We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We liked it.”
Review of Madera Kubo B&B

Madera Kubo B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madera Canyon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Madera Kubo B&B
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
53 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“We liked it.”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Madera Kubo is a wonderful place. Richard and Cora are delightful people.

The place exudes personality. If you relish chain motel predictability you don't belong here.

However, if you like a friendly place that treats you as an imaginative adult... you can't go wrong here.

We are in our early 60s and we have been here several times. Always enjoyable.

I'd recommend that you avoid the A-frame if you are corpulent... but if you are trim and adventuresome GO for it. (I am a bit heavy and I found navigating the climb just a tad wearying... but the experience of the second floor during a storm was just so glorious that it took a couple years off both our ages.)

We have never had any problems with this place.

Madera Canyon is always a worthy day vacation in the Tucson area. Easy to get to from town and about 10 degrees cooler.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaoDawei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    12
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

The Madera Kubo B&B Cabin #4 is a cozy but spacious cabin just off Madera Canyon road. It is far enough off the road that you won't have birders standing on your front porch, but there will still be some car noise in your bedroom. Thankfully, there isn't a lot of traffic until after 7am or so. We had a lovely array of fruit waiting for us on our arrival as well as some cereal boxes, milk and juices. TV and DVD player worked well and were easy to use. The bed had a bit of a dip in the middle, making it difficult to sleep on your own side of the bed (especially if pregnant...). There were some cobwebs in the corners, which is kind of normal for the cabins we've stayed at in other places. The floors were clean, the kitchen was clean, bathroom was clean, no complaints there. We got to enjoy the local wildlife, especially the Gould's turkeys, even though the creek wasn't really flowing.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roxyflute5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sahuarita, Arizona
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We rented cabin #1 for my son's 12th birthday. We are family of 4. The cabin was ok. There is a lot of junk just piled up all over the property. No real place for the kids to hang out outside. The patio had a table on it that was pushed up against a wall and wasnt really usable since there was so much stuff everywhere. It has a cute stair case, but one of the stairs was really loose and I am pregnant, so was too afraid to go up and down them. The only bathroom is upstairs. So I ended up having to drive to the public bathrooms in the park everytime and actually ended up driving home to our house each night to sleep since I couldnt get up and down the stairs. The wood work in the cabin is beautiful, but the cabin is very dusty. The wood stove was out of order and they had installed a heater. We were told we had to keep the doors closed because of the heater, although it was sunny in the day time.
We needed a trash bag, for our 2nd day there, but never received one. There is no phone in the cabin and you get no cell service. So very hard to communicate with the owners.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sahuaritaMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

I just scheduled my second stay in Cabin 2. Rated 4 of 5 stars only because the cabins are a bit rustic--but that really just adds to the charm. We LOVE this place! Close enough to Tucson to avoid an onerous drive, but far enough away to feel like a vacation. The cabins are delightfully cozy and romantic! We love the spiral staircase to the loft and the woodburning stoves. Surrounded by primo birding and hiking country and the owners make the most of it by putting out a variety of feeders to bring in the birds right to the property. Owners are cordial and helpful (despite one negative review--there's always one disgruntled guest).

Room Tip: Seniors might perfer cabins 3 and 4 but for a younger couple cabin 2 is the best! Cabin 1 would com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brett W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2010

We've been to Madera Kubo 3-4 times now, usually staying in Cabin 1. It's really housekeeping cabins, with some box cereals and fruit furnished for breakfast. The hand-built Cabin 1 is very cool, with a curving tree trunk as the base for spiral stairs to the 2nd floor. It makes us think of what a Hobbit House might be like. Watching the turkeys fly up to roost is an evening event--very cool. Birds are everywhere, even in December. The nearby canyon is great for walking.
The owners are very nice. We'd give it a 5, but there really is a lot of junk around the place...kind of quirky that way. Also, it did not appear to be well-maintained (woodstove didn't work, stairs were loose).

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mbtlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2010

We stayed in Kubo B&B for 3 nights, while visiting some family in Suarita. The 20 in drive made it well worth not staying in town. We stayed in the "cabina" above the front desk.
Entrance is in the back into the kitchen/ living room space with the bedroom/ bath upstairs. It is a lovely, very cute place by a stream. The nights were way cooler than what they would have been in town and waking up having coffee on the balcony for several hours looking at the bird was amazing. Many birdwatchers come by, we are not, but still really enjoyed the sightings!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vivleplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettle Falls, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2010

Madera Kubo is located within a beautiful area. The oaks and sycamores abound. The owner was rude and unaccommodating when I had to cancel a night because we had a flight canceled from Spokane to Phoenix due to the largest snow storm in Spokane's history.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank James_KettleFalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madera Canyon
12.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Green Valley
Comfort Inn Green Valley
#5 of 5 in Green Valley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
12.4 mi away
Best Western Green Valley Inn
Best Western Green Valley Inn
#2 of 5 in Green Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
14.1 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive - Green Valley Sahuarita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Inn at San Ignacio
Inn at San Ignacio
#4 of 5 in Green Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
17.1 mi away
Spirit Tree Inn Bed and Breakfast
10.2 mi away
Wyndham Green Valley Canoa Ranch Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madera Kubo B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madera Kubo B&B

Property: Madera Kubo B&B
Address: 1259 S Madera Canyon Rd, Madera Canyon, AZ 85614-0517
Location: United States > Arizona > Madera Canyon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Madera Canyon
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Madera Kubo Bed And Breakfast
Madera Kubo Hotel Madera Canyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing