We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveler rating
37
3
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
37
3
2
1
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 43 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2014

Our life at Carlos was fantastic. The world cup baseball games, the emergency drive to the hospital!. Our very sweet cook! All our snorkeling and long walks, our trip to little Corn, all was facilitated by Carlos. Thank you for the emergency trip to the hospital and the canes. see you soon

Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank adorafedora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

The rooms are fairly basic here but they are clean with ensuite bathroom and showers with hot water. The owner Carlos was very helpful and friendly if you needed anything and the value here is great for the location. It is on a fantastic uncrowded beach where I went swimming several times. Coming back from the beach, there are 2 showers where you can rinse the sand off. There is free coffee in the morning and a restaurant across the street with great omelets. I also had a good chicken dinner there the one night. You might want to check with the restaurant ahead of time if you plan on eating there because their hours seem pretty flexible! The bus to Las Penitas stops in front of the door and costs around .20 cents and around .50 cents if going to Leon. Hostal El Pulpo is also a great place for meeting other travelers. I highly recommend it!

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adventurer42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

During a two-week trip to Nicaragua, we visited several places and stayed for 2 nights & 3 days with Carlos at his beach house in Poneloya. He was very helpful communicating by email during the planning of the trip, and we were not disappointed in the least by our stay at Hostal el Pulpo.

The beach at Poneloya was beautiful and practically empty. From Carlos' place you can walk a good distance in either direction. We enjoyed beach combing, laying in the sun, watching the birds and fishermen, and swimming in the surf. I even saw a whale breach far offshore.

The property is within easy walking distance of the handful of restaurants in Poneloya as well as a few small shops that sell sodas, beer, basic groceries, fruit, etc. The bus that runs Leon-Poneloya-Las Penitas-Leon runs right past the front of Carlos' place, and will stop to pick you up right there. Easy and cheap way to get to Las Penitas where there are more restaurants, bars, excursions, etc.. However, you need to have a plan for the return to Poneloya from Las Penitas. The bus will get you roughly half the way back before turning to Leon, you'll need to walk the rest of the way to Hostal el Pulpo. We actually missed the last bus in Las Penitas after a late dinner and ended up walking approx. 30 minutes in the sometimes dark (lack of street lights) back to Carlos' place. Just something to keep in mind as there don't seem to be many taxis at night there.

As for Hostal el Pulpo itself, we were very pleased. The common areas and kitchen were kept neat and clean. There's a big water dispenser to fill your bottles. Fridge space to store your soda and beer. Stove to cook some meals if you like. Common area inside has table & chairs, comfortable rockers. Back patio is a nice place to enjoy morning coffee or sunset drinks with your fellow guests (there was a great variety of travelers there during our stay which made it even more enjoyable). The rancho is a great place to relax in the hammocks and laze the day away with a panoramic view of the Pacific and the beach. Our room had one double bed and one twin bed, a dresser with drawers for clothing, and a small closet to hang things in. Bathroom was perfectly fine with sink, toilet, and shower with hot water and good pressure. We used the a/c in the room and it cooled the place down nicely. All in all, it's not a fancy resort or hotel but it's got everything you need, is well-maintained, and priced affordably. Plus its location is very hard to beat.

Carlos himself is great at operating his property, and much fun to visit with. He spent several years in the USA and speaks very good English.

If you're looking for a laid-back place to stay at the beach near Leon, we can't recommend Hostal el Pulpo highly enough. Thank you, Carlos!

Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SJH-SFSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Don Carlos is a really nice guy and very welcoming. Made a new friend instantly. I'll be back. Maybe for a month or longer. The beach is really beautiful and it is really quiet. It's not a busy tourist trap, and there is basically one or two restaurants and one store that I know of. But Carlos will make you feel at home, make you breakfast, have beer with you and chat with you on his front deck. He speaks perfect ingles for those of you who don't speak español.

The house is big and beautiful and has a safe parking area. Good place for a couple, for a family or group of friends. I was one my own, so it is good for that too, obviously.

If you want action, you can drive or take a cheap taxi to the southern section of Poneloya called Playa Piñetas. It's nice to be close to the bars, but not next to them....

I am a surfer and didn't have my surfboards with me but Carlos let me use one of his son's boards. And he even gave me some wax. So I thought that was pretty cool.

Room tip: Just ask Carlos.
Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sumyunguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed here for one night, but wished we could have stayed all week! Carlos was very welcoming and made us feel at home. The rooms are spacious and clean and the beach front is stunning. Definitely will make a visit back there one day :)

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CleoC165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews