We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely host and gardens”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bellawongarah at Berry
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely host and gardens”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I've stayed in a lot of B&B's around the world and Deb was definitely one of the best hosts. You might be looking for a pretty place to stay (check) in lovely gardens and surroundings (check) in a nice part of NSW (check) but you get Deb too!

We stayed in the old church which was very nice. Even the bed was particularly comfortable. Couldn't have possibly asked for any more.

The gardens are better and more established than they are in most of the pictures you find on the internet so that's a bonus too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
36
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My fiancee and I had a lovely weekend away at this B&B. On arrival we were greeted by Deb who became the most wonderful host over the course of the weekend. We stayed in the Atic which comes equipped with a lovely spa, candles, hifi, bar fridge and other mod cons which meant we didn't bother going out at all on the Sat night. Plenty of reading on site so don't bother taking your books. The area where the lodge is located is prime real estate so you won't be disappointed about staying out of Berry which is only about 10 mins drive. When arriving at night be prepared for a drive on very quiet roads so have your GPS loaded which will get you within 300 metres. Then call Deb to put the kettle on!

Room Tip: If you have kids go the Chapel otherwise I'd be going the Atic
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

A few days at Bellawongarah in the rainforest up from Berry is a relaxing and restorative experience. The attractive main house, with all modern comforts but in a traditional style, is set in beautiful gardens at the base of an escarpment. We had the attic suite: divine. Spa bath overlooking the gardens, comfortable bed and a living area with all one needed elegantly decorated. Deb was a first rate hostess serving marvellous breakfasts which certainly kept us going most of the day! Loved her chau chaus too. Highly recommended. We will certainly return.

Room Tip: Depends what you want. Church cottage is charming and private with cooking facilities. But we love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the church. It's a delightful 1 bedroom cottage with kitchen, dining and bathroom. Very neat, clean and well decorated. Our host Deb is a delightful lady who made us feel welcome from arrival. Looked forward to breakfast each morning - wonderful fresh produce lovingly prepared. Great to have a chat with Deb and discuss our plans for the day - in most cases she provided that "local knowledge" which ensured that each day went well.

Situated on the mountain, the climate was about 5 degrees cooler than Berry - which in Summer was great. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tizza42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We were given a weekend stay at Bellawongarahs Church Cottage as a than you gift from friends. We arrived after a hard crazy Sydney work week after being stuck in traffic and the 1.5 hr trip taking over 3 hrs. We had our 10 mth old son Oscar asleep in the back and didn't get in till 9.45pm. From the moment we drive up the driveway, we felt a huge sigh of relief. Deb stated up and met us and made us immediately feel so welcome, despite our stressed out demeaners. The next morning we woke up rejuvenated and ready to explore! After one of Debs fantastic hardy breakfasts we took our son Oscar for a walk around the beautiful gardens well maintained by Deb. The gardens are amazing. Especially at this time of year and against the setting if the mountain. So relaxing! On sunday we drove away feeling rejuvenated and refreshed. I would definitely recommend staying here. Deb is such a welcoming and warm host and you will feel right at home at Bellawongarah.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cootamundra, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

What an amazing place! From the moment we drove into Bellawongarah there was something magical about the place. The garden, so enchanting, my inner child just wanted to explore. The image of pixies and fairies were present.
From the garden it only got when we met our hostess, Deb, what an amazing women, so inspiring to run a wonderful B&B, did I mention she whips up a mean breakfast... The best mushrooms I've tasted.
We stayed the the Loft Suite which was so private and comfortable and a great spa with a view!
After an inspection for the beautiful Church Cottage on the property, we decided this would be our next stay.
As Bellawongarah is a lovely 10min drive from the divine township of Berry, we had the opportunity to dine at some wonderful restaurants, wander through shops and taste incredible wines at the local wineries that Deb had recommended. Her knowledge of the area is exceptional.
Thank you Deb for a memorable weekend, we look forward returning.

Please note there is no swimming pool and fitness centre - I hit these buttons by mistake and can't delete them!!

Room Tip: Both rooms are fantastic. My first choice would be the Church Cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2011

Deb was a wonderful hostess and was warm and welcoming at all times. At once we were enchanted by her home that is situated in a magical and tranquil rainforest setting. The garden at Bellawongarah is delightful - it is so special that many will not have seen one like it. The large Australian breakfast set us up for the day, and when we returned from our daily travels it was a joy to do so because we felt so much at home. If you want to escape the rat race, or just love a bit of isolation, then Bellawongarah is for you. Though there are one or two hairpin bends to negotiate to reach nearby Berry, you will not regret your decision to stay at Deb's extremely memorable home. We stayed in many places during our six week visit to Australia, but we regard Bellawongarah as the accommodation that will live longest in our memories. We will be back!

Room Tip: See website or ask Deb's advice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulandCarolH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellawongarah
7.2 mi away
Kangaroo Valley Golf & Country Resort
20.3 mi away
Peppers Manor House
Peppers Manor House
#1 of 1 in Sutton Forest
720 reviews
12.0 mi away
Mercure Gerringong Resort
Mercure Gerringong Resort
#2 of 2 in Gerringong
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Broughton Mill Farm Guesthouse B&B
3.7 mi away
Mt Hay Retreat
Mt Hay Retreat
#1 of 8 in Berry
64 reviews
4.5 mi away
Berry Village Boutique Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellawongarah at Berry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellawongarah at Berry

Property: Bellawongarah at Berry
Address: 869 Kangaroo Valley Rd | Bellawongarah , Berry, Bellawongarah, New South Wales 2535, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Bellawongarah
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bellawongarah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bellawongarah at Berry is B & B Country Retreat for couples set among pristine mountain rainforest and 1.3 Acres of informal gardens. The property is located between picturesque Berry and Kangaroo Valley on the South Coast of N.S.W, about 2 hours drive from Sydney. The main house features the luxurious Loft suite & spa on the top floor of the house,overlooking Berry Mountain & Black Ash Nature Reserve, suitable for one couple. Also on the property is the heritage listed 1868 Church Cottage, a romantic cottage set in gardens with a courtyard gazebo, perfect for a special occasion for a couple. The tranquil surroundings provide a welcoming environment to relax and be spoiled. Abundant gardens & wildlife provides interest, and a full country breakfast sets guest up for the days activities. Activities include birdwatching,bush walking, swimming & surfing local beaches,exploring quirky shops, local wineries and food trails, great restaurants & cafes nearby. A 2 night minimum stay applies to all bookings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bellawongarah at Berry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing