We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware the Annex!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of La Casa de Marita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Casa de Marita
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Puerto Villamil
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beware the Annex!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

This was our third choice hotel and even with that, we had to stay across the street in the hotel's annex...Beware! I get that I'm on an island that has no water, no paved roads and no services but when I'm paying for a room, I do expect it to look clean, have a closet, warm water; (forget about hot), have fresh bedding and some attempt at decor and no bugs! I guess my list was too long for this establishment. On the plus side, the main lodge is welcoming and the courtyard has character, the staff is helpful, and the beach is ok. The cleaners changed our towels and tried to clean but they can't erase the overall lack of attention and disrepair to the facilities. We had two rooms with furniture that one couldn't give away at a garage sale, there was no place to hang anything and we enjoyed the bugs crawling up the walls which was to be remedied by a "plug-in" contraption. The floor might have been more comfortable than the beds. We had to use a small tree outside one room to hang wet clothes. The bugs must have followed us to the breakfast buffet, because they were on the table there, too. The showers only offered a few minutes of warm before the cold water hit...We tried to have dinner upon arrival at the hotel but they couldn't seem to find a table for us in the empty restaurant so we walked to "town" and ate there every night, which was totally fine with us. We tried to leave early and our agent contacted the owner who refused to offer a refund for our last night. There is a lot to see on Isabela, but not so many choices hotel choices here, so if you can't get a room at Iguana Crossing or Isabela Lodge; come back when you can or save yourself some money and pitch a tent!

Room Tip: Don't take a room in the room in the annex!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buraschi, Gerente at La Casa de Marita, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest:

We sincerely appreciate your feedback that helps us to improve our service. For your interest on writing at our hotel, hereby I would like to answer you.

1) The room that you were in, was assigned in agreement with the tour agency
2) I regret the problem with the hot water, that we recently find out. That is the reason we could not solve it during your stay
3) About the towels and the cleanness inconvenient, I’m surprise. I will take it on consideration to improve on the matter.
4) Regarding the clotheslines problem, we could solve it. You could use the ones by the laundry area. We will see to arrange public clotheslines.
5) I am very sorry that you could not eat at our Restaurant, but like we said at our briefing, we recommend making the reservation in advance, so we could avoid the last moment inconvenient.
We honestly regret the drawbacks during your stay, but we value much your opinion, this will help us to get better.


Best regards,

Marita Zecchettin
La Casa de Marita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    111
    27
    11
    8
See reviews for
123
188
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We were on a 10 day Galapagos trip through ROW adventures. This is a quaint well maintained hotel with beach front views on a secluded cove in Isabella Island. The staff is friendly, the hotel is very clean and well kept. The dinners and breakfast buffet is excellent and fresh and local. 2 thumbs up!

Room Tip: ask for the white or green rooms for beach front views. The colonial room or the lilac rooms are mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank latinforthames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buraschi, Gerente at La Casa de Marita, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guest:

We were glad to have you here at our house. Is very gratifying to know that our staff and installations are appreciated. We will keep working to maintain and improve our quality.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards,

Marita Zecchettin,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
288 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed at this hotel Nov 2nd - 5th 2012 after an 8 day Galapagos Cruise.

We booked it ourselves from Vancouver through Trip Advisor and they were very responsive to our inquiries and got back to us right away about booking our room. We paid by Money Gram and it was pretty easy.

At the hotel we were greeted with cookies and a very helpful staff.

Our room had two floors, a patio outside the upstairs bedroom and a common patio area outside the lower floor.

It was very quiet despite a wedding party also staying there over the weekend.

We slept one night with the air conditioning on, the other two nights with the patio door open listening to the ocean waves outside.

We had breakfast at the hotel, it was enough food for our low activity days. Eggs, fruit, cereal, coffee.

The people were very helpful despite the fact they forgot our 5:30am wakeup call to catch the boat to Santa Cruz on Monday.

Room Tip: Our room was right on the beach with two floors. very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharonbader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buraschi, Gerente at La Casa de Marita, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Greetings Sharon and Lee:

We are glad to hear again from you. Thank you very much for your positive comments. Also we are very thankful for your understanding during your stay. We will keep working to improve our performance and find the top quality we want to offer to all our guests.
Let us give both a huge apologize for the mistake on your wake up call, we will not permit that this will happen again.

We cordially invite you once again to enjoy a pleasant stay,

Marita Zecchettin,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Casa Marita is a very special place. I have stayed in the hotel with a friend after a three weeks tour in Ecuador and upon our arrival, we immediately noticed how different the place is from the rest of the hotels we stayed at. We have been welcomed with a fresh juice and by an extremely professional staff members that explained in detail everything we needed to know --from the hotel amenities to the excursion possibilities. The hotel itself is an ensamble of tastefully decorated smaller buildings clustered around a small courtyard with palm trees and the main building is located on the beach front.
rather unconventionally, since normally we headed outside of our hotel for food, we have made use of the hotel restaurant which has stunning views to the beach and excellent food. The breakfast is fresh, tasty and there is a great choice with some variation day by day.
It is always going to be difficult to find the perfect hotel and the perfect stay, Casa Marita gets really close to the ideal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellepiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buraschi, Gerente at La Casa de Marita, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Guest:

We are so glad to find lovingly filled comments; we always try to make your stay enjoyable and that you feel like home.
We hope you come back to our paradise

Greetings,
Marita Zecchettin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay here. We had the Verde room. It has two levels, with a balcony facing the beach. Kept the door open on the balcony at night to hear the ocean. The room had nice linens, bathrobes, hair dryer, etc. It was very clean.

The breakfast was outstanding -- the best we had during our trip. So many choices! We also ate one lunch and one dinner there. Very good food.

The location is convenient to the beach, bars, restaurants, etc.

The staff was very helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EugeneChristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buraschi, Gerente at La Casa de Marita, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Eugene Christine:

For all of us it is very gratifying to know that our service and facilities are so well appreciated. These are the opinions that motivate us to continue striving for excellence. Let us perform a new invitation to our house.

Best regards,

Marita Zecchettin,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here for a few nights around 15th-19th of Oct 2012. The weather was perfect. We enjoyed watching the beautiful sunsets from the beach.

We stayed in this room which is located towards the front of the property, upstairs. We had a peek of the beach. It didn't really matter which room were in, they are all nice. Plus who cares when you are on the Galapagos Islands. You should be outside soaking up all of the scenery. http://www.galapagosisabela.com/index.php?controller=home&action=galeria&idContenido=2&idCategoria=17.
It was large, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was clean, large & had a wonderful shower. Did have an odd smell, must have been their toilet system. The bed was a bit to firm for me, wish it had a pillow top or memory foam on the mattress. Was a king size bed.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Loved that they gave us sandwiches the night before we checked out, since we were leaving so early in the morning.

They offer a good buffet breakfast. We ate dinner here twice. You have to order the dinner before 6pm at the front desk and they serve it too you upstairs in their dining area when you plan to have dinner.

Easy walk to town towards your left. The first restaurant you come to on the left is the cleanest and has good food.

There is a laundry place right before the restaurant on the left that is the best deal for your laundry. Almost like a 1$ a pound. They wash, dry & fold your clothes.

We booked our B&Bs & tours through our travel agency that was located in Quito www.naturegalapagos.com
We booked the hike to the highlands & very small cave, nothing like the Oregon cave so don't get to excited. :) Afternoon we went snorkeling. Book more snorkeling trips for around the island, not just the regular one that is close to the boat dock area. Our friends booked a diving trip, but the waters were really rough and they didn't see much even with two dives.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReneeFavoritePlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buraschi, Propietario at La Casa de Marita, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Renee:

Thank you very much for this complete and kind review. Here at “La Casa de Marita”, we are committed to bring to you an excellent service; this is part of our mission. Regarding the smell, we are now taking the necessary measure to assure our guests no more inconvenients. We hope you will visit us again soon.

King regards,
Marita Zecchettin,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

The hotel has a beautiful decoration and all the rooms are different. There is an attractive mixture of styles with some kitsch details. I felt inmediately "at home" and the staff was very helpful and fiendly, always attending our needs. We liked the food and the only thing that was missing on the breakfast buffet was some dark, full corn bread. We had bad luck with the weather those days, and the clothes that got wet didn´t dry, even after some days, because of the humidity even insidem, so try to avoid september for your vacations.

Room Tip: Choose rooms that look onto the beach. My room was "Lila" and i really liked the decoratio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna Karin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buraschi, Propietario at La Casa de Marita, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thanks for your comments it help us to improve our service, also we really appreciate that you have felt like home during your stay with us.

We go to try implement at breakfast some dark full corn bread; also if you really love the sun the best time to visit the islands is from December to April.

Greetings,
Marita Zecchettin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Villamil
0.6 mi away
Iguana Crossing
Iguana Crossing
#1 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Albemarle
Hotel Albemarle
#3 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Rincon de George
Hostal Rincon de George
#7 of 10 in Isabela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
#6 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Gran Tortuga
La Gran Tortuga
#3 of 24 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wooden House Lodge
The Wooden House Lodge
#1 of 24 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa de Marita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa de Marita

Property: La Casa de Marita
Address: Conocarpus S/N, Puerto Villamil 200250, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Isabela > Puerto Villamil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Villamil
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Villamil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa de Marita 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marita’s house is a first class hotel in which you can enjoy the natural charms of Isabela Island, because it is located on the white sands of Puerto Villamil, offering an incomparable view of the colorful beaches of Galapagos Islands. Marita’s house combines harmonically the standards of the best quality hotels with a cozy familiar, hospitality to offer a pleasant and comfortable stay. Quality and warmth characterizes the services of lodging, restaurant and recreation that Marita’s house offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Casa de Marita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa De Marita Hotel Puerto Villamil
La Casa De Marita Galapagos Islands/Isabela, Ecuador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing