We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful setting and spacious rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Casa de Marita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Casa de Marita
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Puerto Villamil
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting and spacious rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

Beautiful setting and cozy with spacious rooms and a great big balcony. It was a great place to lounge around. Also set right by the beach and within walking distance to the town square where all the restaurants are. The rooms seemed a smidge dated by the bathroom was recently renovated and just absolutely amazing.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lenahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buraschi, Gerente at La Casa de Marita, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear Lenahl
We are so glad that you had felt comfortable and happy during your stay; we try to take care of each detail to make the best for our guests that’s why that comments like yours help us to continue improving in our services.
Thank you for your time and we will be waiting for your prompt return.
Regards
Marita Zecchettin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    111
    27
    11
    8
See reviews for
123
188
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

A great alternative to cruising the Islands is a stay at La Casa de Marita on the beach on Isabela Island. The town is small so you can walk everywhere. The beach has a mix of rock pools and small wave surf. The Mangroves and volcanic rocks at one end have a colony of marine iguanas, penguins and crabs so there is always something to look at. The hotel staff are very accommodating and helpful. Our son managed to destroy our entire breakfast table crockery one morning by getting up with the table cloth stuck to him. The mess was extensive and so to was our embarrassment. The staff were magnanimous and refused to let us help clean and also our offer to pay for the damage. They served terrific pina coladas during the day, enjoyed from the hammocks on the patio area. The hotel gave advice on local attractions. The rooms were spacious and clean and though the air conditioning units were noisy on occasion, they were in good working order and helpful given the high humidity in April. The restaurant made a healthy breakfast each morning and we ate one night in the restaurant although preferred Los Delfines and El Faro in the town. Food in the Galapagos mainly consists of lots of seafood, low sugar and low fat, although there is no low fat milk. All produce is local, fresh and delicious. Some of the fruit juices are spectacular (guadabana is custard apple, maracuya is passionfruit, mora is blackberry). Staying on the islands gives you more flexibility as a family as many of the tours and day trips can be long. You have the option to take it easy or leave your kids at the hotel (assuming they are old enough).

Room Tip: We stayed in Mango room, which is large with a sitting room and an extra bed. It also has an interc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nemis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buraschi, Manager at La Casa de Marita, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Dear guest
we expect to know that your experience in general in our hotel was charm, we apologize about all the inconvenient that had have here, we were always thinking to give you the best attention we hope you could felt that.
Also we want to thank you for rate us it’s very important to us check all the point of view
Thank you very much again
Best regards
Marita Zecchettin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
109 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

My wife, mother and I enjoyed three days/two nights at this lovely beachfront hotel. Full of local charm and flavor Casa de Marita cannot be beat. My wife and I stayed in the beautiful Amarillo room with its own private balcony and ocean view. It was the best room in the hotel and well worth the extra cost. Large and cozy with an adequate bathroom we were very pleased with the bed, A/C, balcony, sliding glass door, etc. My mother stayed right below us in room Blanco, a modern room, white on white with acrylic chairs. This room also faced the beach and had a nice view and opened onto the hardwood patio.

The service at Casa de Marita is very attentive, professional, yet kind and friendly. All of the ladies who work here have an easy smile and are genuinely nice. Likewise, the restaurant staff was helpful and engaging. The breakfast buffet was four star quality and re-stocked very quickly. We ordered a sandwich for lunch one day and were pleased with the speed of service and quality of the food.
We had dinner one night at the hotel and were somewhat displeased with the quality of the food and the fast speed at which things were served. While dining in such a beautiful location we tend to like to take our time and relax and enjoy our meal. We were asked to order our dinner and make a reservation in the morning to assure our food selection would be available. When we arrived for dinner I asked if we could order an additional salad and have a pre-dinner cocktail. The waitress agreed and placed our extra order. The problem was within five minutes our filet mignon dinners came out of the kitchen, undercooked meat and very cold mashed potatoes, before we received our cocktail and salad. It seemed like speed-dining and left us unhappy and confused. Everything else at the hotel had gone so nicely I wonder, in retrospect, if we had misunderstood our waitress or she had misunderstood our desires.

The location of this hotel cannot be beat. It is at the end of the white sand beach and borders a large mangrove tree area. There are marine iguanas on the rocks right in front of the hotel and many seabirds can be seen nearby. During our stay (April) the water was warm and inviting. The hotel is a short walk, or $1 cab ride, from a nice snorkeling area in a protected waterway, Concha Y Perla. We were able to snorkel with sea turtles and many other interesting and colorful fishes.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in Puerto Villamil. It is charming, clean, quiet and has an amazing staff. Marita, the owner, is a kind and sophisticated lady, willing to do whatever it takes to assure you have a wonderful time at her hotel. This is the only place we found on Isabella to recommend to friends and will definately stay here again should we return to Galapagos.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bendorbreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buraschi, Manager at La Casa de Marita, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Thank you so much for share your experience in Isabela with us, we definitely are grateful for your feedback, but also we would like to apologize for any inconvenient.
We hope your experience with us had filled your expectations.
Thank you for your time and we will wait for your prompt return.

Best regards

Marita Zecchettin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights. You are steps from the ocean with a wonderful patio area...try the hammocks!! The staff is very helpful and pleasant. The house was very nice and the grounds were well maintained. The internet in the lobby was not great but in the rooms, there was no problem with connection. My room (Jardin) could have been better but the bed was comfortable and shower was hot. The restaurant was pretty good. If I were to head back to this island, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: An ocean view room would be a good idea because the view is AMAZING but the garden rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buraschi, Manager at La Casa de Marita, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Dear Guest:

We thank you very much for your interest to write us, your comment it’s very important because it helps us to evaluate our work.
We hope the inconvenience you have had in the restaurant has been a misunderstanding it’s very important to us our guests and we are always careful to give the best care.
Thank you very much again for your comment and hope that Isabela be one of your cherished memories.

Best Regards
Marita zeccehttin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

We had a wonderful two night stay at this hotel. The staff is very caring and considerate making a real effort to try and help us. The Margarita suite has a beautiful third floor private balcony and is bright and spacious with a fantastic view of the hotel's beach. It would be a shame to stay in the garden view rooms and miss out on the ocean views. The hotel accomodated our early morning start by opening the dining room early one day and providing a box breakfast the next. It is located close (5-10 minute walk) to the dock area which is convienent for going to Las Tinotoreras.

Room Tip: Margarita suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnnyCanuk12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buraschi, Manager at La Casa de Marita, responded to this review, April 14, 2012
Dear guest
Thank you very much for your review and for sharing your vacation with us, we are delighted to know your trip to the Galapagos Islands was wonderful .
Thank you very again.
Best regards

Marita Zecchettin
Gerente General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

We stayed 3 nights here. Loved this beachfront resort - staff were very helpful, good internet access using the hotel's computer in the lobby, great restaurant where we had most of our meals, decently priced too.

We stayed in the Garden room (not much of a view as it was the cheaper rooms), and we felt that cleanliness could have been improved on. Other than that, the service was great - towels changed daily, good air-conditioning and convenient location - just 10 mins walk to center of town, and accessible to the various nature trails.

Would recommend this place!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glow17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buraschi, Manager at La Casa de Marita, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Dear Guest.-
We feel very good that you had have a very good time with us... We keep working; improving our service, but let me take this opportunity to apologize if something wasn’t expected and also
I would like to thank you for rate us.

Kind Regards

Marita Zecchettin.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

Rooms are clean and cosy, staff is nice and helpful, food is good, cocktails are juicy, location is right on the beach. So What else ?

I was only very disappointed with the snorkeling tour they arranged for us to los Tuneles. It was overpriced and the local guides were jerks. I don't blame the hotel but I wish I looked by myself.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LibdupNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buraschi, Manager at La Casa de Marita, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
DEAR GUESt

We are very grateful about your comments about our hotel it is good to know that you spend a good time with us. We hope that you keep in mind good memories about your vacations on this place that from now on is yours.
We also would like to give you apologies about you experience in Tuneles but we would like to let you know that we don’t organize tours but unfortunately we recommend you somebody that didn’t fulfill your expectations, we would like to ask you for your help about all the information you can give us about that tour and please give us the name of your local guide. We are very sorry about your experience and we will try to make our best to avoid similar experiences.
Thank you for your reviews.
Best Regards
Marita Zecchettine
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Villamil
0.6 mi away
Iguana Crossing
Iguana Crossing
#1 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Albemarle
Hotel Albemarle
#3 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Rincon de George
Hostal Rincon de George
#7 of 10 in Isabela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
#6 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Gran Tortuga
La Gran Tortuga
#3 of 24 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wooden House Lodge
The Wooden House Lodge
#1 of 24 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa de Marita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa de Marita

Property: La Casa de Marita
Address: Conocarpus S/N, Puerto Villamil 200250, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Isabela > Puerto Villamil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Villamil
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Villamil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa de Marita 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marita’s house is a first class hotel in which you can enjoy the natural charms of Isabela Island, because it is located on the white sands of Puerto Villamil, offering an incomparable view of the colorful beaches of Galapagos Islands. Marita’s house combines harmonically the standards of the best quality hotels with a cozy familiar, hospitality to offer a pleasant and comfortable stay. Quality and warmth characterizes the services of lodging, restaurant and recreation that Marita’s house offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Casa de Marita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa De Marita Hotel Puerto Villamil
La Casa De Marita Galapagos Islands/Isabela, Ecuador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing