Anges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castel des Anges

Address: Route Nationale 96, 62170 Wailly-Beaucamp, Montreuil-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Montreuil-sur-Mer > Wailly-Beaucamp
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Wailly-Beaucamp
Price Range: $97 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Castel des Anges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing