We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beware of hidden fees!”
Review of La Casa de Marita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Casa de Marita
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Puerto Villamil
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2014

This is my only negative hotel review in 72 reviews (so im not a complainer)

I stayed in the Garden room for 3 nights. The bed is literally 2 twin mattresses pushed together covered with a queen sheet. It was OK for me, but for more than one person it would have been super weird. The breakfast was just OK. The location is AMAZING, right on a beautiful beach.

I booked this hotel on Expedia. Expedia usually takes the payment when the reservation is made, but it didnt with this hotel. When I checked in, I told them that it was prepaid with Expedia (as always) and they said yes. Well it turns out that it wasnt, and they didnt let me know until I was walking out the door. I had no way to verify whether I was double paying or not, but I gave them my card again, knowing that I could dispute it if Expedia had pre-charged me. At that point I found out why they dont take the money upfront, because they charge a 12% IVA and 10% "service charge." What is a service charge???? Is it a tip??? Whatever it is, it should be included in the price or at least they need to disclose what the REAL price is when you book. These guys are sneaky!

I understand that Galapagos is expensive and im not complaining about the price. Im complaining that they werent honest with the price upfront. It is insulting to your customers if you tell them a cheaper price and then add 22% on the back end when they walk out the door! I have traveled most of Latin America and the vast majority of hotels are upfront with their prices.

This hotel needs to quote their customers the price that it charges them!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
4  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa_Marita23, Gerente at La Casa de Marita, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear Michael, we are grateful for your comment it help us to improve every day. We apologize for any inconvenience on last day at check-out. The taxes that the guest pays are 10 % of service it is for staff (TIPS) and 12 % of VAT; both are mandates of the service Law. We have not tried to hide prices. Always offer our guest the details of his consumptions as the original invoice with breakdown of the total bill, the other securities are applied according to Ecuadorian law service. For us it was a pleasure to having provided a personalized and a quality service during your stay in our hotel.

Marita de Zechettin
Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (456)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

137 - 143 of 456 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2014

Yo recientemente tenía el placer de permanencia en La Casa de Marita durante un viaje de grupo Galapagos. ¡No sólo esto es un alojamiento hermoso con una playa fabulosa, el dueño y todo el personal eran maravillosos! Ellos se aseguraron que teníamos todo que necesitamos y proporcionamos excesivo el servicio. Los desayunos de mañana estaban muy, muy bien con una variedad de cosas delegir del bufete. ¡Yo sólo amé quedarme en este hotel eco-consciente y me quedaría allí otra vez en un latido del corazón!

I recently had the pleasure of staying at La Casa de Marita during a Galapagos group tour. Not only is it a beautiful place to stay with a fabulous beach, the owner and all of the staff were wonderful! They made sure we had everything we needed and provided over-the-top service. The morning breakfasts were very, very good with a variety of things to choose from the buffet. I just loved staying in this eco-conscious hotel and would stay there again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Si hubiera una piscina o un gimnasio, lo perdí. Yo era colgar demasiado ocupado en la playa o en una...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa_Marita23, Gerente at La Casa de Marita, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear Christine is a pleasure to read your details about your stay at our hotel, we are always available to you each providing a unique service to make them feel at home. Hope to see you again for Isabela.

Marita de Zechettin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

First, it is important to note that this island is rustic and undeveloped, beautifully so. There is one high end luxury hotel on the island and yes we drooled over its architecture and pool but in reality, we had a wonderfully authentic island experience here at La Casa de Marita. The staff are top-notch. The common area is very welcoming and comfortable. Wine and goodies are served and available each evening. The outdoor area is relaxing with hammocks and tables to sit and drink wine and ogle the truly incredible view. Beach and Ocean. Sea lions frolic in the rock pools and marine iguanas hide under the mangroves.
The room,unfortunately, was not on par with the rest of the resort. Dark, sparse, and not very clean. The balcony though was delightful, affording us a private and gorgeous view. The restaurant was odd too, dark with no view of the perfect vista you knew was right out there. The food was very good and fresh but I just wished we could have sat outside or on a deck to enjoy the balmy night air.
On another note, watch your head. The stairs going up to our bedroom had a very low ceiling and my husband jammed his head badly. Since the bathroom was on the first floor, walking down the steep stairs in the middle of the night was treacherous!!
Overall, I would choose this place again until there was another mid-level option. Just spend all your time gazing at the beautiful view and you will be content.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michele L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa_Marita23, Gerente at La Casa de Marita, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear Michele appreciates your comments. Each room has its rustic with innovative ideas always thinking about our dear guests. We apologize for any inconvenience has presented. La Casa de Marita will always be open for you and your family.

Marita de Zechettin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Beautifull hotel right in front of the beach (that was my favorite part), like a private one. Personel is very helpful and nice. Restaurant was very good and you can ask for deliver it right to the beach....which was very nice. I stayed for three nights and all was very good, clean and well attended. Wifi is only available at the lobby and no Tv on the rooms, so it was perfect to relax and rest. I recommend it.

Room Tip: Choose BLANCA if you need a 4 person room (family with older children), all in the same área, no sep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATH471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

It was a great place to stay in Isabella; right in front of the beach, with nice hammocks to hang in the evening, tropical cocktails. A little further from town (no more than 5 min walk) than other hotels, it was really quiet and peaceful!. Staff really nice, and helpful. Good breakfast. It has it´s own restaurant, but we didn´t try it, although they provided a nice lunch for us on our first day there. Overall, I would gladly return there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2012Dani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa_Marita23, Gerente at La Casa de Marita, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Dear Daniela:

First of all, thank you for including our cocktails in your so positive comment! Hammocks, cocktails and the ocean! You should have tried our restaurant…Peruvian, Italian, and of course Ecuadorian meals. Thank you for visiting us and we’ll be glad if you come again.

Marita Zechettin

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Lovely location. Attentive staff, nicely appointed rooms. The area, beach side, of the hotel has a nice swimming spot that was frequented by young sea lions. To the left of the swimming area the marine iguanas crossed at the tide changes. All very fun and exciting. There are plenty of places to sit and relax on the large covered porch or on the beach.

Room Tip: We stayed in the section ground level just in front of the lobby area entrance. There are some rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mws504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa_Marita23, Gerente at La Casa de Marita, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Dear Guest:

The privileged location of La Casa de Marita makes us stand out here in Isabela. The sea lions and marine iguanas are there for our guests. Deck area has been extended for the client’s comfort. You should visit us again.

Best Regards,

MaritaZechettin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Charming small hotel with a great beach front location. Cozy lobby living area with chairs and sofas to lounge on / surf the web via free wifi, etc. There are 3 hammocks to laze in and plenty of lounge chairs to use to soak up the sun or lounge in the shade.

The rooms are ok. Clean but relatively spartan. Most or all are named after colors. We stayed in Blanca. It was set up as a triple to have room for our son. It is indeed white - perhaps too white! It could use a splash of color. This was a ground floor room - nice and cool from the A/C. If you are a fresh air person, you should probably ask for a second floor room for a better breeze. The pick room we saw was Verde (Green bathroom). It is a two floor room with the entry / living area and bathroom on the ground floor and the bedroom / balcony on floor two.

Breakfast could use some improvement (more variety / fruit) they ran out of some fruit our second morning but I think this was an island wide problem (waiting for the supply ship!)

The people are very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the second or third floor with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wayfarerblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa_Marita23, Gerente at La Casa de Marita, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Dear Guest:

The hammocks area is perfect for relaxing and reading, you can also get wi-fi here. Most of our rooms are named by colors, and each room has its own characteristics.
Getting fruit is a big issue in the island, even for us having our own farm in the highlands area. We always need to wait for every fruit season and every fresh fruit harvest.
Hope to see you again in this beautiful island.

Marita Zechettin

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Villamil
0.6 mi away
Iguana Crossing
Iguana Crossing
#1 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
598 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal Galapagos
Hostal Galapagos
#5 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
34 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Albemarle
Hotel Albemarle
#3 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
#6 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Coral Blanco
Hotel Coral Blanco
#8 of 10 in Isabela
72 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Crossman
Hotel Crossman
#21 of 25 in Santa Cruz
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa de Marita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa de Marita

Address: Conocarpus S/N, Puerto Villamil 200250, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Isabela > Puerto Villamil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Villamil
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Villamil
Price Range: $137 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa de Marita 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marita’s house is a first class hotel in which you can enjoy the natural charms of Isabela Island, because it is located on the white sands of Puerto Villamil, offering an incomparable view of the colorful beaches of Galapagos Islands. Marita’s house combines harmonically the standards of the best quality hotels with a cozy familiar, hospitality to offer a pleasant and comfortable stay. Quality and warmth characterizes the services of lodging, restaurant and recreation that Marita’s house offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your La Casa de Marita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa De Marita Hotel Puerto Villamil
La Casa De Marita Galapagos Islands/Isabela, Ecuador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing