We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madera Canyon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chuparosa Inn Bed and Breakfast
Reviewed May 5, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights and really did not want to leave! We're both interested in wildlife and didn't have to leave the large garden to see White-nosed Coati and Ringtail! Not to mention the birds and squirrels.

Wildlife aside, the Chuparosa was still a great choice. The hosts were friendly and full of helpful advice. The rooms were luxurious with a big comfy bed (we had the 'birds nest' room). Breakfast was delicious!

Medera Canyon is a fantastic location for any nature lover and Chuparosa is a beauitiful, relaxing place to stay.

Room Tip: Birds nest was good enough for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WildlifeMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 76 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013

There are only 3 places to stay in Madera Canyon, and this is a real treasure to stay in. We took the Hummingbird Suite and would definitely pick it again. It was around the back of the BnB and looked onto the patios and creek. You have your own area outside to sit in.

There was a small but well-planned kitchenette that included microwave, a refrigerator, and counter with two stools.

Generally, the Chuparosa is a beautifully built and decorated accommodation, inside and outside.

Luis and Nancy are "perfect" proprietors--seeming to be enthusiastic about their BnB and making all guests feel really welcome. Luis was often around outside and you can just tell that he loves living there and is an excellent birder. He offered up many suggestions of best places to bird, photograph and eat dinner.

The breakfast are put in your room each day for the following morning and include a great fruit-yogurt compote and wonderful quiches.

The birding was not quite as plentiful as we hoped, but we were still happy overall--including 4 species of hummers, white-breasted nuthatch, redstart, acorn woodpecker, and several mammal types.

We have stayed in many BnB's and think this one is near the top of the list!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireWilson36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed for two nights to get away from the hustle and bustle of life. Madera Canyon and Chuparosa B&B were the perfect choices. First off, the location is fantastic-- the Inn is nestled into the hills of the scenic Coronado National Forest, surrounded by trees and rocky peaks. Although not birders ourselves, we brought along a pair of binoculars and had a great time sipping coffee in the mornings and spying birds and other wildlife right outside of our room! (A coati mundi even poked his head into our boots!)

The owners of the B&B were friendly and helpful; loaning us a pan to cook with when we decided to stay in for the evening instead of driving down to the valley. There is a lot of outdoor sitting space (including porch swings!), and the set up was such that it provided plenty of privacy with separate outdoor entrances for each room. The B&B is just a short walk from many of the hiking trails that pepper the single Madera Canyon road that winds up to a National Forest viewing area of the peaks above and valley below. The B&B provided breakfast each morning-- healthy and delicious.

I was advised that they book up pretty quickly during the high birding season (March-May), so one may want to call and reserve a space well ahead of time if you are planning to visit during that period. They also required a 2-night minimum over weekends and holidays.

Overall, Chuparosa was worth the price, and we will be coming back next time we need to escape!

Room Tip: Each room has its own entrance and a small porch to sit on; the "Cowboy Room" was lovely a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VivoDavvero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and I just stayed at the Chuparosa Inn and loved it. Such a beautiful place, and so well cared for. Madera Canyon is a wonderful setting, and Luis advised us on hikes, and places on their property to relax and enjoy the beautiful weather and scenery. Next time we will bring something to cook on the great grill they have on the patio. We saw hummingbirds, finches, a white tailed deer, wild turkeys, squirrels, beautiful flowers, plants, trees, the creek, and terrific views from the trail. Definitely will stay there again.

Room Tip: The Cowboy was great, and closest to the creek, but the other rooms looked nice too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sabinowalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed two nights at Chuparosa who
Ile on a birding trip of SE Arizona. Luis and Nancy were perfect host,the room had a large kitchen which allowed us to prepare meals for the group. The breakfasts were tasty and we were asked what we liked! We even had a washer and dryer. The birding was A+ many varieties of hummingbirds, hiking available just uphill.
We used their BBQ grill one night Go out of your way to stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbsbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights here in July and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The Inn itself is beautiful and well kept. The rooms are nicely decorated and equipped with all the items you need (the fridge in the room was a nice bonus). The outside area and seating areas were fabulous with lots of opportunities to see birds and other wildlife. The Inn is very convenient to hiking trails and makes birding an ease!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank HaysopMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

My husband and I went up to the Chuparosa to celebrate my birthday. What a wonderful, quiet spot right in the middle of the natural world that is Madera Canyon. We are very amateur birders, but identified at least 8 different birds just while sitting in the comfortable deck chairs about 8 steps from our room's door. The Hummingbird Suite was perfect for us. A very comfortable bed, clean bathroom, and mini-kitchen with fridge and microwave. The breakfast was delicious, too.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AZLady60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madera Canyon
12.9 mi away
Best Western Green Valley Inn
Best Western Green Valley Inn
#2 of 5 in Green Valley
430 reviews
14.6 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive - Green Valley Sahuarita
10.8 mi away
Inn at San Ignacio
Inn at San Ignacio
#4 of 5 in Green Valley
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Wyndham Green Valley Canoa Ranch Resort
14.8 mi away
Spirit Tree Inn Bed and Breakfast
10.7 mi away
Amado Territory B&B
Amado Territory B&B
#1 of 1 in Amado
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chuparosa Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chuparosa Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1300 S Madera Canyon Rd, Madera Canyon, AZ 85614-0519
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Madera Canyon
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Madera Canyon
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chuparosa Inn is located 40 miles Southeast of Tucson, Arizona, nestled in the heart of Madera Canyon. A stay in Madera Canyon is ideal for those seeking a peaceful retreat in the Santa Rita Mountains. The Inn offers a wonderful environment for couples with a romantic heart, nature lovers, hiking and biking enthusiasts, or anyone who enjoys meeting others in a relaxed atmosphere. At an elevation of 5300 ft (2450m), this area offers four mild seasons, over 305 days of sunshine, and an average summer temperature of 85°F (29°C). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing