We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice lunch!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lattanavongsa Guesthouse
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We went for lunch before getting on the boat to continue our trip. The food was delicious! Definately better than in other places in Muang Ngoi so we would recommend it to anyone. The setting on a terrace overlooking the river is also great.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lu8101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    11
    17
    4
    5
See reviews for
5
24
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lyndoch, Australia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We ate at the Lattanavongsa Restaurant attached to the Guesthouse for one lunch during our three day two night stay in Muang Ngoi. The food was not exciting, tasty nor generous.
We ate most other meals at Ning Ning which is right next door - they were excellent!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank KimBarossaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

The main guesthouse is located at the top of the stairs from the bot dock, which is great after carrying your bag up the stairs when you are stiff from the boat ride. The rooms are comfortable and the ceiling fan helps to bet the afternoon heat. The shower has gas heated water. There are also also cabins across the road from the main guesthouse, which I assume are comparable. Lunch and dinner in the restaurant was good, but I would look elsewhere for breakfast. The town now has 24 hour electricity.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank KenEs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed in a bungalow in the main part of the guest house around the garden, the electricity seem to work most of the time now. Had a large room with fan, the shower was fine, but only had cold or burning hot water, but in April you don't need to water so not a problem.
No view of the river from the bungalow verandah but a very relaxing garden setting. Great view of the river from the guesthouse restaurant which is set over the river adjacent to the boat landing steps.
The guest house owners were friendly to us, but regards to the previous reviewers comments, I think they are just reserved by nature.
Had a mouse scratching around inside the mattress under where my head was one night, really loud! so had to shift to my daughter' bed, but it had gone the next night.
The food at the restaurant was really good, would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwitrvlgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed here one night and thought the rooms were okay - very basic but clean and tidy. Found the shower to be an issue as other reviewers have mentioned, and also didn't like that the shower wasn't in a cubicle, so water from the shower went over the entire bathroom floor and made it very slippery when going to the basin or toilet.

I was really disappointed by the owner's attitude - everywhere we went in Laos we met friendly, smiling people, but the owner of this guest house was the exact opposite - she didn't smile once and scowled at guests the entire time we were there!

As others have mentioned there is only limited electricity in Muang Ngoi, but I noticed that some guest houses put notices up advising guests what time the electricity generator would be turned off, but this guest house didn't - it seemed to be randomly turned off, so you couldn't plan to have a shower, or be in bed before it was turned off.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiTraveller72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haacht, Belgium
Level Contributor
365 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Muang Ngoi is in the middle of nowwhere in Loas, but that is part of the charm. You don't find any luxury hotels here, but the Lattavongsa guesthouse is very nice. The cabins with balcony are set in a well-maintained garden with a lot of flowers. The rooms are basic, but are clean and the beds are comfortable. As mentioned before, the water of the shower is impossible to regulate. Only 2 options : cold or unbelievable hot. Even so I really liked staying here. The restaurant of the guesthouse at the riverside serves good food too. If you are staying in Muang Ngoi, you have to know there is only electricity from 6 until 9 pm. So at 9 pm the complete village is in the dark. Don't forget to bring a torch.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globetrotter045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

Muang Ngoi is a rather remote place with very basic infrastructure. Compared to other accommodations in Muang Ngoi, we found Lattanavongsa Guesthouse to have a good standard: clean rooms, comfortable beds and hot shower. As mentioned above though, the water is really hot and impossible to regulate.

Despite the rumour about fraud and people being robbed in their accommodation in Muang Ngoi we felt pretty safe in the Lattanavongsa Guesthouse. There were (actually quite pretty) window grates and good locks on all possible entrances.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zeitweise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muang Ngoi Neua
0.0 mi away
Lerdkeo Sunset Guesthouse
Lerdkeo Sunset Guesthouse
#4 of 7 in Muang Ngoi Neua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nam Ou River Lodge
Nam Ou River Lodge
#3 of 16 in Nong Khiaw
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mandala Ou Resort
Mandala Ou Resort
#1 of 16 in Nong Khiaw
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Meexai Guesthouse
Meexai Guesthouse
#1 of 9 in Nong Khiaw
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunset Guesthouse
Sunset Guesthouse
#2 of 9 in Nong Khiaw
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nam Kat Yorla Pa
Nam Kat Yorla Pa
#1 of 12 in Oudomxay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lattanavongsa Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lattanavongsa Guesthouse

Property: Lattanavongsa Guesthouse
Address: Hauptstrasse | Boat Pier, Muang Ngoi Neua, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Muang Ngoi Neua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Muang Ngoi Neua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lattanavongsa Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing