We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mi casa es su casa”
Review of La Casa de Marita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Casa de Marita
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Puerto Villamil
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington Station
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“mi casa es su casa”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Due to some itinerary changes, we arrived here very early in the morning. No one expected the rooms to be ready so it was a pleasant surprise that they were. I was with a group. The room I was in was very basic but others were much nicer. The bathroom was small and difficult to move around in and the air conditioner didn't cool very well. Once I explored the island and saw how primitive it is, I decided that even the basic rooms were quite nice.

Marita is a wonderful hostess. She and the staff made us feel very comfortable. We had a nice breakfast each morning and there were always fresh snacks on the counter in the afternoon.

This hotel is within walking distance to the village (restaurants and shops), the pier (snorkeling and swimming), the beach and the bars. If you go out the back on to the beach, there is a small cove and at certain times we were able to get in the water as the marine iguanas swam across from one group of rocks to another.

Keep an eye out for another hidden treat. There are bananas hanging in the courtyard. This is Marita's equivalent to a fruit bowl for guests. Adds to the charm!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa_Marita23, Gerente at La Casa de Marita, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Sue, we appreciate your comments that help us improve in certain spots.
Isabela is a sparsely populated island but has a wealth of magnificent landscapes, animals and vegetation, as well as to watch every sunset from the beach is unforgettable.
We're glad you enjoyed our delicious meals in the hotel restaurant where we try to provide the best service you deserve serving very fresh and prepared dishes instantly.
We also have fruits, vegetables Premium, harvested directly from our farm and gladly offer our guests.
Waiting to reuniting with your valuable visit, the Hotel Casa de Marita Thank you for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    117
    29
    11
    7
See reviews for
129
205
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

My family of four would definitely stay here again. We had a large, garden room, with a queen size bed for myself and my husband and two, twin beds for our teenage sons. The beach was never crowded and we saw two green sea turtles and a sea lion in front of the hotel. Marita has a large staff which means there is great attention to detail. Top notch toiletries were provided, and we found chocolate on our pillows nightly. Breakfast was extensive and delicious. Meringue cookies were provided in the afternoon.

The hotel recommended a tour operator and were were highly pleased with Pablo. He charged us $10 less per person than other tour operators for our excursion to Los Tuneles, and even drove us to the dock the morning of our departure from Isabela (at 5:30 AM).

On Isabela, we enjoyed the tortoise reserve and walking to the flamingoes. Also, eat at the restaurants where the locals eat (you can ask the employees), and you will have a full-course meal (soup, rice/chicken or fish, and juice) for $5 per person.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanRanfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa_Marita23, Gerente at La Casa de Marita, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thanks for your comments the truth we are very happy to know that your stay at the hotel was to your liking and to have made them feel like family, our rooms have a variety of ranges and locations that is the wonder that we have in our Isla Isabela appreciate wildlife and closely observe several species. In addition we have an elite staff to provide the best service to our passengers

We also have a fine dining and a variety of dishes also decorating them.

We hope to count on your valuable visit to our Hotel Casa de Marita.

Marita de Zecchettin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Rooms are unique but get one on the beach. We were in the annex across the street. The rooms were very clean and well kept but the beachfront rooms rock! Meals were very good, the restaurant is yummy. Try the chicken soup! Everything within walking distance but be warned, this place is primitive! One thing, that could not be helped.... one night after a huge rain, a giant huntsman spider was in my room, ack! They are not poisonous and the staff took him out right away (I did not want him harmed) but yikes!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kittieprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa_Marita23, Gerente at La Casa de Marita, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thanks for your comments we are pleased to have provided our service to you, our guest rooms are characterized by being well and thoroughly clean in good condition; we fully elite gastronomy and variety of dishes and decorating them.

As you were able to observe our Isabela Island is cataloged and practically qualifies as natural, and has direct contact with the animals, as you state that has encountered a spider these animals are completely harmless but very take to not again occur, however our staff cares about the welfare of the passenger and animals.

Marita de Zecchettín.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Andean Discovery Galapagos Islands Tour booked this hotel for us. I was a little concerned as it didn't have a pool, but I think there's only one other hotel that has one. Anyway, we couldn't have been happier by this wonderful hotel. It felt like we were staying with family. The hotel was charming, the room was fantastic and we could literally open our sliding door and walk into the pacific ocean! We stayed in the "Verde" room which was perfect with 2 twin beds in the room on the first floor and a king bed with a balcony on the second. I was so happy that Damon from Andean told me he would recommend this hotel over another option I was considering. We didn't even miss not having a pool (how could you when you have the ocean!)

Room Tip: Verde room is perfect for a couple with 2 children!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa_Marita23, Gerente at La Casa de Marita, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thanks for your comments your suggestion truth helps us to provide much better service, and fills us with happiness being able to make them feel like home and family, our rooms have a variety of ranges and locations in the Green Hotel Room is one of them because it has a fantastic sea view, and ocean front can directly observe and admire the natural beauty we have in our Isabela Island.
We will take very intoaccount the possibility of having a pool, but if we have an ocean is majestic and very natural.
We hope to count on your valuable visit to our Hotel Casa de Marita.

Marita de Zecchettín
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Booked for us as part of Galapagos Alternative tour, and recommended by a colleague who had raved about it. It was formerly a private house and that showed. As others have said, there is a beautiful beachfront location, we had a double room and the three boys had a huge triple room where they could be on their own, make a noise, drink beer and play cards. Refreshing to have no TV. Intermittent wifi. Fabulous base from which to explore Isabela. We had no complaints about breakfast or dinner. Staff were friendly and helpful (some spoke English better than others- but we also had limited Spanish). Meals were specially made to order so one had to survey the menu in advance and specify a time for lunch or dinner. We were caught out by this the first evening so had to eat elsewhere. However, would happily go back again. Seafood is fresh and delicious.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QuinnyGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We heard good reviews about Casa de Marita, and we weren't disappointed. We arrived very early in the day, around 9:30 a.m. and figured we'd have to wait for the afternoon for our room. We were so happy to be offered our Master Suite right when we arrived. The ferry from Santa Cruz to Isabela was very uncomfortable with high seas. We were greeted with fresh fruit juice and shown to our room. They pulled in two extra single beds to accommodate a family of four. The hotel is right on the beach, which is pretty, but the water is rough. Lots of marine iguanas. Puerto Villamil is a very very small "town" without a lot of offerings. After seeing the hotel and restaurant options, we were so grateful we picked this place. We ate all of our meals here as well. The food is very good, but you order and have to give them about an hour to get it ready. They also are one of the few places that take credit cards. While there were several English speaking employees on hand at the hotel, the reservation process was not so smooth. We had to make some changes on-line and it was a complicated process.

Room Tip: If you're traveling with family, the Master Suite is the best. You have plenty of room and stil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chadds Ford
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Our tour group was supposed to stay at another hotel down the road, but they didn't have enough rooms for us. Have to say ... we were so happy for that! This place was great. Beach front. Lovely rooms. Lovely staff. We'd stay here again in a heart beat. The only thing I might change would be to stay in the main hotel with water front views. We stayed in the rooms across the street, which were lovely, just not beach/ocean front. We island hopped in the Galapagos, staying in five different hotels, and this was by far, our favorite.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach front room on the upper floors for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmbbtb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa_Marita23, Gerente at La Casa de Marita, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear guest makes us happy to know that your stay in our hotel was wonderful. The guests who stay at annexed area also can enjoy our deck and the beautiful beach that we have in front to the hotel. Do not doubt that for next visit with previous reservation you can enjoy our ocean view rooms.

Marita de Zechettin
Gerente General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Villamil
0.6 mi away
Iguana Crossing
Iguana Crossing
#1 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
573 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Albemarle
Hotel Albemarle
#3 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
#6 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Coral Blanco
Hotel Coral Blanco
#7 of 10 in Isabela
72 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Gran Tortuga
La Gran Tortuga
#4 of 27 in Puerto Villamil
195 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wooden House Lodge
The Wooden House Lodge
#1 of 27 in Puerto Villamil
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa de Marita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa de Marita

Property: La Casa de Marita
Address: Conocarpus S/N, Puerto Villamil 200250, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Isabela > Puerto Villamil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Villamil
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Villamil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa de Marita 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marita’s house is a first class hotel in which you can enjoy the natural charms of Isabela Island, because it is located on the white sands of Puerto Villamil, offering an incomparable view of the colorful beaches of Galapagos Islands. Marita’s house combines harmonically the standards of the best quality hotels with a cozy familiar, hospitality to offer a pleasant and comfortable stay. Quality and warmth characterizes the services of lodging, restaurant and recreation that Marita’s house offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your La Casa de Marita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa De Marita Hotel Puerto Villamil
La Casa De Marita Galapagos Islands/Isabela, Ecuador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing