We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Five wonderful nights.........”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madera Canyon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chuparosa Inn Bed and Breakfast
Santa Ana, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Five wonderful nights.........”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Once again this sweet B and B provided a comfortable get-a-way for us. We love this B and B for its quiet and private space, but also for its location as a great jumping off point for our daily hikes, bike rides and birding adventures! Hosts, Luis and Nancy are always so welcoming and provide little touches that make us feel so at home. Luis' breakfasts were just delicious! We will return!

Room Tip: We've stayed in several of the rooms through the years, but the Hummingbird Suite is perfect as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    3
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
53
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Degerhamn
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

I stayed here by chance, after striking up a conversation with one of the owners while I was watching their hummingbirds. And I am really glad I did! A really charming place and especially well situated for birdwatchers and nature lovers of any kind. The owners/hosts are most welcoming. I was supposed to stay in the Birdnest room but it wasn´t completely ready for occupancy so I got to stay in the very posh Trogan suite. The suite had a bedroom, bathroom, completely outfitted kitchen, clothes washer/dryer and a comfortable sitting area. Even if one isn´t a birdwatcher, just watching the comings and goings of the many hummingbirds to the numerous feeders is a sight worth enjoying. I really wished that my husband had been there to enjoy the stay with me - guess we will have to go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ECP135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

This was our second visit to Chuparosa Inn. Both times we stayed prior to hiking Mt. Wrightson. This time we stayed after the hike, also. We were almost sorry to have the hike (even if it is our favorite AZ hike) get in the way of our time at this fabulous B&B! The ambience is second to none. The flowers, plants, birds butterflies, wildlife--all are definitely attractions--but the hospitality of Luis and Nancy, the beautifully appointed and comfortable rooms, design of the outdoor areas to enhance the serenity if the canyon...I can't say enough good things--oh yes, the yummy breakfast that you can eat at your leisure...We will be back and next time to just relax!

Room Tip: All are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

You don't have to be a birder to enjoy this nice House situated right on the stream-bed just before the end of the road in Madera Canyon. We were more than comfortable and it was fun to get to know the other guests. Hope to see Luis and Nancy on our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed at the Chuparosa Inn for 3 nights in May 2013. We were birding in and around the Madera Canyon area and used this as our home base. There is absolutely nothing negative I could possibly say about our stay. We stayed in the Bird Nest room. It was clean and had everything you would need, even books about birding to read! The property itself is breathtaking. Plenty of birds come to the feeders that are set up around the inn. The breakfast was a nice touch. The owner's are very nice. I locked us out of the room once and Nancy was quick to let me back in. If you are going to be in this area and need a place to stay I would highly recommend the Chuparosa.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lomita, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

My wife and I and and another couple planned a birding tour through SE Arizona and ended our trip with a few days at Chuparosa. Good choice! Luis is extremely knowledgeable about the birds & wildlife and Nancy will do everything/anything to make you feel well tended. Rooms comfortable (and everything works!), great breakfast quiche, yogurt parfait, milk and juice, cereal and more in fridge to start day, and the location is perfect; walk uphill to hike Madera Canyon, stay onsite for hummingbirds and more, or walk down to Santa Rita or Kubo to take in the hummer shows there. Ask Luis to leave up a feeder at night and watch the amazing bat show!

Room Tip: The Trogon room is the most spacious-not a lot of space in some others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is truly a one of a kind property. I have to say this place is made for birders, but we are not. All I can say on that is that there were birds I've never seen in my life. Located at the very end of Madera Canyon it's so quiet and peaceful soon you become putty. One of the most relaxing places I've ever been. The property has four rooms with separate entrances for each room on the ground level. The cowboy room and bird nest are the two most private of the four rooms. But the other two rooms are a bit more spacious and are very nice too.We stayed in the cowboy room and had a little table outside our room. The breakfast is tasty, my husband's favorite was the fruit parfait. I'm dairy intolerant but it did look yummy!!! They had raisin bran dispenser in the room and they provided some yummy baked goods every day.

We took mountain bikes and tried the Elephant Head Mountain Bike trail. It's a difficult trail, lots of rocks. Next time we're going to explore the Santa Rita Experimental Range on our bikes or go over to the Whipple Observatory by bike. I'm not too much into single track anyway. The hiking is excellent, when you can just leave your car and walk right out of your room to more than half dozen trail heads I think that pretty cool.

I loved it!!!

Room Tip: The owners showed us the Trogon room. It has a bigger kitchen, full size refrigerator, washer and dr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marquita E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madera Canyon
12.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Green Valley Inn
BEST WESTERN Green Valley Inn
#2 of 5 in Green Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
14.6 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive - Green Valley Sahuarita
10.7 mi away
Inn at San Ignacio
Inn at San Ignacio
#4 of 5 in Green Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Green Valley
Comfort Inn Green Valley
#5 of 5 in Green Valley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
16.6 mi away
Spirit Tree Inn Bed and Breakfast
10.6 mi away
Wyndham Green Valley Canoa Ranch Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chuparosa Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chuparosa Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Chuparosa Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1300 S Madera Canyon Rd, Madera Canyon, AZ 85614-0519
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Madera Canyon
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Madera Canyon
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chuparosa Inn is located 40 miles Southeast of Tucson, Arizona, nestled in the heart of Madera Canyon. A stay in Madera Canyon is ideal for those seeking a peaceful retreat in the Santa Rita Mountains. The Inn offers a wonderful environment for couples with a romantic heart, nature lovers, hiking and biking enthusiasts, or anyone who enjoys meeting others in a relaxed atmosphere. At an elevation of 5300 ft (2450m), this area offers four mild seasons, over 305 days of sunshine, and an average summer temperature of 85°F (29°C). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing