We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Know what to ask for at this hotel”
Review of La Casa de Marita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Casa de Marita
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Puerto Villamil
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Know what to ask for at this hotel”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is a rambling add-on place. Our first room "sol" was a second floor no- view room. We chose to upgrade to a "suite" and got a partial view of the beach in the "bamboo" room. Ask for a room over the main floor facing the ocean.

Room Tip: Bring bug spray
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SadieAtlantaGa831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buraschi, Gerente at La Casa de Marita, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your comment. Useful information is always need it, even more to discover the beauty of Isabela island. At our web page casamaritagalapagos.com you will be able to find pictures and descriptions of all our available rooms.
We are hoping to receive you again soon.

Best regards,

Marita Zecchettin
La Casa de Marita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    117
    28
    11
    8
See reviews for
127
200
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Casa de Marita has beautiful accommodation, with a prime location right on the beach and easy 2-minute walking distance to the centre of town. In addition, the food was terrific and there are hammocks and an outdoor fresh water shower as yo come in from the beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buraschi, Gerente at La Casa de Marita, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Carrie:

Thank you very much for posting your comment. We are delighted to read positive critics about our home. We are engage to bring to our guests great installations and the best customer service.

We cordially invite you once again to visit at our home.

Best regards,

Marita Zecchettin
La Casa de Marita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stay in the honeymoon room in the 3rd floor, It was beatiful even we were a group of friends and not a couple. The view is magnificent specially at sunset. They prepared a fantastic dinner for us and the lobster I order was also great.

Room Tip: Take a room im from of the beach the view is just fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Federico U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buraschi, Gerente at La Casa de Marita, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Federico:

We are very happy to read your opinion. Arranging a special moment for a wonderfull ocassion, pleased us. The perfect touch comes from the beauty of Isabela Island. We were glad to be choose for your stay; now we extend you our sincere invitation to stay at our home once again.

Best regards,

Marita Zecchettin
La Casa de Marita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

A friend and I just returned from a 7 day trip to The Galapagos - 3 nights on Santa Cruz and 3 on Isabela. This was our 'home away from home' on Isabela and we enjoyed our stay very much. We had a top floor room with a view of the beach - slightly obstructed by palm trees - and with a large patio. When we arrived we were greeted by Marita who gave us a short history of how the Casa came to be. Then she showed us to our room. We passed other guest lounging in the white hammocks on the deck area and people relaxing on the chaise lounges. We were soon on lounges ourselves and sharing a large beer. Our room was large, comfortable and very pleasant as well as clean. The beds were harder than I am used to, but I had three good sleeps so no complaints. We enjoyed having the use of robes, and helped ourselves from the mini-bar when we learned that they charge the same for items from there as they do at the regular bar. Towels were available for use at the beach and for outings/tours. And what a treat to be able to walk out of the hotel and onto a beautiful clean beach with sand like icing sugar! Overall our stay was great. I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chuckcanuck27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buraschi, Gerente at La Casa de Marita, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guests:

Make you feel at home is part of our mission and make your stay enjoyable is our job, that’s why we are really glad to know your days in here were good!! Definitely it’ll be a real pleasure to have you here again; we’ll be waiting for you.

Best regards,

Marita Zecchettin
La Casa de Marita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary Alberta
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We spent two nights at Casa Marita during a three day tour from Santa Cruz to Isla Isabela. We went to Isabela as part of a package and upgraded to this hotel. Are very glad we did and wished we could have stayed longer and really hope to return. The beach just outside the hotel is beautiful. Our room was pleasant the bed very comfortable with good quality linens. Our only complaint was a cold water shower which was fixed on our last morning. Our fault should have brought it to the hotels attention earlier. Breakfast is provided and was very good, a buffet selection of fruit salad, cereal, toast, yogurt, eggs and great coffee. The only other meal we had at the hotel was lunch. My husband had chicken soup, rated good and I had chicken Caesar salad, not recommended, an improvised version of Caesar salad and over priced.
The hotel staff are very accommodating.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the main hotel with an ocean view, well worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRIPOPOTOMIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buraschi, Gerente at La Casa de Marita, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guests:

We are very glad to hear that you would like to come back to our home. It is very important for us your motivating words, to keep performing our job, the way that we do. But most important, is the feedback that we can receive, and that we can use to improve our service. We will explain to our customers our local recipe on the Cesar Salad, so this will match your expectations.

We will be happy to see you once again.

Best regards,

Marita Zecchettin
La Casa de Marita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This was our third choice hotel and even with that, we had to stay across the street in the hotel's annex...Beware! I get that I'm on an island that has no water, no paved roads and no services but when I'm paying for a room, I do expect it to look clean, have a closet, warm water; (forget about hot), have fresh bedding and some attempt at decor and no bugs! I guess my list was too long for this establishment. On the plus side, the main lodge is welcoming and the courtyard has character, the staff is helpful, and the beach is ok. The cleaners changed our towels and tried to clean but they can't erase the overall lack of attention and disrepair to the facilities. We had two rooms with furniture that one couldn't give away at a garage sale, there was no place to hang anything and we enjoyed the bugs crawling up the walls which was to be remedied by a "plug-in" contraption. The floor might have been more comfortable than the beds. We had to use a small tree outside one room to hang wet clothes. The bugs must have followed us to the breakfast buffet, because they were on the table there, too. The showers only offered a few minutes of warm before the cold water hit...We tried to have dinner upon arrival at the hotel but they couldn't seem to find a table for us in the empty restaurant so we walked to "town" and ate there every night, which was totally fine with us. We tried to leave early and our agent contacted the owner who refused to offer a refund for our last night. There is a lot to see on Isabela, but not so many choices hotel choices here, so if you can't get a room at Iguana Crossing or Isabela Lodge; come back when you can or save yourself some money and pitch a tent!

Room Tip: Don't take a room in the room in the annex!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buraschi, Gerente at La Casa de Marita, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest:

We sincerely appreciate your feedback that helps us to improve our service. For your interest on writing at our hotel, hereby I would like to answer you.

1) The room that you were in, was assigned in agreement with the tour agency
2) I regret the problem with the hot water, that we recently find out. That is the reason we could not solve it during your stay
3) About the towels and the cleanness inconvenient, I’m surprise. I will take it on consideration to improve on the matter.
4) Regarding the clotheslines problem, we could solve it. You could use the ones by the laundry area. We will see to arrange public clotheslines.
5) I am very sorry that you could not eat at our Restaurant, but like we said at our briefing, we recommend making the reservation in advance, so we could avoid the last moment inconvenient.
We honestly regret the drawbacks during your stay, but we value much your opinion, this will help us to get better.


Best regards,

Marita Zecchettin
La Casa de Marita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We were on a 10 day Galapagos trip through ROW adventures. This is a quaint well maintained hotel with beach front views on a secluded cove in Isabella Island. The staff is friendly, the hotel is very clean and well kept. The dinners and breakfast buffet is excellent and fresh and local. 2 thumbs up!

Room Tip: ask for the white or green rooms for beach front views. The colonial room or the lilac rooms are mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank latinforthames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buraschi, Gerente at La Casa de Marita, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guest:

We were glad to have you here at our house. Is very gratifying to know that our staff and installations are appreciated. We will keep working to maintain and improve our quality.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards,

Marita Zecchettin,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Villamil
0.6 mi away
Iguana Crossing
Iguana Crossing
#1 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
563 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Albemarle
Hotel Albemarle
#3 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
180 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
#6 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostal Rincon de George
Hostal Rincon de George
#8 of 10 in Isabela
37 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Gran Tortuga
La Gran Tortuga
#4 of 27 in Puerto Villamil
194 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wooden House Lodge
The Wooden House Lodge
#1 of 27 in Puerto Villamil
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa de Marita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa de Marita

Property: La Casa de Marita
Address: Conocarpus S/N, Puerto Villamil 200250, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Isabela > Puerto Villamil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Villamil
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Villamil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa de Marita 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marita’s house is a first class hotel in which you can enjoy the natural charms of Isabela Island, because it is located on the white sands of Puerto Villamil, offering an incomparable view of the colorful beaches of Galapagos Islands. Marita’s house combines harmonically the standards of the best quality hotels with a cozy familiar, hospitality to offer a pleasant and comfortable stay. Quality and warmth characterizes the services of lodging, restaurant and recreation that Marita’s house offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your La Casa de Marita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa De Marita Hotel Puerto Villamil
La Casa De Marita Galapagos Islands/Isabela, Ecuador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing