We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best by all standards!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Casa de Marita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Casa de Marita
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Puerto Villamil
Certificate of Excellence
Fenwick Island, Delaware
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best by all standards!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Lovely location. Attentive staff, nicely appointed rooms. The area, beach side, of the hotel has a nice swimming spot that was frequented by young sea lions. To the left of the swimming area the marine iguanas crossed at the tide changes. All very fun and exciting. There are plenty of places to sit and relax on the large covered porch or on the beach.

Room Tip: We stayed in the section ground level just in front of the lobby area entrance. There are some rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mws504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa_Marita23, Gerente at La Casa de Marita, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Guest:

The privileged location of La Casa de Marita makes us stand out here in Isabela. The sea lions and marine iguanas are there for our guests. Deck area has been extended for the client’s comfort. You should visit us again.

Best Regards,

MaritaZechettin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    111
    27
    11
    8
See reviews for
120
184
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
114 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

Charming small hotel with a great beach front location. Cozy lobby living area with chairs and sofas to lounge on / surf the web via free wifi, etc. There are 3 hammocks to laze in and plenty of lounge chairs to use to soak up the sun or lounge in the shade.

The rooms are ok. Clean but relatively spartan. Most or all are named after colors. We stayed in Blanca. It was set up as a triple to have room for our son. It is indeed white - perhaps too white! It could use a splash of color. This was a ground floor room - nice and cool from the A/C. If you are a fresh air person, you should probably ask for a second floor room for a better breeze. The pick room we saw was Verde (Green bathroom). It is a two floor room with the entry / living area and bathroom on the ground floor and the bedroom / balcony on floor two.

Breakfast could use some improvement (more variety / fruit) they ran out of some fruit our second morning but I think this was an island wide problem (waiting for the supply ship!)

The people are very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the second or third floor with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wayfarerblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa_Marita23, Gerente at La Casa de Marita, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Guest:

The hammocks area is perfect for relaxing and reading, you can also get wi-fi here. Most of our rooms are named by colors, and each room has its own characteristics.
Getting fruit is a big issue in the island, even for us having our own farm in the highlands area. We always need to wait for every fruit season and every fresh fruit harvest.
Hope to see you again in this beautiful island.

Marita Zechettin

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
101 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

This is a very nice hotel on the beach at Puerto Villamil. The reception staff that I encountered were all exceptionally helpful and spoke English better than I speak Spanish, which was a benefit. They booked my first excursion for me and were helpful with every request.

Breakfast was good. A buffet with most items appearing every day, but the cooked part changed each day to give variety. Service in the restaurant for breakfast was quick and efficient, friendly too. Never ate dinner there. You have to pre-book dinner which is a bit off-putting if you are not sure of your activities.

The public areas, inside and outside, are excellent. Pleasantly furnished and interestingly decorated. Good service when you was a beer. Sun loungers and hammocks outside. Direct access onto the beach.

My room was Azul which was at the back of the main hotel. Bathroom was a bit scruffy and in need of improvement, but it all worked well except the shower temperature control which had a protusion stopping the actual control from working in the middle of its range. So, the water was either a little too hot or a little too cool when the control could be operated either side of this protusion. The sink was wonky (wobbled) on its pedestel.

Rest of the room was good, air conditioning worked fairly quietly so if you wanted it could run at night. Bed was comfy, plenty of lights.

Very nice place to stay. I paid $80 B&B. Good value. Remember service and taxes are added to this, 10% and 12% respectively but this is across the islands.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greenpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa_Marita23, Gerente at La Casa de Marita, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Guest:

We appreciate every detail of your comment; our guests’ opinions will always be accepted. Feedbacks help us to improve service and accommodations, as well. The staff ensures that guests receive prompt attention, and all our administrative, reservation area and front desk staff speaks English.
The pre-booking for lunch could be done half an hour or an hour in advance in order to prepare the meal for you. Once again thank you for your feedback.

Marita Zechettin

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed for two nights in the annexe across the road; spacious rooms in a nice garden setting. The hotel itself is beautifully positioned on the beach . It is not a "luxury resort style hotel; instead a pleasant and personable atmosphere. Nice buffet breakfast in rooftop restaurant.

Room Tip: The annexe has lighter and brighter rooms than many in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa_Marita23, Gerente at La Casa de Marita, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comment, Isabela itself is a beautiful destination, white sand, turquoise ocean water and a small town is what make this Island so unique we are glad you enjoy your stay here at Casa Marita.

Sincerely,
Marita Zecchettin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

I agree with many reviewers on this hotel. In some ways it is kind of a dump and in other ways it is amazing. The amazing: Beach location with fun waves for the whole family to enjoy while you sit in a hammock sipping a drink. Good service by the staff who would get you a coffee or drink when you asked. Nice areas to hang out in the back by the beach with tables and hammocks. The bad: Rooms are a bit dark and the bathrooms really need a makeover. I could hear the other rooms too which I really hate. The only better hotel on the island is Iguana Crossing which is much nicer. This island really isn't that developed so you have to take all this with a grain of salt and enjoy the good parts about it but there isn't much luxury on the island to begin with. I would stay here again because of the location but have low hotel expectations. Everywhere in Galapagos is overpriced so don't expect a lot for your money.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellingsuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

We recently planned to stay in "La Casa de Marita" for three night. However, after we stayed one night we decided to shorten our stay due to several reasons.
The room, Mangle, was dark, small, and some parts were held together with duct tape, the bottles of water provided were expired and tasted very bad, the shower was temperamental so it was either boiling water or freezing cold, the bed was not big enough for two people and what little bed there was uncomfortable, towels were old, the blinds were also old and looked out of place, cheap and tacky, we were sure a much cheaper alternative could have been found that was more in line with style of the rest of the hotel.

The restaurant:
Food and staff overall was okay. Again the decoration was, tasteless and looked just like a bunch of things put together, which was a shame because the outside dining area looked lovely and left us wondering why only half the restaurant was decorated in such a way.

Costumer service:
Was hit and miss but overall we found the staff to be friendly, although they could have been more helpful and interested in their costumers (us).

We will never choose this hotel, that's for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrealema91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

When people give this place a good review they have the island in mind more than this specific hotel. I'm convinced their island experience is overshadowing the faults of this hotel.

Not sure how to explain it, but this hotel has a very depressing feeling. The surroundings are very nice and great island.

There are much better choices.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rseg99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa_Marita23, Gerente at La Casa de Marita, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Visitor: Thank you for your comment, we are sorry that you did not stay in our hotel, we are sure that our guests feel very confortable in our premises.

Regards,
Marita Zecchettin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Villamil
0.4 mi away
Iguana Crossing
Iguana Crossing
#1 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Albemarle
Hotel Albemarle
#3 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
#6 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostal Rincon de George
Hostal Rincon de George
#7 of 10 in Isabela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Gran Tortuga
La Gran Tortuga
#3 of 23 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wooden House Lodge
The Wooden House Lodge
#1 of 23 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa de Marita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa de Marita

Property: La Casa de Marita
Address: Conocarpus S/N, Puerto Villamil 200250, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Isabela > Puerto Villamil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Villamil
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Villamil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa de Marita 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marita’s house is a first class hotel in which you can enjoy the natural charms of Isabela Island, because it is located on the white sands of Puerto Villamil, offering an incomparable view of the colorful beaches of Galapagos Islands. Marita’s house combines harmonically the standards of the best quality hotels with a cozy familiar, hospitality to offer a pleasant and comfortable stay. Quality and warmth characterizes the services of lodging, restaurant and recreation that Marita’s house offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your La Casa de Marita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa De Marita Hotel Puerto Villamil
La Casa De Marita Galapagos Islands/Isabela, Ecuador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing