We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Guangxi, Bama” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Changshou Village of Bama

Changshou Village of Bama
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
151 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Guangxi, Bama”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Bama is an interesting “village” (@250,000 people) four hours from Nanning by bus.

Bama is known for its amazing number of centurions. There are more people here of 100 years old or more than anywhere else in the world. Why? It is a mystery, but there are various theories: clean air and water, a healthy diet, exercise, hard work well into old age, and location along a favorable magnetic meridian.

If you are in Quangxi Province, Nanning or Guilin, your hotel should be able to arrange transportation to Bama. Once there, you have a choice of hotels, some upscale, some not. There are many good restaurants, as you would expect to find just about anywhere in China.

Sightseeing includes some interesting caves and caverns, approachable by boat, and the Chinese countryside. Old ones are everywhere, and are always pleased to touch your head and offer a prayer for good luck and long life. A small tip is appreciated. But it is always better to purchase whatever they are selling. Most 100 year olds still work at a craft or they continue to farm. They usually have their crafts on sale, If not, they should have home grown fruits and vegetables.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Joseph P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    8
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Changshou Island in Bama”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Went via a package tour. They did not show us much except visiting the museum. The explanation of the guide is in Chinese. There is no chance for us to see these old folks or mingle with them

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank RichardLim92378511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“The World Longevity heritage site”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

The most old aged people, man and women still living in this village. The villages' homes are being built upwards, i.e. a few higher storey into 4 to 5 storey high. This site can now afford to do so with assistance from the visitors. Just imagine that you only have to contribute a yen person and with a million visitors per year per home, well it amounts to a million yen revenue per year per home, so that a better standard of living these old folks.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank francisLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
118 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“The young and the old”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We could not see any signage stating that this is the Longevity Village, but the bus driver told us that this is it!

On arrival, we went looking for a toilet, this being cold autumn time. But we were given the cold shoulder. Then we were told that there was one at the `provision shop'. True enough, we were allowed in and it was clean. After that, we walked across a bridge of the Panyang River and arrived at the Village. We saw young people instead and a group of visitors further up entering a house. We followed suit and found an older woman said to be over 100 years old. My grand-kid paid respect to her and sat beside her and we took a picture. As a token of appreciation, I passed on a red packet to my grand-kid to pass it on to the centenarian woman. She accepted it happily and patted on the head of my grand kid. It was a touching moment. It shows that the centenarian was still active both in mind and body.

Next we visited a centenarian man and a woman in another house. The same ritual was repeated. And we told ourselves that it was enough as we wanted to go to another place.

On the poster at a house was an older woman, said to be 127 years old. We wanted to pay our respect to her but we were told that she hails from another village.

According to reviews, there are about 100 older persons in this village! But unless we explore the village for a day or two, we would be able to see them!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Edyharto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
106 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
“Learnt Nothing on our Visit to Longevity Village”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Bama (巴马) is a county in Guangxi Province (广西省), China. It is reputed to have many centenarians. For example the small village had 7 centenarians at the time we visited, the oldest was 117 years old according to the information board at the entrance to the village.

According to our tour itinerary, we were to “explore the secrets of longevity”. We had expected to see the lifestyle led by the centenarians and foods they ate which resulted in their long life.

However we saw neither of these when we visited the village on 29th Oct 2012. We were brought to two homes where there was a centenarian each. The centenarians were dressed to take photos with visitors. Visitors were advised in advance to give “hongpao” (money placed in red envelope) to each centenarian we visited. While the amount of money suggested was small (10 yuan per “hongpao”), the visits did not enlighten us on the lifestyle and foods which led to their longevity.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PerryTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Changshou Village of Bama also viewed

Bama County, Guangxi
 
Bama County, Guangxi
Bama County, Guangxi
 

Been to Changshou Village of Bama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing