We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birdwatching paradise”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madera Canyon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chuparosa Inn Bed and Breakfast
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Birdwatching paradise”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

The Chuparosa Inn was a beautiful little oasis in the desert of Southern Arizona.

It is nestled in the heart of Madera Canyon, long considered one of the top birding locales in the US. Development in the canyon is restricted, so it is one of only three lodgings available in the main canyon and for us, it was the best.

Ownners Luis Calvo & Nancy Hertel made us feel at home from day one, calling us by name as we drove into the parking space. They quickly got us tucked into the Trogon room, a cozy but bright suite featuring a kitchenette and (wow!) a washer-dryer. The main room is built into a circular tower which gives a 180 degree view, with the bedroom window adding another 60 degrees. You can wake up in the morning and see the beautiful, birdy surroundings. And that's just from he inn.

There are gorgeous trails leading up and down the mountain, the highest one leading to areas where the Elegant Trogons lurk as a prize for the dedicated birder. The area is surrounded by numerous other locales for every level of energy that a birder might have. We were travelling with an elderly uncle, so we stuck mostly to the easy walks, but the tales we heard from other inn-mates indicated that there was much more to be found.

Because it caters to birders, it doesn't serve a sit-down breakfast, but insted provides delicious baked treats and egg dishes that one can consume whenever you decide to get started, plus fresh cereal, juices, milk and really, more than most people could eat. We never started out hungry. And Luis was the perfect instructor, pointing us to the perfect places for our level of activity and telling us where certain birds would be. He is himself and avid naturalist and knows all about the critters and plants that make up his world.

But what we found is that one of the greatest pleasures was to plop ourselves into one of the many comfy patio seats located all around the inn and watch the natural scenes in cool comfort while enjoying a refreshing beverage. We spent many an afternoon like this, escaping from the heat of the valley.

Luis kept the grounds and kept the dozens of feeders filled. Nancy and Rebecca take care of the rooms and everything was always exactly as we had asked. They are all cheerful and interactive hosts and a wealth of information.

We spent eight days at the Chuparosa (it is Spanish for "Rose Sucker and means "hummingbird") and it was far too short. We'll be back soon.

Room Tip: The Trogon room is the largest and the only one featuring two beds, one a fold-out, but it has by fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    3
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
53
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Staying up in Madera Canyon is must for a birder, hiker or nature lover. Of the three options for lodgings, pretty Chuparosa Inn is the most upscale. The owner-hosts live upstairs with their two dogs . The guest rooms are on the first floor surrounded by decks and patios on all sides with beautiful views in all directions. I had the smallest room, the Birds Nest, for three days, with a charming canopied bed and tiny kitchenette, with fridge and microwave (there are no restaurants in Madera Canyon: bring food and water). It is hard to stay inside however with so much beauty outside. There is currently no wifi, tv, or phone service at the Inn, though the hosts are working on the wifi issue. In an emergency, they will loan you their landline phone. To use your cell phone, you can walk or drive a couple of miles down canyon to get reception if you must check in. In any case, the entertainment here is in the early morning bird song, the hummers on every feeder, and the evening campfires where you swap stories with the hosts and other guests while checking out the night sky. As a solo traveler, this was a real attraction. In late March, Elf Owls were calling across the street and a short hike up the nearby Agua Caliente trail brought me to Elegant Trogan sightings.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lifelister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York, United States
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We spent three nights here in early March and loved it. The Cowboy Room is wonderful for two people, Luis and Nancy are friendly and knowledgable about the canyon and birds, the muffins and yogurt parfaits for breakfast were delicious, and the grounds are lovely. We spent a lot of time exploring the canyon, but also enjoyed just sitting in the swing or on one of the patios and watching birds come and go. This is the place to stay in Madera Canyon!

Room Tip: We liked the Cowboy Room because it is on the back of the building and looks out on the flowering tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Wally E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

My wife and I rank Chuparosa Inn one of the most romantic escapes we have experienced. Whether you go for the birds, the peacefulness, the hiking, or just the getaway, Chuparosa Inn has it all. Luis and Nancy are ultimate hosts,very knowledgable in everything having to do with Madera Canyon and the surrounding area. I could go on and on but l will close with.... Sitting by a fountain as hummingbirds, painted redstarts, bridled titmouse all show up to visit! Make your reservation NOW!
p.s. Luis will direct you to the Rufous Capped Warbler as a bonus!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quidnunc74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

As Empty Nesters, our New Year's resolution for 2012 is to get away each month for a day or a weekend. We decided to take this last weekend in January for a trip out of town. My ideal for the weekend was to go to a secluded, cozy and comfortable place where I could hike, relax and enjoy the area. The Chuparosa B&B was better than I could have dreamed. Nestled in the heart of Madera Canyon, you are surrounded by the beauty of the forest.

Our hosts were so very gracious, the Cowboy Suite was very private, comfortable, cozy and just what we wanted. Breakfast included granola/fruited yogurt, muffins, quiche, juice, milk, coffee and tea in your room. There are hiking trails right at the edge of the property. It is a birder's paradise! You can bring your own food for grilling on their massive gas grill if you like. There is also a wonderful fire pit, which we sat around each night.

On the first day we took an exhilarating hike up Old Baldy Trail, which is right off the property. The next day we went to Tumacacori National Historic Park and the artist colony of Tubac, which are within a 15-20 minute drive. We had a great lunch at Elvira's in Tubac. This place is not to be missed for either lunch or dinner. Great margaritas and excellent food.

On Sunday we checked out (hated to leave!!) and drove out to Sonoita in the wine country of southern Arizona.

There is so much to do in Madera Canyon and the surrounding area. You can venture out for a few hours and then return to relax and recharge at the beautiful Chuparosa Inn.

Room Tip: For a couple, ask for the Cowboy Suite, which is in the back of the property and overlooks the strea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank speech529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apache Junction, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

This place has the charm for a romantic get-away and the most rigorous hiking available for those eager to climb Mt. Wrightson. What I most enjoyed was sitting on their beautiful patio to watch and listen to the abundant nature calls. It's truly amazing how many birds you will see while you absorb the beauty around you.

Room Tip: Humming bird suite or cowboy room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CaseyJoHensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Our group of four birdwatching women stayed here and absolutely loved it. If you want to go birding in the Madera Canyon this is the best place to stay. We saw amazing birds while leisurely sitting on the deck and probably should have spent more time here instead of chasing birds elsewhere (but it was all wonderful.) The breakfast food was excellent and the hosts are delightful. Highly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KATexas88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madera Canyon
12.9 mi away
Best Western Green Valley Inn
Best Western Green Valley Inn
#1 of 5 in Green Valley
409 reviews
14.6 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive - Green Valley Sahuarita
10.7 mi away
Inn at San Ignacio
Inn at San Ignacio
#4 of 5 in Green Valley
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Wyndham Green Valley Canoa Ranch Resort
11.7 mi away
Tubac Golf Resort & Spa
16.6 mi away
Spirit Tree Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chuparosa Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chuparosa Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Chuparosa Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1300 S Madera Canyon Rd, Madera Canyon, AZ 85614-0519
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Madera Canyon
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Madera Canyon
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chuparosa Inn is located 40 miles Southeast of Tucson, Arizona, nestled in the heart of Madera Canyon. A stay in Madera Canyon is ideal for those seeking a peaceful retreat in the Santa Rita Mountains. The Inn offers a wonderful environment for couples with a romantic heart, nature lovers, hiking and biking enthusiasts, or anyone who enjoys meeting others in a relaxed atmosphere. At an elevation of 5300 ft (2450m), this area offers four mild seasons, over 305 days of sunshine, and an average summer temperature of 85°F (29°C). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing